We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located in the Historical Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Erbe, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bathurst
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well Located in the Historical Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this delightful hotel for 2 nights in October 2013. Just up the road from Juliet's Balcony. It other words able to walk everywhere. The staff are extremely efficient and helpful and could not do enough to make this a most enjoyable stay. Recommend that drivers park at the parking station at Piazza Isola and walk(less that 10 minutes)/taxi to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    82
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
118
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In August 2013 we stayed at the Hotel Aurora for 2 nights. It was peak opera season and this hotel was very good value compared to most Verona hotels at that time. It was excellent - a perfect position on the piazza with a terrace where we had breakfast (which was delicious) or drinks in the evening after walking all day around this beautiful city. The service was excellent, the room was good and we would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our third visit to the Aurora and, as usual, it was marvellous. From the friendly welcome from the reception staff - who remembered us from our visit a year ago - right up to the Prosecco served to us for our final breakfast before we left, the stay was faultless.

Due to pressure of work, this year's visit was only five days, but we deliberately chose the weekend of the "Tocati" games as we've enjoyed these before.

For the benefit of those who don't know, the Aurora is in the Piazza dell' Erbe which is the old Roman Forum. It's been a market place for literally thousands of years and is just as bustling and busy today as it ever was. There are a number of bars and restaurants on the Piazza, opposite the Hotel, but these tend to be more expensive because of their prominent location near to "Juliet's House" (an entirely bogus landmark, but a bit of fun!). Other nearby streets and Piazzas have a wide variety of restaurants and bars to suit every taste and every pocket, so it's well worth exploring further afield.

The hotel is quite small - just 32 rooms - which allows the staff to be attentive and the service to be perfect. Our room was immaculate, and the well-equipped shower room was perfectly clean too. One very minor drawback (easily overcome) is that if you are at the front of the building, overlooking the square, it can be a bit noisy in the late evening as the locals enjoy themselves in the bars, restaurants and the piazza itself. It's a busy meeting place for the locals every evening. However, earplugs entirely cure any noise problem!

The "continental" breakfast is taken either in the dining room, or on the first floor terrace, overlooking the piazza. We had beautiful weather so had breakfast outside every day. The breakfast is varied and plentiful, and they don't mind if you help yourself to second helpings!

Verona is a great base for touring this part of Italy. It's a safe, friendly little city, and has good train connections to lots of interesting nearby places. You won't need a car - you'd have difficulty parking one in the old town - and Verona is small enough to walk around (or take local buses if you must).

The Aurora is a 20 minute walk (with suitcases) from the Railway Station, and it's a nice walk, with lots to look at!

With the comfortable bedrooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and amazing location, I can't recommend this little hotel enough. I have suggested it to a number of friends and colleagues, and all who've stayed there have enjoyed it and returned!

Room Tip: If you take earplugs, get a room overlooking the piazza - the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jensho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I really have nothing but superlatives for this hotel. The room was spotless, bed and pillows just great, location unbeatable, breakfast scrumptious. But what really makes this place are the wonderful, helpful staff. Everyone just made our stay so enjoyable and easy. Really just a great gem of a place.

Just can't recommend it enough!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They say location is everything and this is certainly true of the Hotel Aurora. Go to their website and check the live cam which is located just above the terrace - wonderful. At the heart of Verona and the Piazza Erbe. A short walk to Juliet's house, the Piazza Bra and the Arean. The staff are wonderful and so helpful. The rooms, although on the small side but to be expected in most Italian towns, was spotlessly clean and at the end of the day the shower was most welcome. The terrace is an amazing place to enjoy breakfast or a drink in the afternoon when you have done enough site seeing for the day. Would I go back to Hotel Aurora when next in Verona - yes I would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent hotel , very nice people , it's a very good idea to spend some charming days in Verona.

It is situated in a nice place, near to Maffei Restaurant , to Piazza Bra , to Giulietta's house ! Lovely , lovely , lovely !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I were in Verona in mid July and were lucky enough to be able to book two nights at the Hotel Aurora (we had to stay at another hotel for the first night as the Aurora was booked solid - this other hotel did not come close to matching the price/quality of the Aurora). Loved everything about it - welcoming family-run feel, great view of Piazza Erbe (thank you room 21), fruit in the room upon arrival, great bathroom facilities and location generally. It is where you want to be based when in Verona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazza Erbe, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#14 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.