We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in this hotel if you want a good nights sleep.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 8, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 79 hotels in Verona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay in this hotel if you want a good nights sleep.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although this hotel has a great location, that's the only thing going for it. The beds were rock hard, it was like sleeping on a slab of concrete I woke up aching all over. The decor of the rooms was vile, The showers were cold and only one member of staff was polite and friendly, even the complementary breakfast didn't make up for how poor this hotel was.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    74
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
25
54
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Otherwise I would not recommend staying here. It is a few minutes from Piazza Bra in one direction and 4 blocks from Castelvecchio in the other. The AC worked great in our room, which was very welcome considering how hot it was while in Verona in September. The front desk staff were not really rude, just not hospitable. No smiles, no "welcome!", no, "hope you enjoyed your stay". Just curt answers to questions. They all gave the distinct the impression that they wanted to be somewhere else. I tried to get them to book me a taxi the night before my early morning departure but they refused. Then the next morning, they couldnt find one right away so that created some unnecessary stress. The room we had was tiny but the bed was comfortable. We were not in the room long, so it did not matter that much to us. But if you like to lounge in a room at a hotel you should look elsewhere. I thought breakfast was adequate but I did have to ask for coffee after being ignored for a while.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The GPS said no cars allowed but it was ok to drive up to the hotel when we arrived. Staff took care of tba parking in the hotel garage. It was just to go to the rooms and cool of in the ac-air. Several restaurant just outside the hotel, opera arena just a block away and easy walk to all citycente ...location can't be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

On arrival, desk staff did not bother to offer help with our bags, though the man saw us struggling. He was neither welcoming, nor friendly. When asked for advice about local sites and restaurants, the desk staff member seems put out. Room was very small with weak air conditioning...and the city was hot. Bed and pillow were not comfortable. Breakfast was average, though the breakfast staff was quite friendly. Even with the great location, I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location, minutes from the arena and good restaurants. Small comfortable clean room, air conditioning worked very well. Surprisingly quiet and dark rooms for the location, when the shutters are drawn. Expensive on the night of the opera, a difference of €65.00 between the two nights. Breakfast was acceptable, typically Italian. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which was disappointing, after working all day. Several international channels on the TV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was in Verona for two days for a Conference at the Museo di Castelvecchio and was very happy having found a nice hotel so near to my place and to the Arena. I really enjoyed being there. Non comparison, even concerning room rates, with my former experience in another hotel on September 2012.
Everything was excellent here, particularly at the front desk and one day from my room I was able to participate to the celebrations for the victory of the Verona football team.

Room Tip: Room on Via Roma
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice place to stay in Verona near Piazza Bra and the Arena.
The room seems to be a little bit small, but what's wrong about this when you stay the whole day outside?
The room and also the bathroom were quite clean. Service was very good, breakfast could be better but was ok.
Parking was a little bit expensive but all in all ok.
Of course I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Verona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Roma, 8, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 79 hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.