We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in the hills a short distance from the old part of Verona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Sommavalle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Sommavalle
Save
You added Agriturismo Sommavalle to your Saves list
Via Sommavalle, 9/a, 37128 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Verona
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in the hills a short distance from the old part of Verona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and it was a wonderful experience. The B&B while initially a bit difficult to find even with a GPS more than made up for that challenge with its spotless rooms, lovely country surroundings and good breakfasts. The bed was really comfortable and the ensuite large. Marco the owner could not have been more helpful with suggestions for dinner, sightseeing, walks..He is so enthusiastic about Verona which comes through in all of his conversations. He works really hard to ensure a good stay, even driving in front of us to show us the perfect free parking spot to explore old town. He runs a small olive oil production of which I was the happy recipient of a bottle from his stock. We would return and highly recommend this B&B for those visiting Verona. Very good value for what you get.

Room Tip: All rooms have views out to the country and the surrounding gardens. All are equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a wonderful find outside of the tourist bustle that is Verona. A bit tricky to find but lovely spot and the family that runs it is very nice. Marco really strives to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Spotlessly clean with lovely decor and good-size rooms. The common areas of the house are also quite relaxing. Our one (minor) issue was the futon mattress on the bed - a little too firm for over-40 somethings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful place. We liked everything - house, room, surroundings and especially our morning conversations with Marco. Marco gave us a lot of tips about best routes, nice places to visit and even about weather. We could reach the center of Verona in 5 min by car. It was very convenient for us because we had tickets to the Opera Festival. Breakfast was not so rich but they served some fruits from the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is absolutely lovely. It is located in a peaceful environment, surrounded by nature, in the hills overlooking the city of Verona. The house garden is a pleasure to walk around (although some lighting at night wouldn't hurt) and the air is just fresh and clean.

Our room was large and had a huge ensuite bathroom with a great shower encased in a spatious niche - very pleasant. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was nice and decent, good selection of breads and other baked goods, cereal & milk, fruit, butter and jam (an extensive variation of the Italian breakfast - not the continental kind).

Marco, the owner, offered great advice on all aspects of our stay and was always eager to help.

The only downside, if any, would be the location of the house. It is by no means within the city but outside of it, in the hills, and it is indeed reachable by bus. If you have a car, there is no problem whatsoever. However, visitors should bear in mind that the bus service is infrequent and stops altogether after 7 - 7:30 PM. So there is absolutely no public transport to Sommavalle in the evening and it is not suitable to walk as the distance and the hike are quite substantial. A taxi ride is about 13 euros from Piazza Bra.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing vacation which I hope to visit again and I would highly recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind the distance from the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A great place up in the mountains above Verona. Very close to the city, yet very peaceful environmet. The host Marco was superb, he went out of his way to make his guests feel welcome. He generously offered wonderful sightseeing tips, restaurants and wine shops. His knows the area very well and his is very helpful. Sommavalle is a modern, nice and clean place. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this beautiful place. Located on a hill above the city of Verona, it's a six minute drive to a free parking lot next to the pedestrian bridge entering the old city. Entering the olive grove after a day of travel is like a vacation within a vacation. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and spotless. The bathroom was huge! Breakfast was delicious with many choices (one night we were the only guests and the full breakfast choices were still laid out in the morning). Owner Marco is the nicest and most helpful host . Every morning he helped us plan the day, offering suggestions of where to visit, eat, etc. We followed all of his advice and had a wonderful time. Reading other people's reviews I saw that our experience was clearly typical of stays at this lovely agriturismo. We certainly would return and we recommend it wholeheartedly to others looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay outside the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Agriturismo Sommavalle was a wonderful place to stay just outside the city of Verona. Located in the hills above the city amidst groves of olive trees, this is a perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Marco the owner is fabulous, with tips on where to park close to the city as well as places to see along the way - he was a great and gracious host. The property is absolutely wonderful and the renovated farm house is magical, and beautifully designed in a comfortable and contemporary way. The bedroom and bathroom are both really spacious and clean. There are just 4 rooms available, giving you the feeling you are at home. Breakfast was far more than we expected and really great. We would love to stay again the next time we are in Verona, and would recommend staying here to our friends and family. Thanks Marco! Denise & Angelika

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Sommavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sommavalle

Address: Via Sommavalle, 9/a, 37128 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Sommavalle (Farm Holidays Sommavalle), Verona. A Few Minutes From Ponte Pietra Bridge, On The Hills Overlooking The Center Of Verona, Romeo And Juliet’S City, This Oasis Of Peace Offers You A Unique Opportunity: Living The Country Side And Enjoying The City!Sommavalle Is Located In Verona Close To The Historical Centre; From Sommavalle You Can Reach The City Centre With The Arena Di Verona, Its Famous Squares (Piazza Erbe, Bra) In Only 4 Kms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Sommavalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.