We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scalzi to your Saves list
Hotel Scalzi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Verona
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Scalzi at Easter 2013, two years after our first stay. It's a comfortable hotel about 15 minutes walk away from the Arena, and a similar distance from the railway station (you can also go by bus).
On the first occasion, we stayed in a room facing the street. If you're a very light sleeper staying in one of those rooms, you might be awakened by the early morning traffic. However, by big city standards the level of noise and trafic is light, and we weren't disturbed by it.
On each trip, our rooms were comfortable and the buffet breakfast was very good. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there are several reasonably-priced places to eat within 2-10 minutes walking distance.
The above are basic requirements in any good hotel. Our real reason for returning to Hotel Scalzi is the staff. On both visits, we found them all to be very courteous, helpful, friendly and simply nice to meet, from early morning to late at night. This can't happen by accident. We'll stay there again.
One other tip. Apart from Verona's obvious attractions, the nearness of the railway station makes quick trips to places like Vicenza, Venice, Mantova or Lake Garda a very easy option. If you're not in a hurry, slow trains are very cheap (eg we paid seven euro each for a single journey to Vicenza).
Cathal Mac Coille

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    128
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
149
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Picked Scalzi for its location and TA reviews, but have nothing but positive feelings for it (and Verona). Staff was pleasant and helpful and enjoyed the breakfast, although it was fairly modest in scope. The room & bed were the most comfortable of the four hotels we stayed in on the trip, so got an excellent night's sleep.

Pros:
-Kind and professional proprietors, fluent in English (necessary with my lack of Italian)
-Good value and location
-Comfy, decent, clean room

Cons:
-No free WiFi in room
-(Stairs; not really an issue for me, but be forewarned).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I are independent travelers. We are pushing 70 pretty hard now, but recently spent six weeks traveling in Italy, Malta, and Germany. We stayed at the Hotel Scalzi for a romantic three day weekend in early March 2013. The hotel is about a ten minute walk both to the train station and to the historic center. Cab fare was reasonable from the station -- ten euro. This hotel is tastefully and thoughfully appointed and designed. Staff are highly professional and accomodating with service and information. The common lounge, including a balcony area, are comfortable for sitting, reading, or in our case, a game of scrabble after a hard day on cobblestones. The rooms are not large, but the beds are comfortable and room service each day was excellent. Internet does not work in the rooms, only the lounge area. There is no elevator, so be aware if climbing stairs is a problem. It did not pose a problem for us. Breakfasts were adequate, but not overly generous -- I would say only about average for Italian hotels. We loved our stay in Verona, and the Scalzi was a solid hotel from which to base our weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A lovely hotel. Would probably be called 'boutique' in any other country. They have stripped away the plaster and celing to reveal the old stone walls and timber beams. It looks very pretty. Our room was medium sized, the bathroom was a little strange, a box in the corner of the room with glass doors. A little disconcerting.
Staff were great, helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is in a very good location, around half way between the start of the old town and the train/bus station. The fact that it was on the main road meant that there is a little bit of traffic noise from the street below. Breakfast was good, plenty to eat and a nice selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the arena and the city centre.When you arrive,no matter at what time ,you'll always be greeted by really nice people ,they speak good english too and are very helpful with informations. The young man who does the night shift is a pleasure to talk to and in the morning you'll always find happy faces wishing you a good breakfast and day.
Breakfast is good and we know that the night before they order fresh pastries so run down quickly and get one of those small round 'bombolini'full with cream..to die for!
the rooms are each one decorated in a different way,style ,colour ,but all beautiful.The great thing of this hotel is also the cleanness of the rooms especially the bathrooms are always impeccable! You go to have breakfast and when yougrt back to your room is perfectly clean!What a pleasure. Definitely we will go back when in Verona.

Room Tip: We had a room looking at the main road,but with double windows was very quiet.maybe the rooms lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great find for a reasonably priced hotel in Verona. The hotel is close enough to the train station to walk (but wouldn't do it late at night) and an easy walk to the attractions of Verona. The room I had was clean, decent size, nice clean bathroom. The shower was small but from my experience that is typical for Italy in general, not an issue for me. My room was on the courtyard and was quiet There was a nice breakfast included with my rate, had choices of cereal, yogurt, cheese and meats, breads, juice, cafe, etc. WIFI available in the lobby, and the sitting area above the lobby, was not available in my room. Staff very helpful. I would stay here again if in Verona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great place to stay. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. They provide great recommendations. The hotel is close to everything. We were able to walk everywhere. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37121 Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt, the hotel dedicates attention to the businessman as well as to tourists who want to spend their time in a family atmosphere. The hotel is located in the city centre, 650 metres from the Arena and close to the train station. The charming and lovely rooms have independent air conditioning, television, direct line outside and long-distance calls. Buffet breakfast is served in a graceful mezzanine floor. It's also possible to book places in our private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scalzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.