We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mastino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mastino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mastino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Porta Nuova, 16, 37122 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 79 hotels in Verona
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the main part of the hotel, and enjoyed our stay. Parking was a hassle, but I'm not sure there are any other options so close to the old city. We enjoyed walking through the historic area after dark, and really enjoyed the location. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Our room faced the street, and it took a while to figure out the air conditioner so we could shut the windows. All in all, a good location and very helpful staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    268
    112
    47
    23
See reviews for
85
243
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our reservervation was for the one bedroom appartment in the extention of the hotel. On arrival, a very unfriendly and in an unpolite manner, the male receptionist, informed us that the appartment iwas located a 10 minutes ride away.Transfer complimentary! If we wanted cleaning during our stay, at an extra charge! Not mentioned on the confirmation! I would call this misleading people. The appartment was spacious and perfect for our needs. Comfortable bv all means. Bathroom spacious and newly refurbished.
On departure they missed our transfer and we nearly missed our train.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was greeted by a very beligerent staff member at the front desk - finally a more experienced lady took over and gave us our room assignment. Parking was a few blocks away and not the easiest place to walk in and out of.

We had to wait for a porter to help us take our bags to our room. The young lady was extremely nice and helped to make up for the very beligerent woman at the front desk.

The hotel is in 2 parts and our room was in the annex that was 3 blocks away - requiring the guest to cross the busy main street. Breakfast was in the main part. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. The location was good - walking into the historic district was a nice walk. We felt safe even after dark. Off a busy street, our room was quiet.

Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main part of the hotel. Lugging bags from the main hotel to the annex is a nuisan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has a very good location near major attractions, rooms are average, and the staff was downright rude, as noted by other reviewers. It ruined the whole stay. I advise anyone looking to stay here to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers, the best part of the hotel is its location. That's all. Rooms and hallways look dated.

I stayed in the annex which was relatively quiet. Walked to the VinItaly shuttle bus in 2 min. There's a small minibar in the room.

Wifi costs extra. So bring your wallet.

My double room was €133 during VinItaly, which was a rip off. I stayed in Trento the next day, my room was much nicer and cost half as much.

Tips:
* there's a nice supermercado behind the hotel, so stock up on fresh fruit, water and vino.
* there's a small dry cleaner on the way to the Poste. The latter of which sells Euros at a decent exchange rate.
* my hands down fav restaurant in Verona is "La Catina del 15", about 5 min by foot. Reservation suggested for dinner.
* there's a decent gym Health City about 6 min by foot, costs €16 per day, which is fairly reasonable if you want to shed a few pounds from eating delicious Italian foods.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantastic location just a couple of minutes away from Piazza Bra and the Arena and only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (which suited our needs as we were travelling to Milan the next day) means that for the price this cant be beaten.

The staff were very friendly, the room and bathroom was very clean and neither of us were awoken by any noises from the street or hotel. Breakfast was standard, not the best we have had but not the worst and if you are planning a short break in the city this would meet your needs.

Did have to pay for wifi though, but at 3 euro for 24 hours this wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Let's start with the positive things: great location as 2 minutes walk from the arena; room was nice, especially the bathroom. But that's it ! Staff is very unfriendly, our room was on the first floor, with in fact no view at all ! Yes, another window and a wall in 3 meters distance. We thought ok, at least no noise from the street, but indefinable noises came from the hotel which disturbed our sleep. The management of the hotel seems not to care for the well being of the guests and give the impression that their first aim is to gain as much as possible by spending as less as possible. Wifi is not for free (which is a must nowadays! ), if you want to use the pool you have to pay 10€ ( I can understand if the use of the SPA isn't for free, but not the pool! ). Breakfast is of a minor quality, the mortadella was looking so greasy and disgusting... Maybe we were too spoiled staying for one week in different Agriturismo "hotel", with warm welcome, carrying hosts, free WIFI, homemade yam and fresh food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mastino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mastino

Address: Corso Porta Nuova, 16, 37122 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mastino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Verona, just few steps far from the Arena, reachable by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mastino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastino Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mastino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.