We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with an excellent locations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bologna to your Saves list
Hotel Bologna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant hotel with an excellent locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel did not impressed in the first time. A very narrow street caused some worry about mobility, but all concern disappeared from the first contact with the reception. Our car was taken to a garage ( paid 20 euro a night, warned only at checkout). and the check in was very fast and easy.

Don't expect a luxury hotel, this is a romantic and charming place. The room was clean and warming, albeit a little bit small. The minibar was full of delicious snacks.

The breakfast was good, full of those things tipical of Lombardian region ( North of Italy) like ham, bacon, honey, and champagne...

About 20 minutes ahead of the doorstep of the reception you'll be transported to a dream sightseeing, a 1st century arena rise just upon you eyes, a street full of bars and restaurants with the best wine and cheese made in region is the paradise for the "slayers of good taste. From there a walk through in the city is a discovery and a encounter with the history of ancient Italy and even Juliet of William.

I recommend and I'lol certainly be back to Bologna Hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    139
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
221
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Bologna is located right near Arena in Verona. We stayed in the quietest, quaintest room on the 4th floor, in the back. The view was actually charming, overlooking other roofs. The room was very clean and cozy. It was very important to keep the window open, to air out the bathroom. Otherwise, it smelled mildewed. My only disappointment was the breakfast. Their was a lack of healthful choices. The buffet was overloaded with sweetened cereals and cakes, and the coffee was disappointing. It would be a major step up to provide guests with fresh fruits and berries, small salads, eggs, unsweetened yoghurt with healthful
toppings and fresh, whole grain breads. That would give every day a perfect start!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, away from the street, if you want a quiet room and a great nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't fault the location-right by the main piazza. Also, bed was very comfy, and cost was reasonable. BUT. It is opposite a noisy bar where people spill out into the street to drink. The bathroom was massively cramped, and you couldn't open the shower door without it banging into the loo, and then you had to squeeze round it. The bedroom walls are really thin-the couple next door actually woke us up. The staff serving at breakfast are really rude! It's a shame because the staff on the desk are lovely and let down by them. Wouldn't go back if other options were available.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly personell. A very clean, neat and comfortable hotel. Good breakfast. Great location close to the arena, restaurants, shops and banks. Good transfer, taxi or options. Good conditions for walking/strolling.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location excellent at around 50m from the Arena.
The standard of furniture and fittings (classical style, very recently done) would at least be worthy of a four star hotel.
Staff at arrival made an unfriendly impression, but were indeed very helpful and thoughtful. At departure, also very friendly.
Some shortcomings: our room was very small to the extent it was difficult to move around with the luggage in the room. You could hear every small sound from the corridor and from some technical equipment (elevator?) as if it were within the room itself. The bed was large, but not comfortable for me because it was too soft. However, no sound audible from the other rooms or from the street. Scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet were never replaced once finished.

On balance, still a recommendation.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I just visiting Verona last week and selected this hotel to stay for my holiday trip as in a center of tourist area, location perfect you can get a bus from train station take few minute to be here,room is nice and clean, breakfast is good just 5 min walk to Juliet house, during stay is alright but morning wasreceptionist man does not much welcome Asian Face than the Western(as my observe) He gave me a room that occupied by another guest. I have to carry my big 2 luggages up and down to chang a room without any excuse or apologize from him. Next day ask his helping for Wi-Fi internets to connect at lobby (signal very bad even in room) he just say this is a signal we have not helpful to do anything to get a connection for us. We need to check flights schedule to travel to Spain in a next day.So we have to go to another cafe and pay for another 5 Euro for a coffee even we already have in breakfast at hotel, so disappointed.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I loved this hotel and it's in a perfect central location. You are right in the heart of it. With a great bar opposite and a brilliant restaurant next door! The rooms are charming and feel freshly decorated, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom charming. It shows how you can provide guests with a small room all the facilities and decor to absolutely delight both as you arrive and for your whole stay. I loved this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a porter who is very professional. I would come back to this hotel and hope I can too! For tourism instead of business. The breakfast was the weakest part - the fresh fruit was rather tired and not worth eating, but the service is very nice and the coffee etc is good.
The cleaning staff are polite and the rooms and the public spaces are immaculate. 3 star hotel with 5 star tripadvisor ratings! Well-deserved.

Room Tip: All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Address: Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in the heart of Verona, just 50 meters from the Arena. Recently refurbished in a classic international, the hotel is characterized by a soft and cozy. All rooms are equipped with free wifi. There is also a car valet services running on payment and freebicycle rental. Sweet and savory buffet breakfast to give you the good morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.