We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bologna to your Saves list
Hotel Bologna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Verona
Perth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfectly Positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A lovely Hotel perfectly positioned within metres of the entrance to the Arena and parallel to the main shopping precinct. I have the impression that the hotel is a family business and perhaps some more modern approaches to who is doing what and when could be used. Nevertheless, my stay was very good indeed there was little to complain about.

Room Tip: The 4th floor room with a private rooftop area with seating, a spa and a view of the sqare in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    113
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
192
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, although the rooms are quite small, it is very conveniently located for the arena, and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. On the first night i took the duvet out of its cover as it was very hot - not the fault of the hotel as the room had good air conditioning i just don't like having the air conditioning on full all night. When we came back the following day the staff had replaced the duvet cover with a sheet - very thoughtful. In other hotels i have stayed in and done this, they have put the duvet back in its cover! We wanted to go on a tour and hadn't booked anything in advance, the staff went out of their way to get us a nice half day tour around valpolicella. Only downside was the breakfast which was disappointing. The green lit bathroom was a bit odd! We will definitely book this next time we go to verona. Oh and carmina burana was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Hotel has a fantastic location right on the square you could not ask for better. Lovely room very clean and great bathroom facilities (although the green lit bathroom is a little strange even though you can change it to normal). The breakfast is fantastic with heaps of options and great quality. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I would definitely return. Had a fabulous 4 days everywhere within reaching distance. Hotel Room was spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and friendly, English spoken fluently. Thoroughly recommended. Juliette's house and tomb is a must visit. Lake Garda is just approx. 40 mins away from the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked online as the location is superb right in the heart of Verona and just on the doorstep to the arena ans shopping precinct . The hotels staff in particular Paolo was extremely helpful and spoke excellent English we where delighted to find our room clean and fresh with good a/c and a large comfortable bed and pillows something that we have struggled to find, the breakfast each day was fine and the Expresso coffee excellent .

Highly recommend for a great quiet nights sleep in a wonderful location at very reasonable prices , the hotel underwent a extensive renovation 2 years ago so it is in very good order .

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Thanks, very nice hotel located by the Arena di Verona. Nice rooms, good air conditioning.
Breakfast was good and the personnel happy to serve. Their english was fluent.
Enjoyed opera and nice dinners in the restaurant at hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Second time we have stayed here and this time the room was so much smaller than last time, we were on the 4th floor. The shower power and effectiveness was quite poor and we did not have much room to put suitcases into or any drawers so the couch became a luggage holding area. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Took the opportunity to take one of the hotel bikes around Verona and would recommend a ride following the river. The location is what makes it, just as well as it rained on the night of our visit to the opera in the arena and thankfully we were able to get back to the hotel and change so something more. Breakfast was acceptable. it is the location that makes it.

Room Tip: Check what floor you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Address: Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in the heart of Verona, just 50 meters from the Arena. Recently refurbished in a classic international, the hotel is characterized by a soft and cozy. All rooms are equipped with free wifi. There is also a car valet services running on payment and freebicycle rental. Sweet and savory buffet breakfast to give you the good morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.