We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next dor to the Arena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bologna to your Saves list
Hotel Bologna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Next dor to the Arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a nice looking hotel located a few steps from the Arena and within walking distance to most of Verona. Our room was quite small and took some negotiating to move around in. Since you are near a main tourist attraction here the windows are thick and noise-resistant. That also means that they keep out any air and the room can get stuffy. If you want to use the air conditioner (or heat) you have to inform the Front Desk so they can turn it on for your room. Unfortunately when we were there last week the A/C was not available for use. That meant sleeping with the window open (noise) and earplugs. There was also the occasional (but loud) noise of water running, presumably from pipes, in two spots behind the wall. The room was clean and the bathroom fine. The breakfast was varied and good. Not sure we would stay here again..next time we would probably choose further away from the Arena. Verona is beautiful with wonderful attractions and very good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    140
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
222
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fabulous hotel, absolutely brilliant location, yards from the shops and Piazza Bra. From the time we arrived until we dragged ourselves away we were impressed. My daughters and I shared the top floor suite with the bonus being the hot tub on the rooftop terrace. Sitting in it whilst sipping prosecco and enjoying a view of the tip of the arena and the surrounding rooftops will be a memory that will linger for a long time. The staff were very helpful when we had a problem with the water temperature of the hot tub, but resolved it as quickly as they could and it certainly didn't spoil our fun of the occasion. Breakfast was delicious and worth returning for! A great selection of fruit, cereals, brioches, tortes, biscuits, pastries, bread, a cooked selection -what else could anyone want! All in all this hotel will be remembered and we'd love to return again! Verona is a gem

Room Tip: Splash out and try the suite! Complete with hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights and were pleased with our stay. We split our stay between two rooms. first was the suite with private and spacious terrace that has a table, loungers and jacuzzi. This room is a pricey splurge, but it's hard to put a price on the experience of having the private terrace to eat, lounge, soak or watch the sun go down. if a concert is going on, which it was when we were there, then you can hear it from the deck. The second room at about half the price was very very very small. But it was clean. The breakfast was good and the staff was so attentive and friendly each day. I saw one of the managers or owner giving one of the waitresses a really hard time in the restaurant. if he's reading this I want him to know his people do a fabulous job!!! Maribel at the front desk was also a joy. So helpful and sweet, thanks Maribel :)
The arena and via Mazzini shopping area are around the corner, as is piazza bra. Everything else is easy stroll, verona is beautiful and such a walkable city. I recommend this hotel for sure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We picked this place as it is a short trip by train into Venice and based across the road from the Station. The location is excellent and tickets can be bought at the hotel.
The breakfasts are pretty basic but the evening meal was excellent. Reasonably priced and really fabulous service. Can't fault the meal or the service at all.
The room was ok, clean and spacious. Only complaint was the bed which was rather uncomfortable; but great place to stay otherwise. Definitely will go back as it's great for easy access into Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel, awesome location the arena is just outside the door.. Room was little but very good And clean. Good breakfast. Good service . And They arange parking :)
The was was oké cause of the Great location

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved the location and service at Hotel Bologna. It was steps from the Arena. The hotel was very clean and beautiful.
My only reason for not giving it 5 is that the rooms were very tiny and the wifi connection was difficult to obtain.
Other than that it was fabulous. The staff is knowledgeable and spoke several languages. They were kind and helpful.
I greatly enjoyed our stay but would most likely stay elsewhere on my next trip. I was in Europe for 3.5 weeks and this hotel, while fabulous and lovely, was the smallest and most expensive.

Room Tip: rooms, while beautiful and clean, are incredibly small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risor, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A newly renovated hotel with the comforts needed. Good and friendly service.The proximity to the Arena (where we experienced a fantastic Aida performance) does not reduce the positive experience. Highly recommended as base for exploring the fantastic city of Verona

Room Tip: Had a 3rd floor room bordering to a quiet side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Address: Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in the heart of Verona, just 50 meters from the Arena. Recently refurbished in a classic international, the hotel is characterized by a soft and cozy. All rooms are equipped with free wifi. There is also a car valet services running on payment and freebicycle rental. Sweet and savory buffet breakfast to give you the good morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.