We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent example of ancient times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena di Verona

Arena di Verona
Piazza Bra 28, 37121 Verona, Italy
39 045 8005151
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Verona City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #4 of 61 Activities in Verona
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Performances, Operas, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the first century AD, this is one of the best conserved Roman amphitheatres, whose seating area is made up of 44 levels and can hold up to 22,000 spectators.
Currumbin, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent example of ancient times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

extremely well preserved with amazing acoustics. This would be a sensational place to see a summer opera and we are determined to Coe back her in music season. The winter is still great and they allow you to walk down right into the arena . It is easy to imagine what an amazing musical experience this would be

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,752
    711
    245
    91
    88
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Among the best sights in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

Smaller but better preserved than the Colosseum, the Verona Arena is a must-see. Visiting in mid-September meant missing the opera season, unfortunately, but the arena in Verona is a breathtaking sight itself. The arena sports intact seats, so you can walk all the way to the top of it if your legs are up for a workout. It's still used for its original purpose of hosting entertainment events, though tastes have changed from gladiatorial combat to opera in the intervening centuries. I enjoyed just sitting in the arena and taking it all in, and thus experienced a stronger connection to the ancient world in this still-living ruin than I did anywhere else in Italy.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arena di Verona is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

You can't go to Verona and not visit the Arena. Fantastic to see it standing after all these years. This was our first stop when we arrived in Verona. Tip to those who are thinking of going, we purchased the Verona card which allowed free or reduced access into all musuems/sights and also included travel on public transport. Well worth the money if you are thinking of visiting a few sights as was only 20euros for 72 hour card. There is ALOT to see in Verona before you think 72 hours is too long!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visoko, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The Arena di Verona is a must see. It is right in City Centre. The ticket price is 6 euro per person .... well worth it. Inside the Arena, you can climb up to the top if you wish, or you can go to the very center floor of the arena. Photo opportunities are great. Concerts are still held here if you are lucky enough to be in this beautiful city during that time of the year. I wasn't but nevertheless it was great.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An unmissable delight: Bravo! Bravo! BRAVO!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We had read much about seeing the opera in Verona, so it was on our 'must do' list during our 3 day stay in this unique and very special city.

The opera that night was not especially well known to us, but Aida was performed magnificently, a true spectacle of musical, operatic theatre: the music was superb, but the sets and scale of the performance, utilising around a third of the arena, was what made it so memorable.

Visit Verona. Go to the opera. Put on your bucket list.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena di Verona also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to Arena di Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena di Verona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.