We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, comfortable accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Gheller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Gheller to your Saves list
B&B Gheller
Carmelitani Scalzi 1, 37122 Verona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 353 Verona B&B and Inns
Vermont, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely host, comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at B&B Gheller on either end of a trip to the Dolomites. Fiorenza is a sweet and helpful host. She was so patient with our lack of Italian language, and we used google translate a lot. When a general strike postponed our departure for 2 days she extended our stay at a discount. The apartment is very clean and comfortable, and the rooftop garden terrace is a great spot. The ceilings slope, so taller guests need to pay attention or you will bump! Verona is one of our new favorite spots in Italy - a lot to do and see. The apartment is an easy walk from all the attractions, as well as the train station. We would definitely return to B&B Gheller!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
81
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at B&B Gheller. Excellent B&B easy walking distance from train station where the shuttle bus from airport drops you off and easy walk into centre of Verona. Lovely roof garden perfect for enjoying breakfast and a drink or two! Fiorenza is a great host very quick with e-mails and replying to any questions we had, speaks limited english but that was no problem at all and we met her daughter on our last day who talks very good english. Verona is a great city to visit the centre is car free so no worries about darting across roads! We also saw George Michael in concert in the arena it was amazing surreal sitting in a old gladiator arena listening to George M! Also took a 15 min train ride to Lake Garda well worth a visit and took a boat trip on the Lakes. Would highly recommend a stay here and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've been there in summer 2009 and again in summer 2011.
Easy and fast booking (obviously, if done in proper time), fast, detail and satisfying communication with the owners (a very very kind women).
The flat is perfectly equipped and furnished, it feels like you're at your own home, at easy walking distance from the very centre of Verona.
There's also a lovely small roof garden you can enjoy with good weather.
If you really want to look for negative sides, the ceiling is a bit low in some rooms, especially the bathroom (it is an attic): so, mind your head!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for 3 days in the B & B Gheller. The B & B has an excellent location. A few steps from the railway station and from the arena and the historical centre of Verona. The room is a spacious apartment with clean bathroom, kitchen, dining place and terrace. The host is very kind and she gave us many tips to go out eating of for the apperitivo in the evening. We enjoyed our stay in Verona and the performance of Nabucco. If we would go back next year we would stay again in B & B Gheller.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely 3 night stay at B&B Gheller. The apartment was spotless and it was lovely to have such a large space to ourselves...far better than a hotel room. It was an easy ten minute walk to the Arena and another ten minutes walk in the opposite direction to the train station.

Fiorenza was a very helpful and gracious host. The apartment was cleaned every day breakfast supplies replenished. Food supplied for breakfast is cereal (cornflakes), bread (there is a toaster), cheese spread, preservatives and some pastries. This would have been substantial but as we had the use of a fridge and cooker we bought eggs, salami and yogurt to bulk it up. Fiorenza also supplied us with cartons of juice, a bottle of water every day and sweets.

We had such a nice stay there that I don't have any negative comments to add. Fiorenza's English is very, very limited (although ten times better than our Italian was!) but we were able to communicate through google translator (she used this in her emails to us before our trip) and once there we got by on expressive hand gestures and little notes she had written in English. For us her lack of English was not a problem.

Perhaps however on this note the one thing I would advise future guests on is to bring a map with you as we found Fiorenza's directions from the train station to the apartment very confusing! She told us to go right at the church but didn't say which of the many busy roads to the right of the church we should take! A print out of a detailed google map with street names on it is a very good idea.

Verona is a beautiful city (go to the opera if you get a chance, well worth it, but bring a cushion to sit on!) If we were to go back there we would definitely stay at B&B Gheller again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We are family of 4 - 2 kids aged 7 and 4 and we found this B&B to have an excellent location - in between Verona Arena and Porta Nuova Train station. It took us no more than 10min walk to reach either. In 20 we would be underneath Juliet's balcony:) passing across the main shopping area. Plenty of restaurants. Rooms were clean and we were all able to sleep comfortably. We had 2 single beds and 1 double in one room which was fine for us. Breakfast was continental (typical Italian) with plenty of toast, crossiants, tea/coffee and juices. Landlady was very nice in providing us with heaps of water as it was 37C in the shade!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife, I and my daughter spend 3 nights at the B&B GHELLER, June 2011 and were delighted with the location, the rooms, the staff assistance and would recommend it to anyone. The couple who run the B&B are incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Gheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gheller

Address: Carmelitani Scalzi 1, 37122 Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Gheller is a small independent attic apartment composed by a double bedroom with extra bed and private bathroom with shower. It is simply furnished and comfortable. The B&B overlooking the central terrace. The B&B is a five minute walk from Arena, the most important cultural sights and the railway station. The price include traditional italian breakfast, air conditioned, tv, radio, Kettle, internet wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Gheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Gheller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.