We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but bad location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alliance Hotel Verona

Save Saved
You added Alliance Hotel Verona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alliance Hotel Verona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Unita D'Italia 346 | San Michele Extra, 37132 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 79 hotels in Verona
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cheap but bad location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a place where you can stay maybe for one night only if you have a car -
The hotel is clean but outdated. Though it was cheap, I would not go back there again.

Not the best breakfast! This is not a 4 star hotel... Rather a Motel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    56
    69
    37
    31
See reviews for
19
64
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. At the check-in after 14 hours driving there was a very unfriendly and not helpful guy at the desk. We expected a better welcome. Beds were good, bathroom reasonable, the airco in the room was a bit noisy. Breakfast was really good and the staff (only at the breakfast) was very friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel as a part of our trip in Northern Italy. Having never been to Verona previously we were unpleasantly surprised by the unfriendly receptionist who received us late in the evening. We drove so we chose this hotel despite the location, because it had parking. However it is basically like a motel on the highway (a noisy one) and really not a nice place. Relatively clean, but very outdated. To its credit- it was cheap. But we would probably not repeat a visit there. If you have a car and wouldn't mind the negatives compensated by a low price, you might be ok for a night or 2.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, as we were going to see an opera at the Arena. The room was pretty tiny & there weren't any tea/coffee-making facilities, and the hair-dryer was pretty wimpy & a bit useless. However, there was a room safe included, complimentary shower gel & shampoo & the bed was comfy. Breakfast was a generous buffet, including 3 types of croissant, 3 types of fresh juice, yoghurts, cakes, fruit, toast & bacon & eggs. The staff were friendly & very honest (I left a suede jacket on a chair outside the hotel when we went to the opera, and it was returned to me the following morning), and the restaurant/bar prices & quality was superb (we ate there the first night, and the quality, service standards, and price were all better than expected) - guests get a 15% discount on meals/drinks! This is definitely a good option for the price-conscious traveller (the city of Verona is very pricey, particularly during the opera season), but it's a good idea to allow for taxi fares of around 30 Euros if you plan to visit Verona at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel claims to be a 4 star but the service is close to probably just a 2 star; in fact some 2 stars would shine in comparison with their basic friendliness and helpful service.
The fact that this hotel is a 20-minute bus ride away from the centre was made very clear at the outset. However, for a traveller who lands there blind-sided, the hotel lacks the decency to offer some basic advice on getting around. The buses are twice every hour, a very important piece of information that would help orient you from the start.
The biggest shocker is that the hotel does not even bother to print a map that has the hotel clearly marked on it, so that if the more adventurous traveller would like to get to the centre on foot, they would be completely lost!
The centre is a pretty do-able one-hour walk. However, without basic navigation it becomes a pretty nightmarish journey through the main motorway.
It is the kind of 4 star where the TV goes bust and they make you switch rooms rather than switch TVs. The Internet in the hotel refused to connect, at least while we were there.
This hotel fits in well as a budget option for a few nights' stay in Verona, especially if you have your own vehicle.
Only if you are lucky and get one of the friendlier staff at the reception, your stay could be a fairly pleasant one. Make sure not to take the word of some of the grumpy/unfriendly ones!

Room Tip: The non-smoking rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights with my husband, son and a couple of our friends and their grandson. Very mediocre, but as expected as the price was pretty reasonable. Had no problems with the noise that other reviewers had experienced, and the rooms were adequately clean. The bathroom is very dated, and the shower cubicle a bit grotty, but the air conditioning was a blessing. Breakfast was simple, not much choice, but again OK for the price. On arrival the receptionist was a bit stroppy as I had forgotten to print off my voucher, (so beware!) but the staff in general were pleasant and helpful.
If you are looking for a base to explore the delights of Verona and Lake Garda then this is a reasonable choice.
We took the bus one day into Verona but to be honest the taxis were cheap, much more comfortable and quicker.
Walking is not an option, unless you enjoy dodging the mad Italian drivers on this very busy road.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We traveled with my wife last year to Italy and one of our destinations was Verona which is surprisingly beautiful city. Unfortunately this hotel is one of the worst hotels we have ever visited.

We had expectations because it supposed to be a good 4 star hotel, but apparently it is not 4 star definitely , I could say that it is a 3 star. Also the service is horrible. I have never met so impolite personnel. We asked them some information about the area (where to get some food late at night, if they have a map of the city etc) and i they were nagging in front of us. When we were saying "good morning" or "hello" or anything they did not even reply they were just had an annoying look. It was amazing.

The interior was ok but not for a 4 star room, the bathroom was good and renovated, the windows were so old that when it started raining I thought the air outside would take the windows and the rain would get inside. Also they gave us a room next to the elevator which was extremely noisy.

The fridge was so tiny like the tv. In some countries this hotel could be even a 2 star hotel.

Very bad experience in total , I recommend you to avoid booking here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alliance Hotel Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Verona

Address: Via Unita D'Italia 346 | San Michele Extra, 37132 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alliance Hotel Verona 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 km far from Verona downtown, this hotel is a perfect solution for your next trip to Juliet city and its wonderful surroundings.Easy to access from the airport and the railway station, the hotel provides a free parking and bus stop in front of it. Crossing the main entrance, the perpetual oil-painting gallery welcomes you in the sensation of continuity and depth for those who enter the hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Alliance Hotel Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Verona East
Verona Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alliance Hotel Verona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.