We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy Holiday 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bologna to your Saves list
Hotel Bologna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Verona
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italy Holiday 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Bologna is right alongside the Arena in the centre of Verona, quite expensive you are paying for the location, if you are driving to Hotel the best of luck,tom tom loses signal between the buildings,once you find it they will take your car to parking lot or garage for you and return it to hotel with 30 mins notice for 20 euro's.the hotel accommodation,the first room on the third floor which we looked
at was for our friends was very spacious with a nice walk in shower, but our room on the first floor was nice but you had a job to get into the shower very small, Breakfast was well laid out with a good selection.and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: we were in room 108 bathroom small shower very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    113
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
192
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Due to Verona's maze of one-way streets, unfortunately our GPS was sending us to anywhere but the hotel, so we parked the car, and walked to the hotel. One of the hotel staff kindly walked with us back to our car and directed us on how to get to the hotel. Top points for service there. The breakfast was good, the hotel is clean and well presented. The bed was also fairly comfortable from what I remember. As per the rest of the reviews, the location is also amazing. That's where the good points end and the bad points start. First of all, the room was small. There was no shampoo and conditioner provided - when we asked at reception, we were told we had to buy our own from across the street. Next, the air conditioning in the hotel cannot be controlled in the rooms. It is controlled remotely by the (very rude) guy on the front desk, and there is no temperature control - it is either ON (freezing cold) or OFF (roasting hot). You can turn it off yourself by opening your window (bizarre I know), but that doesn't really help when it is +30degrees C outside and also very noisy. Last, we made use of their private car park, then later found it costs 20 Euros. By that point we'd already parked, so didn't really have a choice. I guess some hotels just love hidden fees. I loved Verona and will be returning. Just not to Hotel Bologna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

very comfortable rooms if not very large bedrooms,excellent position for all historic sites in verona.Free Wi-fi.Good breakfast with very obliging staff,will certainly go back next year.surrounded by great restaurants and high end stores.Try out a glass of Bardilino in the small bar on the other side of the street 1.5 euro`s a glass,great quality for the money.

Room Tip: there does seem to be larger rooms,requeat when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just 1 night here. The ONLY downside for us was that the room (#108) and bathroom within were really small but everything else was exceptional. Location was incredible - just a few steps from the Arena, decor was lovely - clean and crisp, room was quiet, breakfast was fresh and varied. Hotel staff were lovely and even managed to find us a parking spot outside for which we were not charged. We would definitely return (but we would ask if they had a slightly bigger room!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This 3-star hotel could easily be a 4-star in service, comfort, and location. Our newly remodeled room was small but classy and comfortable. Breakfast is good. Elevator. Our first room had an a/c problem- not cooling, and concierge moved us to a cool room immediately. Close to Arena and tourist sights, we chose this hotel because other reviews said they have bicycles to borrow. Yes, we enjoyed an afternoon riding along river to Teatro Romano and spectacular views. Spent two nights/days on our way to Venice. Enough time to see Verona's highlights from Hotel Bologna's central location. Didn't need our car in Verona. We would go back there.

Room Tip: Elevator makes all rooms accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We checked in via booking.com after having walked by on a VERY hot June afternoon. Friendly and courteous staff, nice restaurant in a newly renovated facility. The only problem was some heavyly leaking water (possibly from the top floor jacuzzi) dripping from the ceiling and
waking us at 7:30 on Sunday morning. We were moved instantly to a lower floor, but relatively (esp. for Italian standards) spacious room where we spent the following nights in calm with a glimpse of the Piazza in front of the Arena.
The best, however, is Giovanni Zampieri's Vini - Liquori bar right across the street offering a decent selection of regional wines and beer as well as a spectacular "corso" of people passing by - hours of fun to watch ;-)
We'll stay there again should we return sometime!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed recently two nights to attend the (practically adjacent) opera. First room I was given smelled of sewer gas. Asked for new room but receptionist advised it was opera season and had no others. She offered to re-clean or spray with de-odorizer refusing to acknowledge the fundamental odor (there was "incense oil" on the room's dresser). Eventually was given a another room that smelled a little better (but still with incense oil) that faced closely another building and was, therefore, really dark.

Overall the hotel appeared clean and was well located for the arena and restaurants. Staff was indifferent in attitude though helpful if pressed. Overall felt the stay was expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Address: Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani 3, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in the heart of Verona, just 50 meters from the Arena. Recently refurbished in a classic international, the hotel is characterized by a soft and cozy. All rooms are equipped with free wifi. There is also a car valet services running on payment and freebicycle rental. Sweet and savory buffet breakfast to give you the good morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bologna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.