We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Armando to your Saves list
Hotel Armando
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dietro Pallone, 1, 37139 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Armando is situated in a quiet street about five minutes walk from the centre of the old city, which makes it both convenient for exploring and a great place to get a good night's sleep. Rooms are a good size and very well equipped; the bathrooms in particular are great for a hotel in this price range, they are what would be expected in a more expensive place. Everything is very clean. The buffet breakfast is excellent, too. One thing I would single out for particular praise was the service. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and really made us feel at home. Great value, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    211
    36
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
233
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here for one night during a brief visit to Verona. Unlike some hotels whose rooms are a disappointment compared to the public areas, this hotel is the opposite. When you first get into the room, it feels higher quality than the reception area. The bedside electrics are unusual but very practical and well designed. The location is excellent, on the edge of the inner city centre, and just a short walk to the main attractions. The hotel strikes the perfect balance between price and location. I was pleasantly surprised that a 3* hotel should provide umbrellas on rainy days. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and attentive staff quickly getting vacated tables ready for the next guests.

The only problem was the hotel's wifi internet, which the hotel could fortunately fix easily if it wanted to. You are given a username and password, each 4 characters with a validity period of 24 hours. There is a server-side bug in the hotel's wifi system whereby it unnecessarily deregisters devices if they do not maintain a continuous wifi connection. Mobile phones, by design, save battery power by repeatedly disconnecting and reconnecting to wifi networks. Therefore every few minutes, a mobile phone has to re-authenticate, requiring the user to tap the screen 13 times (4 characters each for the username and password plus navigating around the screen and keyboard). This cumbersome repetitive procedure makes the hotel wifi unusable on a mobile phone. Even worse, if you're waiting for an IP-based communication (e.g. Skype, WhatsApp, Viber, iMessage etc), you often don't receive it because the hotel's wifi system has silently kicked your phone off the network, and nothing alerts you that this has happened. This could all be fixed with a server-side software or configuration change so that each device's MAC address remains registered until the end of the username's validity period. Even better than browser-based authentication, a simple WPA key, as used by many other hotels and bars, would be much more user-friendly.

If you don't want to pay €11 for the short taxi ride from the station, instead try buses 11, 12 or 13 for €1.50; the journey time is similar.

I would have given a score of 5 out of 5, but the wifi problem lost one point.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Verona was the highlight of my recent trip to Italy and it was made exponentially better due to our wonderful stay at Hotel Armando.
Located close to town and the Arena, but tucked away on a quiet street, the hotel was clean, friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff were excellent. On enquiring about Lake Garda, copious information was provided, as were tasty restaurant recommendations.
The breakfast was definite highlight, as breakfasts in Italy, I have found, vary immensely. This breakfast was fantastic.
The only downfall was that my WiFi regularly cut out, however I did not raise this with the staff, as it was essentially a minor issue.
Highly, highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed at The Hotel Armando, Verona from Sat 19th October to Tue 22nd October. Our room was spotlessly clean, the shower hot. Self service cotinental breakfast was excellent and open for 3 hours. From checking in, answering our questions, sorting out problems, pointing us in the right direction, nothing was too much trouble for the people at the Armando.. Location was excellent near to the Arena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Armando for 3 nights in early October 2013 and were pleasantly suprised by the value for money and service levels it offered so close to the centre of Verona. The Arena was literally 5 minutes walk away, however the hotel is in a quiet area, so we experienced no noise at all during the night, despite a couple of sell out concerts in the Arena while we were there. Breakfast buffet excellent in quantity and quality, reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, providing luggage storage, ice for the room, a towel for wet shoes (yes it did rain while we were there!), and above and beyond service when they gave us one of the hotel umberellas to keep as ours had been lost (special thanks to Alexandra!). Rooms clean, modern and comfortable with bath robes and slippers, towels changed daily and crisp bed linen. Would recommend highly.
Tip: We walked from Porto Nouvo station (25 mins) after catching airport bus into town - busy road however with some footpaths missing so would recommend a taxi if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Our room faced the small street outside which meant we could open a window without any air con noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed four nights very happily here. The hotel is situated just outside the historic centre in a quiet area. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the room we had was very comfortable - breakfast too was good.

We would certainly stay here again but go for a room away from the courtyard as I like to have the window open at night and found the ventilation equipment a bit noisy.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice. It was very far removed from the other hotels we stayed in Italy, in that the room was very modern and functional...no character. It was expensive enough although the location was very good, near to all the sights. The shower was strange with wooden floorboards instead of a shower tray....hard to describe. Reception staff were polite. Breakfast was ok. Would stay again if I was in the area but would probably see what else was available first as the price was a little expensive for what it was. No real faults though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Direttore generale at Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to our hotel we are glad you enjoyed our
services and our position relative to the historical center of Verona and in
a possible next visit to Verona would choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armando

Address: Via Dietro Pallone, 1, 37139 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Verona
#10 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Armando 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished, the hotel provides a peaceful environment in which to rest after a busy day, offering its clients a family atmosphere and modern services, including wireless Internet connection throughout the building, Internet point and bar.The hotel also has rooms accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Armando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armando Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.