We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem worth finding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Il Bertoldo

Osteria Il Bertoldo
Vicolo Cadrega, 2/a | Near Piazza Erbe, 37121 Verona, Italy
+39 045 801 5604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 904 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. Family and romantic ambience. Fish and meat dishes. Gluten free.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a rather "non-touristy" area of Verona is the first plus this Osteria has in its favor. You will have to seek it out but you will be happy that you did.

Be sure to make a reservation. We had a small snafu with a miscommunication regarding our reservation not being in the book, it was taken care of immediately and graciously when I produced the written email confirmation. This is a small establishment so I am sure tables are at a premium particularly on a busy Friday evening.

We enjoyed the varied menu that offers a bit of everything. At our table we had everything from risotto "pie", braised octopus, scaloppine of veal, pork medallions with an "apple sauce", ravioli, pasta with a coffee/vodka cream sauce, a mixed seafood pasta and a sorrrento meat/cheese plate. All of which was prepared beautifully and tasted marvellous.

Service was efficient, chef/owner greeted EVERY table. The atmosphere was pleasant without being pretenious. This meal was a wonderful value. Definitely a gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    153
    39
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of our favourite meals in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As the title says, this was one of the best eateries we discovered in Italy. We ventured here on a recommendation from our B&B owner who said its southern-influenced cuisine was his favourite in Verona.

Lovely salted cod balls with chilli chutney, and my main of sliced steak with parmesan was simple but very tasty.

It also has wonderfully rustic decor and good service. Certainly worth seeking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We would never have found this restaurant without the recommendation of Alessandro, our host at the excellent B&B 2 Terraze. It is tucked away in a side street off the usual tourist track but only a three or four minute walk from the hubbub of the busier streets.

Bertoldo is a small restaurant but full of character and the service was friendly and attentive - both from our waitress who spoke excellent English and from the owner who popped out for a chat towards the end of the evening. Having grazed on appetisers with pre-dinner drinks elsewhere, we both went straight into fish dishes as main courses. Both the sea bass and bream were gorgeous and together with a couple of side orders were very filling.

A lovely meal and very good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice little restaurant away from the usual tourist spots in Verona but worth the walk. To be honest, the better restaurants in Verona tend to be away from the Arena & this was no different.
Nice friendly staff & the chef came out to chat & explain that the house special for that evening was a ragu based cannelloni dish native to his home of Sorrento. My friend enjoyed that & the clam farfalle that I had was excellent as well.
Would go back again...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent foode”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

voted by two members of the family as the best meal in the 3 week italy, paris amsterdam trip.
Honest food, well cooked, not pretentious. We are glad we made the effort

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Bertoldo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria Il Bertoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Il Bertoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.