We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sub-optimal choice for only sleeping tourists” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro to your Saves list
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piave 5, 37135 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A sub-optimal choice for only sleeping tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We decided to spend a long weekend in Verona and being wishful to go around we were strongly committed to use the room only for sleeping. Therefore, the choice was actually driven by price and distance, and clearly drove us to this hotel.

As for the distance, the hotel is 15 min away from the Arena at a walking distance. The hotel is just out of the city wall and close to the train station, at the very beginning of the industrial area. So if you are not lucky, the view could remind you a context described by either Dickens or Chaplin.
Moreover, walking from / to the center implies walking through a dark closed tunnel which does not make you feeling safe, especially at night time. However, distance was fine.

As for the price, we paid more than 100 euro per night, honestly too expensive for the hotel, since facilities and furniture are worn out (I guess 80's style) while rooms are too small.

As for breakfast, I confirm that it is arranged at the Level -2 and drinks are limited with either coffee and juices coming from an instant machine. There is a choice of things to eat but nothing fantastic.

Anyway, the staff is extremely polite and supportive, and all in all this hotel might still be THE optimal solution given the prices of other better hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
Egregio Mr Johnny,

il nostro hotel è dislocato a solo 15 minuti dal centro di Verona ed essendo la nostra una città dove tutto è a portata "di mano", contemporaneamente siamo vicini alla stazione alla fiera e alla zona industriale. Questo in realtà, mi creda, per noi e per la clientela che abitualmente ci sceglie è un plus in quanto siamo praticamente l'OMBELICO di Verona :-)

Riguardo il sottopasso, 20m circa di passaggio, ci stiamo impegnando dall'apertura a renderlo più gradevole. Grazie all'aiuto e al supporto dell'azienda AMIA viene periodicamente pulito, il Comune di Verona ha sistemato definitivamente l'illuminazione dello stesso e, assieme alla collaborazione delle Cartiere Fedrigoni e con l'organizzazione Comunale abbiamo indetto un concorso per far abbellire con murales le pareti del sottopasso. Pensi che sia noi che Fedrigoni abbiamo messo 1000 euro a disposizione del vincitore del concorso. Non poco se si considera che si tratta di un passaggio pubblico e non di nostra proprietà privata. Questo solo per farLe capire che ci teniamo che i nostri clienti stiano bene dentro e fuori il nostro hotel.

Non mi dilungo sul discorso colazione (la cui sala è al piano -2, ma trattasi di ambiente completamente finestrato e con luce naturale), in quanto più volte abbiamo fatto presente che oltre ai distributori automatici c'è un costante servizio di caffetteria espressa (INCLUSA NEL PREZZO) a disposizione di tutti gli ospiti, gruppi turistici compresi. La ringrazio in ogni modo per l'ulteriore puntualizzazione: posizioneremo dei cartelli da oggi per far sì che questo messaggio sia ancora più chiaro.

Cordialmente,
Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    194
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
36
223
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got this hotel for like 30% off.
Good size of room, 15 minute to the city centre of Verona. Good breakfast.
The hotel is just so fab!
You would never regret staying here even if you pay for it full price:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie mille per il Suo commento.

Mi rincuora dopo aver letto la precedente recensione che affermava (chissà mai perché), esattamente il contrario.

Che dire: venite a provarci per capire chi ha realmente ragione.
Vi aspettiamo a braccia aperte !

Saluti,
Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Im not impressed at all the hotel is located very close to a factory area to far away from the center of the old verona. On top of the rooms where worn down and the building looks more like an old factory building, suggest strongly that you find another place to stay!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
Mi spiace leggere il Suo commento "concentrato" e negativo.

Non riteniamo di essere un hotel di lusso ma siamo certi dell'ottimo servizio che offriamo per essere un hotel 4 stelle e fortunatamente parecchie delle recensioni pubblicate lo confermano.

Probabilmente non siamo la struttura che risponde alle Sue esigenze ma dovrebbe anche fare una riflessione sulle nostre tariffe proposte.

Saluti,
Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I frequent Verona on Business ( Lucky me !) and due to a concert my usual hotel was booked out . So we were booked into the hotel Leon . Only 15-20 minute walk to the Arena
Driving up I thought we were staying in a warehouse , but then we arrived in the courtyard. Clean and welcoming . Entering the hotel you are in a huge marbled / tiled reception area quite impressive. Receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Very genuine and not preprogrammed . I checked into my room . Standard room with standard amenities. The room was clean but it seemed like it had better days. Bathroom was clean also seemed to be a bit run down . Get this no cold water in the shower !!
How many times have you read something like that ??
Although the bed was comfortable Sleep was an issue as my room was next to a train yard .
Breakfast was 2 floors down in a big hall .for me it seemed like they had no place to put the breakfast room. Breakfast itself was okay . Not much selection . scrambled eggs were out too long as they had started turning green. Sausages and bacon were Luke warm. Limited cold cereals, Breads etc And cappuccino from an instant machine !!! Most disappointing ! . All in all it my stay was a positive one, but I would still prefer my usual hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Google Translation
Il primo amore non si scorda mai, dicono... per cui comprendiamo che l'essere affezionato al proprio hotel ci possa mettere in secondo piano.

Speriamo che anche i nostri clienti fidelizzati ci riservino lo stesso speciale pensiero che Lei sta riservando al Suo storico hotel.

E chissà, magari quando questo è al completo... a noi fa piacere anche essere la seconda scelta ;-)

Saluti,
Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Excellent hotel with excellent people. A special thanks go’s to Mr Ray the handyman, he was so kind and helpful, he was the meaning of caring about the guests. Sure we will be back . Tina and Tony from Australia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Tina and thank you Tony... but many thanks to our special Ray !

Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This one was a bit of a shock.
Stayed for one night (14th May) with work colleagues.
I normally stay a little closer to the main square, so when I arrived I was a little put out but once we had changed and took a slow walk into the square, I realised it wasn't that far out at all.

Reception staff were very good, very friendly and helpful.
The interior of the hotel is very nice and the bar area has a nice feel to it.
My room was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. Although I stayed for a business trip, I would definitely recommend for couples as well as single travellers.

Breakfast was excellent.

Nice Place - would have no issues with booking this one for a trip to Nogara.
If you aren't very mobile, just have a check on the map. It's not far to the square but you do have to cross some very busy roads.
Not an issue to those who get around without issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kindly words.

See you soon.
Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for three nights Great sized bedrooms and bathrooms - with a bath!
Friendly helpful staff, and a great location. Easy 20 minute walk to the city center.
The food was amazing!! Lunch, dinner and mostly breakfast. Loved everything about this place. Would recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Many thanks.

See you soon.

Barbara Agos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro

Address: Via Piave 5, 37135 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro enjoys an excellent location in the heart of Verona . Located near the most important monuments of this wonderful city, rich in history, culture and art.The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro of Verona is a bright hotel with large open spaces and high-quality furniture, where the light illuminates the pale marble columns and shines in Murano glass chandeliers. The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro of Verona has 190 rooms decorated in a very elegant style and equipped with every modern comfort. The guests will find their bright colors, the intimate and refined details of their interiors, but also the convenience and functionality of available facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Leon d Oro Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.