We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Due Torri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Due Torri Hotel to your Saves list
Due Torri Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S Anastasia 4, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Verona
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good central location for the attractions (although not easy to find in the car). The check in and all staff very efficient and well trained. Rooms a little dark, not helped by dark furniture and heavy furnishings. Breakfast was very good in a nice bright breakfast room. Very pleasant stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Daer valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review published on TripAdvisor. It's a great pleasure for all our Staff reading that your shortbreak in Verona has been up to your expectations and that you have been able to enjoy nice days in the city of Romeo & Juliet also thanks to our services and the beauty of our Property.
We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest in order to spoil you more and more... Greetings from Verona!

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    65
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
95
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Let's start talking about the location .It is not too far from the train station nor too far from the shopping/Verona Arena. It is very discreet which is nice. The welcoming was fine.Check in was done by a trainee who seemed a bit nervous but was very kind and efficient.The Lobby itself is a bit dark compared to the rooms that are full of sunlight . The room itself was nice wooden floor some Imperial details inside . The finishing in the bathroom was a bit uh ,On the sealing you could see some rust and painting starting to fall off. The colors fit well Some blues with some wood blend very well , I was lucky to have a very nice view over a courtyard which I thought was delightful . Cleanliness was top ! I have no complain about about the Housekeeping service. Breakfast was also nice simple everything that you need cold cuts,fruits,eggs!

Overall it is a hotel I would recommend if you decide to go to Verona, Its cozy, staff is nice and it covers all the needs one would have , But it lacks of the WOW factor that you would usually find in 5 star properties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review published on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that your stay at the Due Torri Hotel has been up to your expectations and desires and that you have been able to well appreciate the beauties of our pleasant city and the service and courtesy of our staff.
We would be also very pleased to welcome you again at Due Torri Hotel and let you experience an inviting and exclusive dinner on our Panoramic Terrace with an amaizing beautiful view over the historic city centre of Verona.

Looking forward to meeting you personally, Cordially,
Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Verona is a northern Italian city which is kind to tourists. Stay at one of the best hotels the Due Torre. Go to Verona to see the Opera and be comfortable in the nicely restored Hotel Due Torre. Enjoy a dinner on the rooftop, where grilled meats & fish are a treat. Go to see the Opera in the Verona Coliseum, and the bar will still be open for after Opera drinks and a chicken salad sandwich. Attentive staff to great you and help with maps, restaurant suggestions, and comforts in town. Free Internet. Great morning breakfast. Enjoy your stay at the Hotel Due Torre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review published on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that your stay at the Due Torri Hotel has been up to your expectations and desires and that you have been able to well appreciate the beauties of our pleasant city also thanks to the strategic position of our Property: near the church of Saint Anastasia, as stone’s throw from Juliet’s famous balcony, Piazza Bra and the Arena. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest, so you will have the opportunity to experience a littl bit more about our beautiful city,

Cordially,
Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not quite up to it's 5 star rating but very good nevertheless. Room was a good size but bathroom a bit small. Good choice at breakfast with attentive service. Rooftop restaurant was a nice venue on our first night, good food but choice was a bit limited as they appear to have only a grill on the roof. Restaurant in the lobby was dark and not very inviting. Often had to queue at reception which you don't expect in a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review published on TripAdvisor. It's a great pleasure for all our Staff reading that your shortbreak in Verona has been up to your expectations and that you have been able to enjoy nice days in the city of Romeo & Juliet also thanks to our services and the beauty of our Property. We have taken good note baout you comments regarding the Panoramic Terrace and Due Torri Lounge & restaurant and we hope to let you see our improvements during a possible future visit at Due Torri Hotel,
Cordially,
Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Due Torri inside the Verona historical center for two nights. The hotel sits on the side of Sta. Anastacia Basilica, arguably the most impressive church in all of Verona. Some might argue that its too far north of the "peninsula" to be strategic and that the better location would be a bit more south, closer to Piazza Erbe or even Piazza Bra with its Arena. But the walk from Piazza Anastacia to the Arena is a matter of 15 minutes, passing through the Piazza Erbe with its food and souvenir shops then through Via Mazzini with its boutique shops. Besides, its the closest to the Ponte Pietra brdige, one of the two must-see bridges (the other being Ponte Scaligero) connecting the historical "thumb" with the rest of the city since its separated by the Fiume (River) Adige.

What strikes you is the "old world" elegant charm of Due Torri, since it's a reclaimed 18th or 19th century rich-family grand villa-palazio transformed into a hotel, which will explain the elegant grand staircase running at the back (which is terribly convenient when the lifts are full), the lovely wide corridors, the huge public lounges on each floor, the small lifts which weren't there a century or couple of centuries ago, the high ceilings. The entrance is in the middle of the building and you enter a small front lobby which opens into an elegant main salon-lounge that has portraits of the great opera singers Pavarroti and Maria Callas as well as other singers.

It's old world brass key, no electronic keycard for them - which could be a slight hassle if there are two or more of you. The washroom is separate from the T&B area which is always great (tolietries were of very high quality), room chandeliers reminded us of Bologna's Grand Majestic (which wasn't really an accident since the Majestic is also a Due Torri hotel in Bologna), the cloth wallpaper (always a nice touch) was stylish and reflected as well in the curtains, the ceiling is nicely high. They had complimentary water which was nice. The LCD TV was of decent size but there were very few english language channels. Wifi was free, fast and very reliable. They had brandy glasses but we would have appreciated wine glasses more since we were drinking in the room in the evenings.

Breakfast was at the ground floor but the room was a bit on the small side so on one of the days, they had to shunt the latecomers to the lounge-salon where they set up a duplicate buffet table. Food variety was ok - hams, cheeses, salmon, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, breads and jams, cereals and yoghurts, and several sorts of sweet breads - although we missed green veggies. The breakfast staff were responsive, as were the front desk and bell service. When our safe conked out late at night, they couldn't produce a person to open it but promised that the person would be ready by 8 am the following day - and he was. The front desk were always smiling even though the client volume was occasionally overwhelming for them. For example, they couldn't photocopy our passports quickly. And when we requested for the opera tickets, we had to go down to hurry them up. It wasn't for lack of service but just the volume of client transactions.

Some negatives - we weren't impressed with the furniture in the rooms. They looked old, edges were cracked, and severely in need of repainting-refurbishing. Perhaps, the intent was to pretend to be antique style - the beds had posts that had clear Egyptian influences - but some small pieces of wood were sticking out and my wife pointed out that girls wearing stockings or cashmeres could easily damage their clothes. The back of one of the night tables in room 301 had already separated from the cabinet, with nails sticking out. And the bed itself was too high, requiring my wife to have to jump up to get on the bed. And the cushions were smaller than the bed so the wood stuck out, with the strong possibility of hitting your shin on the bed frame. The hair dryer was a bit unwieldy since you couldn't turn it off or on from the dryer itself but rather on the wall mount.

We missed the coffee pot and free coffee, which we had just experienced at Chateau Monfort in Milan where we came from. There weren't enough electrical outlets. The safe malfunctioned for no reason (maybe they were old?), it was difficult to decipher the ac control panel since the symbols and numbers were almost brushed out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
we would like to thank you for your accurate review regarding the Due Torri Hotel. We are happy to read that you have spent beautiful days in our pleasant Verona and that you have well appreciated the services of our Structure and the courtesy of our Staff.
We have also taken good note about your comments regarding our rooms and equipments and we are currently working in order to improve more and more.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again as welcome Guest, wishing you a lovely day,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. The location is perfect. The quality of the staff really stood out. Every one spoke to you. Walked you wherever you needed to go in the hotel. You do not find this kind of service anymore. The sign of a well managed hotel.

The breakfast now has everything you could want. Pastries, eggs, meats....The top floor dining can't be missed. You can see all of Verona. Our room was very nice and I loved the marble bathroom with the very long tub for good baths.

Verona is such a nice city. It is friendly, clean and feels very safe. We also enjoyed the opera in the arena. What a treat. But do not expect the traditional Aida.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear kandd1963,

thank you for your kind review and very appreciated comments published on TripAdvisor. It's a great pleasure for all our Staff reading that your shortbreak in Verona has been up to your expectations and that you have been able to enjoy nice days in the city of Romeo & Juliet also thanks to our services and the beauty of our Property. We also appreciate the fact you have experience our Panoramic Terrace and you enjoyed this experience so much! We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest in order to spoil you more and more.
Many greetings from sunny Verona!

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Due Torri, combined with 3 nights in Venice. The staff were excellent, friendly and attentive. We were in Verona for the Paul McCartney concert in the Arena, just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Paul and his band were also staying at the Due Torri!! If it's good enough for Sir Paul, it's good enough for anyone!!! Will definitely visit Verona again and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else but The Due Torri.

Room Tip: Our double room was much larger than we are used to. Huge bed, separate area for hanging clothes, hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Due Torri Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Nacny526usa,
thank you for your kind review published on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that your stay at the Due Torri Hotel has been up to your expectations and desires and that you have been able to well appreciate the beauties of our pleasant city also thanks to the strategic position of our Property: near the church of Saint Anastasia, as stone’s throw from Juliet’s famous balcony, Piazza Bra and the Arena. We hope to have you as our welcome Guest again, maybe on occasion of some other concerts in Verona or during the Autumn time... a perfect period to come and visit the city and the lovely Hills around Verona...
Greetings from sunny Verona,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Due Torri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Torri Hotel

Address: Piazza S Anastasia 4, 37121 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Due Torri Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Due Torri Hotel is situated in the historic centre of Verona near the church of Saint Anastasia, as stone’s throw from Juliet’s famous balcony, Piazza Bra and the Arena, known throughout the world.The superb quality of the furnishings and the professional service are highly valued by its illustrious Italian and international clientele, making it the most renowned five-star hotel in Verona.The Hotel - hosted in a XIV century palace, named “Dell’Aquila” - is numbered among the historical dwelling house of the city and it’s member of “The Leading Hotels of The World”.Among the services offered by the structure, Due Torri Hotel is authorized reseller for Fondazione Arena di Verona, with the possibility to buy the tickets for Opera Festival directly by the means of our concierge or booking office ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Due Torri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Torri Baglioni Verona
Due Torri Baglioni Hotel Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Due Torri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.