We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad if staff get taught manners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Palio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta Palio to your Saves list
Hotel Porta Palio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Colonnello Galliano 21, 37138 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Verona
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not too bad if staff get taught manners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When the owner's comments start with "We would like to avoid horrible guests too dear sir", I don't think you can expect too much courtesy there. This was indeed our main gripe. Similarly heavy-handed passport processing as described below. Also, what was also mentioned previously, their Internet policy requires you to have a Facebook account to get online. When I came down in the evening and said I have no Facebook but still need the Internet, it provoked a short but entertaining one woman show by the receptionist. Eventually, she gave me some Facebook login so I could pass that artificial barrier and get Internet access.

Next morning when we were checking out, there was a male receptionist but not any better, with a show on his own. He wanted to charge us for the prepaid booking and also for the breakfast. First, the breakfast was never requested. Second, we couldn't even theoretically eat it because we were leaving at 05:00 before it was prepared and served.

The Internet was OK, see below.

|20140803|23:07 [2660/230][ping:73] 46.44.231.88|Welcome Italia S.p.A. (Verona) @ Hotel Porta Palio (Viale Colonello Galliano 21, Verona, 37138, IT)
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3666244852

|20140803|22:58 [4180/290][ping:143] 46.44.231.88|Welcome Italia S.p.A. (Verona) @ Hotel Porta Palio (Viale Colonello Galliano 21, Verona, 37138, IT)

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3666232808

The location appears better on the map than it is in reality. Walking from the Porta Nuova train station takes about 20 minutes. You'll walk to the city centre or drive to the airport in roughly the same time. No public transport in the immediate vicinity.

The rooms are clean and practical so no issues here.

Booked 2 doubles for 1 night at alpharooms.com for EUR 137.34.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest, I apologize if we are not always perfect.
For example sometimes very early morning (5 am) we are a little sleepy and could happen that we don't understand immediately if the guest that is in front of us has already paid. A little misunderstanding, apologies and everything is solved.
Sometimes we get a little tired to fulfill our legal obligations and record the passports of all our guests. It is a bother for the guests to wait some minutes, but it is a very hard job for us too to register names, surnames, dates of birth, places of residence of more than 100 people every day. We can have couple of minutes of discouragement in front of a pyramid of passports, but a nice smile of our guests it is enough to give us back enthusiasm.
Nobody is perfect and we don't claim to be.
Some of our guests help us doing better our job, someone else just notice every single little problem. The first kind comes back home satisfied, the second one complains.
We prefer the first kind of course...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    134
    107
    24
    16
See reviews for
40
165
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dobele, Latvia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Simple, but very nice and clean, close to train station and the best part -the great restaurant in hotel. Restaurant was our main attraction in this hotel, since we ate there even twice. Good access to old city and central parts. Good value!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you very much dear guests for your wonderful review!
Arrivederci a Verona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Spend a little bit more money and try to find somewhere closer to the city. On a highway. Noisy. Dirty. To get into the city you have to walk ten minutes down the highway. Not nice! No bus links (useless - quoted to me by the hotelier) 'free shuttle' only for restaurant guests. Can 'free shuttle' to the station though if you arrive before 18:00.
Double bed was two single beds pushed together. Dated, old fashioned and no a/c. We had the window open and little bugs swarmed the room. Has a minibar which is nice.
The lady at the front desk was very rude. She was having a disagreement with the customers before me so I thought she might just be in a bad mood, but no, this was how she was each time I saw her. When checking in a coach of people turned up. I gave our passports to her for photocopying, then she started to serve the coach. She served 6 people before I asked for my passports back. She said 'can't you see I am busy, you will have to come back later' I said I will not leave my passports with anyone, the coach operator said, it's fine, we will wait and the lady grumbled as she took copies of our details. She said 'I have never stolen a passport' - I am sure she hadn't, I am still not leaving it with anyone. So rude and grumpy!
Avoid this horrible place!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
We would like to avoid horrible guests too dear sir.
You cannot complain about the location of our Hotel cause you've chosen it independently: no one has forced you to choose us if the location wasn't good for you.
We are just 1.8 km from the Arena (source: Google Maps) and everyone can easily check it before booking a room. You can reach the Arena in less than 20 minutes walking.
If you don't want to walk the nearest bus stop is 500 m from our hotel (5 minutes walking).
We treat more than 10.000 passports of our guests every year and we have never lost or stolen any of those. If you're paranoid it is not our fault.
The cleanliness of our rooms can not be questioned: it is simply excellent.
If you leave the window open we can't avoid to flies and mosquitos to come in... Air condtioning end October it is switched off: when the temperature at night it is about 4° or 5° we switch on heating!
What else: we offer a FREE shuttle bus from the station to ALL the guests, from 10 am to 6 pm. It is a FREE SERVICE and we give it for 8 hours a day. Do you want a 24hours free service? Book a 5 stars hotel and pay 600,00 euro per night and maybe you will have it
Our receptionist was rude? Maybe because you are an extremely annoying person...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We were surprised and delighted with the hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. There was, for an additional fee, underground parking for the motorcycles. An elevator made it easy to move our gear in and out. We were walking distance from the center of Verona. This is a great, cost-effective alternative for visitors to the city.

Room Tip: I had to use my Gmail account to access the Wi-Fi. I don't know how one would do it if not havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you very much dear guests!
We hope you have enjoyed a lot your trip around Italy and that you will preserve a wonderful memory of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevgelija, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The hotel is a bit distant from the center, bit it's a nice walk to it; I personally loved it :-). The room was clean and included all the necessities for a three-day trip. A big plus for the hotel is the free of charge shuttle bus. The polite personal need to be mentioned too: thank you guys :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you very much dear Aleksandr, you make us blush...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Clean room, friendly staff. Parking close to hotel seemed a little dodgy (unsafe) but everything was ok (there is a private undergroung parking in the hotel for some charge, though). Close to city center. Good for a short stop in Verona.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive review dear guest!
I apologyze for the apparently unkempt condition of the parking, but this summer it has rained a lot with heavy thunderstorms and the grass has grown up so fast that it has been difficult to keep it always neatly trimmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

A bit like a UK travelodge only even more basic, the beds were a little hard, so best be tired if you want to sleep! The shower worked well although there was a little noise from piping. Best bit was underground parking although it is quite a tight decent in any car! It was clean and quiet and a short walk into the centre of Verona. We did not try the breakfast so cannot comment about that. The staff were bilingual and friendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest, we are a basic hotel, it is correct, we don't hide our nature.
For this reason we want to be judged into the category of basic hotels and what I read in you review is that, to be a basic hotel, we have: 1) very clean rooms, 2) friendly bilingual staff; 3) we are a quite place; 4) we are close to the centre; 5) we have a good underground parking.
If only you have tried the breakfast (you have booked a very cheap room without breakfast included) you should have found it really very good.
This review in my opinion counts more than 3 on 5, because here we are not judging the fact that we are a basic hotel: that is known. We are judging the fact that we are a very good basic hotel that offers more than what is expected!
P.S. The beds are orthopedic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Palio

Address: Viale Colonnello Galliano 21, 37138 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta Palio 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Porta Palio is a modern 3 star hotel located close to the ancient walls of the city center of Verona. Its location makes it extremely easy to get to from the Airport Valerio Catullo (with the Aerobus service - runs every 40 minutes - cost 6.00 euros), from Verona Porta Nuova railway station and the motorway (exit Verona Nord A22 Brenner ). Hotel Porta Palio is located only 15 minutes walk from the 'Arena di Verona', outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Palio Hotel
Porta Palio Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Palio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.