We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was nearly a three but just not quite good enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Martini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Martini Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giulio Camuzzoni 2, 37138 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 79 hotels in Verona
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Was nearly a three but just not quite good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the station, it is flat, but there are busy roads and the pavements aren't the best. The check in was 2pm and we arrived about 1pm. The receptionist said we could leave our luggage and return later to check in. He provided a map, and informed us how to get to the centre.
We walked into town and had a cursory look around, the centre is about 15 mins walk away, on busy roads, but well lit and safe.
We checked in at around 4pm, and were given room 105. The room was on the first floor, and was very small and dark. There was a fridge with complementary water, spare pillow, bedside tables and storage wardrobe. I did request an extra pillow and it was brought to the room, without a problem. No info or kettle in room. Extra charge for wi fi, if residents did not book directly with hotel, which I think is not acceptable, as if available, should be for all.
TV as ever, bathroom small, and the light kept going off if you didn't move, which was a little strange. Shower was very small, but powerful, and very hot. Towels were big and soft. Toiletries okay.
Noise was as expected in this hotel, doors banging, deliveries could be heard.
Breakfast was not bad, coffee machine and toast making facility. However, it was basic, and there just seemed to be rules printed around the buffet eg: don't take food away, don't do this or that etc. - which seemed strange.
The main problem for us in this hotel was the service, which was indifferent at most and secondly, the smoking side of this hotel.
We asked for a non-smoking room, and were told it was. We got to out room on the first floor, directly over the entrance foyer. It smelled musty and a little stale, but we thought, it was due to the age and size of the room, proximity to bathroom etc. We left almost immediately, as our time in Verona was limited and returned early evening. It was only later that night, and the next morning, that we realised when we opened our window, the smoke from the 'fag hags' who had lit up as they got outside of the door, and then remained standing outside the door, was coming directly into our window. There are tables with ashtrays that stretch across the front of the building, but on this occasion, they all seemed to smoke directly under our window, including the male staff receptionist!!!! A real problem for anyone on the front of the buiding who doesn't like smoking, because the windows open outwards from the bottom and therefore any smoke will come up and go in.
As we only had 1 night to do, and expected to be out for most of the day, and we had unpacked etc - we did not ask to move rooms.
Cost = 130E and 6E city tax.
Would not return, nor recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Martini Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
all our rooms are no-smoking, but we can't prohibit to the people to smoke on the street...
You could have asked to change your room and we would have been happy to try satisfy your understandable needs.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    110
    75
    13
    12
See reviews for
19
100
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a good hotel near Veron porta nuva station.

the rooms, staff, breakfast are all good.

price are medium to stay in spacious rooms.

you can easily go to other cities like Venice from here, Venice hotels are more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location is good, near to station and walking distance to centre, shuttle bus to and from opera was very useful. Hotel rooms clean and well kept, staff were friendly and helpful about booking taxis when we needed them. A fresh fruit salad instead of tinned would have been nice (although there was whole fresh fruit available) for breakfast. There was a sign on the lift for a terrace /solarium on the top floor but when we went up, there was only a couple of chairs. There was an amazing view. A few plants and patio furniture would make this area an asset to the hotel. Wifi was expensive. Overall very pleased with hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Worried a bit after reading the reviews. It is a basic hotel for the money.However, it was clean, the bedroom was fine. The breakfast was good too. One staff member did come across a little grumpy but he wasnt rude at all. I would not book again, mainly due to the price. It is a three star hotel but we have stayed in other 3 star hotels in Italy that have been far superior. Really close to the train station and an enjoyable 15-20 minute walk to the city centre. Free shuttle bus to Opera in the season. All in all a good basic functional hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked due to close to the railroad and price. My family of four cannot recommend this hotel. Negative staff, bad service, no smiles, nothing good actually. Find another place. One example is shuttlebus: it was available, and the driver free but we had to take taxi. Wifi did not work, fitness was bad and attitude from staff was bad. The bicycle needed 50 eur deposit. One good thing: the bike was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Martini Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was present in every moment of your stay and no one on our staff has been rude or unpolite to you.
About the shuttle bus, for example, you have misunderstood (as we have tried to explain to you and your wife): we have a shuttle bus and we use it to offer a free transfer to the Arena in the evening of Opera. We don't give to our guests a free transfer to the station cause we don't offer a taxi service: we can't, it is not our job! If you need a trasfer to the station (that however is very very close) you need to call a public taxi, cause we can't steal the job of taxi drivers. Our shuttle service is limited to the transfer I've explained you.
About the deposit fot the bicycle rent it is only a deposit: when you bring back the bicycle we check that everything is ok (exactly as it happens when you rent a car) and we give you the deposit back.
I don't see anything unpolite or rude in this.
I'm sorry that you have misunderstood, but you can't claim as free some services that you need to pay. We are not a 5 star luxury hotel where the room it costs 700 Euro. Our room costs maybe 70 euro and if you need extra service you need to pay (and it is not unpolite).
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel in nice place. It's close to train station but no sounds from there. And is close to the center of the town, so easy to go to historical parts.

The only weird thing was the light in bathroom that lights based on movement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We woke up in the middle of the night because there was water leaking through the ceiling. We rang the front desk and were told that "it wasnt their problem and there was nothing they can do about it" in a matter of "this happens all the time". Not untill we suggested to change to another room, they reluctantly agreed and we had to go down to pick up the new keys. Meanwhile water kept pouring down from the ceiling. Nobody came to check the room, and no concern or apology was outed. Confronting the management in the morning on the rude treatment we received during the night he said "well, thats just the character of the night guard. Can't do anything about that. Bye". Not an apology to be heard. Also, they messed up my reservation twice, charge for every single thing (wifi 5€ for 24h) and tried to overcharge me when paying upon checkout. Location-wise ok, but thats about all the good things to be said. My advice: steer clear of this horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Room 119 has a leaking ceiling. So includes free swimmingpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Martini Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,
of course all it is more difficult in the middle of the night: understand what is happening, think how to fix the problem and make guest happy.
The night manager is alone and if he had changed your room in the middle of the night trying to give you the best treatment as possible it means that he was pretty good.
We are sorry for the problem but as you can easily understand if something get broken late night a simple three stars hotel (as we are) can't have workers ready to come studying what is wrong and fix it: we will do that immediately the morning after!
We would like to apologyze for the unpleasant discomfort of course not dependent on our will, but we have done all that was possible in an unfortunate situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini Hotel

Address: Via Giulio Camuzzoni 2, 37138 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martini Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Martini is the ideal place to welcome those travelers who come to Verona for business or leisure. Hotel Martini is located in a strategic position, just 400 meters from Verona Porta Nuova Train Station and 15 minutes walk from the 'Arena di Verona': 2 steps from the center but easily accessible and cheap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Martini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martini Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.