We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you need a break from pizza and pasta...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Giapponese Kobe

Ristorante Giapponese Kobe
Corso Porta Nuova 101, 37122 Verona, Italy
045 8030722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 944 Restaurants in Verona
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“When you need a break from pizza and pasta...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I always make fun of people who seek Asian food while visiting Europe, as their cuisine is amazing in itself. Today, I find myself apologizing. As much as I love Italian food, there comes a breaking point. My husband and I are getting over colds, so the idea of udon soup sounded amazing. Fortunately, Kobe is located right next door to our hotel. We walked in and were seated immediately. We ordered an appetizer (calamari) to split, two udon soups with five spice, and the "classic" sushi dish. Each dish was served and finished before the next dished arrived, so no sense of urgency finishing everything at once. The calamari was lightly battered and served on a salad with ginger dressing, which was so refreshing. The udon five spice soup had a Japonese curry taste, which hit every taste bud on my tongue - definite chicken soup for the cold. The sushi was good but not the best. Overall, it was exactly what we needed after a week in Italy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    75
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We fell upon this restaurant after a long day walking the streets of Verona. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a change from Italian food ( as we appreciated after 3 weeks of travelling). The atmosphere was great, the service a little slow and the food was spectacular!!! Would definitely go again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ended our holiday on a high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

After pizza and pasta galore we dined at Kobe for something different. Loved it from the moment we walked through the door. Good menu with a wide range of options, reasonably priced, beautifully decorated surroundings and excellent service throughout the night (we stayed most of the evening as we simply didn't want to leave). I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who fancies a break from Italian food or simply wants a great night out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Veneto, Italy
1 review
“excellente in verona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I love Japanese food and have tried many restaurants: so far this is definitely one of my favorites. The atmosphere is elegant and the sushi absolutely great. Excellent service, good presentation. If you try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
“i wanna come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

VERONA I travel through the city, after a nearby restaurant called KOBE, see the introduction of travel magazines, ready to go to taste the world-famous Kobe beef, into this restaurant, the first thing the feeling that the environment is very beautiful, but unfortunately Kobe beef sold out, so I had to try other dishes, the first meal of potatoes and tuna combination is very tasty, and finally coupled with delicious sauce,Next, I and my friends ordered pasta iron, in sufficient quantity, but also eat very full, try the friend their own, such as tempura, very crispy and not greasy. The last dessert is quite distinctive, and before leaving boss gave us a discount, totale, service attitude is good, affordable, have the opportunity to come again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Giapponese Kobe also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Giapponese Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Giapponese Kobe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.