We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Giuseppe Verdi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Giuseppe Verdi to your Saves list
Residenza Giuseppe Verdi
Via Leoncino 21, 37121 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 353 Verona B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would recommend Giuseppe Verdi to experienced travelers. This is a serviced appartment / B&B. The staff were very nice and the breakfast was great. There were a few things that needed repair - for example the toilet paper holder was hanging off the wall - but overall the room was very nicely decorated with very high ceilings. There was a turndown service in the evening, which we didn't expect. It was a nice touch. Our room was on the same floor as the breakfast area. We were the only guests for the weekend, but if there were other guests there, we would have had a lot of noise in the morning. I could clearly hear breakfast being set up starting around 7:15. Perhaps ask ahead of time if you can have a room a floor up. There are Nespresso machines in the guest rooms, though ours needed some attention - it had not been decalcified in quite a while. Also, the saucers to our coffee cups had sugar on them, meaning that they had not been cleaned since the last guest departed. The location is perfect! We were only a 2 minute walk from the Arena and a 5 minute walk from the main shopping streets, though our area was pretty quite. Although a small, narrow street, there is some noise in the room from the passing traffic, but it isn't too bad. I have no idea how this is advertised as a "5 star" which it certainly isn't but we really enjoyed ourselves and would return. I think the room was worth €100/night, but perhaps not the €130/night that we paid.

Room Tip: try not to stay on the same level as the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best thing about this relatively newly furnished 'hotel' is its proximity to the centre of Verona and the Arena (only a 2 minute walk). It's accessed through a big wooden doorway into a courtyard with other businesses. Actually, the entrance is a bit cramped, especially when luggage is being left for collection later-on, or for checking-in later on. I found this to be more like a hostel than a hotel - not that there were any complaints. We were there for the Opera and the location is perfect for that.

The room we were assigned was over two floors, the entrance and bathroom on one level and the very low bedroom on the upper level. The bedroom had a very low ceiling. I could not stand upright. The room was big and the bed was really big and comfortable. It was clean and teh place looked as if was well managed. Breakfast was a bit meager, yogurt from plastic pots, fruit and cake/bread rolls.

We thought it was okay for one over-night as it suited our itinerary in Verona. But I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for stays beyond one night. On the other hand, it's perfect for attending shows in the Arena.

Room Tip: Wear a hard hat if you're tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spent 6 nights at this hotel just recently, and it was a very good experience. The butler was always helpful with any issues that came up, the breakfast was quite small, but good. Since there's only 5 rooms, it's ok that they don't have a very large continental breakfast. The hotel is inside a few gates, and you need 3 keys to get in, so it felt very secure, although the city itself seemed secure as well. It was very quiet as well. Rooms were clean, very good bed and a very good bathroom. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

beautiful rooms, wonderful host, feels like arriving to your house, you get the key, internet passward, a map and they leave you alone. it is the kind of luxury that we all look for.

Room Tip: let them know when you are arriving so they can wait for you as they do not have 24 hours reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel in June for my mother's 60 th birthday and it was wonderful. Fantastic location right in the centre and near the arena, very charming rooms and great breakfast room. I think its great value especially in the high season when the opera is on. But what really makes it is the helpful and friendly staff who wrote us long handwritten letters each morning with their suggestions for restaurants etc.

We went to some great restaurants at their recommendation and were treated very well. All in all an absolutely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked three nights at this location and loved it! We had a little problem when we arrived, but it was our mistake. We needed to advise of our arrival time as there is no on-site manager. We managed to reach the owner by phone, and the house butler met us ten minutes later. This hotel is only a few blocks from the Arena di Verona and is central to almost everything in this charming city. We booked a "deluxe prive" suite which gave us a sitting area, a private bathroom (with very cool light therapy and the biggest rain-shower head ever!), a balcony, and a 2nd level bedroom. This was the most comfortable bed we had in 21 days in Italy. Note to the tall people: the ceiling beams are quite low... my husband and I are both 5'10" and we could not stand fully upright (we managed to avoid bumping our heads too often). The breakfast room was sunny and spacious. And as others have mentioned, great cappuccino! This was the most expensive accommodation on our holiday, but it was definitely worth the cost. If we get to Verona again one day (and I hope to!), I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Ok, so it was a last minute choice as an extremely popular pop star was at the arena that night. That being said, the cost was very high. Our room, called a suite, had no full height walls. We also had no blankets and could not get any past 11 that night. The shower was tiny, the toilet raised so that you could not put your feet on the ground, and luckily we did not need to sleep on the pull out sofa under low lying rafters. The breakfast room was beautiful and our room was clean and seemed new. Bottom line, too much money for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Giuseppe Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giuseppe Verdi

Address: Via Leoncino 21, 37121 Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Giuseppe Verdi is a boutique hotel with luxury apartment & suite, located in a calm and quiet area within a 16th century's palace in via Leoncino. The premises have lately been refurbished and the boutique hotel is located behind the Arena, not so far away from the lively Piazza Brá and Piazza Erbe located in the historic centre. The Residenza Giuseppe Verdi is the ideal "home" for those who want to discover Verona and its large historic heritage, take part in trade fairs and international events which take place throughout the year or just enjoy a romantic weekend in the city of Romeo and Juliet.La Residenza Giuseppe Verdi è un boutique hotel con appartamenti di lusso e suite, situata in una zona tranquilla e silenziosa all' interno di un palazzo del 1600 recentemente ristrutturato di via Leoncino, alle spalle dell' Arena, a due passi dalla vivace Piazza Brá e a pochi minuti dalla centralissima Piazza Erbe, la "Residenza Giuseppe Verdi" è la "casa" ideale per tutti coloro che desiderano scoprire la città di Verona e la sua ricca storia, partecipare alle fiere e agli eventi internazionali che si svolgono durante l' anno o, semplicemente, trascorrere un romantico week end nella città di Romeo e Giulietta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenza Giuseppe Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Giuseppe Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.