We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regional food and wine in an amazing setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torretta

Antica Torretta
Piazza Broilo 1, 37121 Verona, Italy
045 80.15.292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 867 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Montana
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Regional food and wine in an amazing setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Having eaten here for lunch 3 times, over 3 years when visiting the Verona Arena and Roman Theatre. We have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is charming, with oil lamps and warm terra cotta colors.The waiter was reserved but helpful in selecting a regional Valpolicella wine. You are greeted with a glass of prosecco and the menu provides the best in Northern Veneto regional cooking. The fois gras and chilled antipasto de pesche assortito were shared by four of us, and two of us had primi courses--excellent pasta with duck ragu and light gnocchi al fromaggi with walnuts. Our secondi piatti were outstanding. Two had duck breast, another veal cheek and I enjoyed fegato alla veneta with grilled polenta. We ended with an orange sorbet and caffe.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    200
    50
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A GOOD EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

A very good meal, superb fresh homemade pasta - with a see through glass kitchen. The decor and ambiance is exceptional, the only disappointment was the head waiter who obviously did not want to be there and was lacking in personality. We would still return !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Most Delightful Evening Had by All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This wonderful restuarant was recomended by a very close friend of ours who lives in Verona, and is very much a local expert in the culinary delights of his home town.
The restuarant sarroundings alone are typical Italian and tastfully laid out.
Our food was just as equaly amazing to look at with great presentation and thought gone into all of our dishes.
Our dinner party of six chose a varied selection of dishes from the menu and we all enjoyed sharing around, tasting each other's dishes to compare. We all very much agreed that the food prepared and served here was the finest in Verona. You would have to go a long way to find anything near as good.
Thank you to all the lovely staff who made us feel most welcome and could not do enough to please us all.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Having visited Italy on many occasions and eaten in many Italian restaurants I have to say I found the Torreta Excellent from the friendly service to the fantastic food. The knowledge of the waiter Manuel in choosing the wine was eye opening the tartar was the best I have ever eaten followed by rissoto with black tartufo was a delight . I will definitely go back and highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to eat well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Did not live up to recommendation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having received a recommendation from our Hotel and read mostly good reviews of Antica Torretta, we were looking forward to our meal there. Indeed, it started well with a glass of Prosecco each and our first courses arriving promptly. However, then it started to go downhill. We waited ages for our second course, while others around us who had arrived later, seemed to be already eating theirs. When it arrived, my wife's pork dish (piglet) had virtually no meat and the skin was soft and fatty. My Chateaubriand was cooked rare, as requested, but it was cold and I suspect had been waiting to be served. However, we had waited so long that we decided to make the best of it. None of the staff asked if our food was OK, even though my wife clearly struggling to eat hers. When our plates were cleared I told the waitress how disappointed we were and she just shrugged her shoulders! We had read that the staff can be arrogant and the service slow. Unfortunately, our experience bore that out and we left promptly and unhappy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Torretta also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Antica Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Torretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.