We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train/bus station” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel Verona

Save Saved
You added Piccolo Hotel Verona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Verona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giulio Camuzzoni 3/B, 37138 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Verona
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close to train/bus station”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here one night before flight home from Verona, it was picked for its location to the bus station and it didn't fail on this point. If you are looking for a hotel close to the city of Verona and struggle with a walk, this probably isn't the location for you. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the check in/out process was easy and without complication. The hotel is split into two The Piccolo and the Martini, I expected this and it was fine. The room was large and fairly clean, it contained all of the items you would expect from a city hotel, bathroom toiletries, a large wardrobe, tv, hairdryer, air conditioning, minibar. But the room was tired, the shower door kept falling off and the bathroom light was on a timer. The air conditioning blew against the exterior wall so even though it was on, didn't cool the room at all, in August it was very hot! It also had no other settings other than on/off. We also experienced some very noisy guests late at night, although I can't blame the hotel for this. I have stayed in worse hotels and for a one/two night stay it is adequate, I do not think it was worth the price at £109 for a night, I expect better surroundings. It has all the elements of a good hotel but needs to update and try a bit harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Piccolo Hotel Verona, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for the good review you have given to our Hotel.
I am sorry for the problem you have had with the shower, we have immediately fixed it. We use to repair immediately everything that can get broken in our Hotel.
I can assure you that the price you've paid for the room is correct when compared to the season, the category and the services of our hotel and much lower than what you would pay at a similar (or worse) hotel located in the center of our town.
Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    162
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
36
148
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Based ourselves here for one week visit to NE Italy. Proximity to train and adjacent bus station a big plus. We went to Opera and had day trips by Frecciargenta fast trains to Venice and Florence. We used a 13 Euro pp all day ticket for a day out to Riva Del Garda via the eastern side of the Lake by local a/c bus. Also Aerobus shuttle only 15 minutes journey time to airport at 6 euros.
Hotel room clean and looked out over tennis club at rear. Air Con effective in 33C temperatures, in room fridge also worked well. Breakfast was fine. Shuttle to and from opera and the restaurant in the nearby sister Hotel Porta Palio was free. Wifi was expensive and slow. Reception was in adjacent Hotel Martini and was very efficient. Verona Lido open air swimming pools and lawns half mile away made up for lack of hotel pool/ sun bathing facilities typical of in city hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Breakfast was nice. Rooms clean. I would definitely recommend it for a budget stay! Gorgeous city to explore on foot.

Very nice and helpful staff. Situated near the station. Not far from the old town.

Drawback - paying 5€/day for internet,There is nothing like restaurants and shopping around the hotel,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Piccolo Hotel Verona, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review.
Internet wifi connection is free for the guests that book directly with us (without intermediary) so as the garage for you car. Next time think about it!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this hotel for one night on july 2013, because we wanted to go to the opera festival.
The hotel is just close to Porta Palio (500 meter), but is not very easy to reach it by car because of the "one way" roads. There are free outside parkings just in front of the hotel.
Reception is ok, but nothing special.
We had a nice surprise discovering that the hotel offers "FOR FREE" a shuttle service to the OPERA...you just need to book it at the reception.
For safety box a deposit of €30 is requested.
From the hotel you can reach the center of Verona in 15/20 minutes by walk.
Breakfast is good and reach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's a bit of a walk to central verona. Our room was very small. The room was clean and tidy though. They had arranged a shuttle bus to the opera drop off and pick up which was great. Check in and out was efficient. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had booked the economy room, so I knew it would be small, but I was surprised it just had all some bigger rooms miss. There was a decent reading light, a fridge, and enough space for everything, even in the bathroom. The people were nice, the breakfast was OK (lots of sweet things and some meaty things and cheese as well). There were free parking spaces opposite of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not sure what's happening here, but Hotel Piccolo is also Hotel Martini (dont forget to check out those reviews if youre planning to stay here.). We booked hotel Piccolo but stayed in Martini instead. It was in June, so high-season, so no particular reason. Nor could they give us an explanation upon check in. Wifi was said to be included, but when we asked the front desk he quickly glanced at our booking confirmation and said "you booked with booking.com, so no, you have to pay for it". Apart from that: rude staff, alright location, but water in leaking onto our bed from broken aircon. Not happy (also clearly informed staff about this, but they didn't care.. no response was given really).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Piccolo Hotel Verona, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
you have already written your review on Hotel Martini page, and I have already replied to your complain. So only 1 guest has written the same complain twice
Everyone can easily discover in a few seconds on the internet that Hotel Martini and Hotel Piccolo belong to the same company.
I am sorry for the problem you have had in your room during the night (a trouble that was not predictable).
We have just done our best to solve a problem that we can't predict or avoid (a broken water pipe) but it seems that you really can't forgive us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolo Hotel Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Verona

Address: Via Giulio Camuzzoni 3/B, 37138 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel Verona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Piccolo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel Verona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.