We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante 12 Apostoli

Ristorante 12 Apostoli
Corticella S.Marco,3, 37121 Verona, Italy
045.596999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 867 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was a special meal for a small group. The starters and mains were generally very good, except that the sturgeon dish lacked identity. The starter of tiger prawns with a saffron sauce was excellent. The main swordfish and scallop skewer was also very excellent. These two dishes were a great combination. Wasn't impressed with desserts, they looked fabulous but were generally non-descript which is reflected in the rating. The wine was good and the sommelier spot-on, he was baffled by the taster...but hey, she had us all baffled! The service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    99
    29
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a very posh restaurant if you have a bit of money to spend I recommend it. It is expensive but it is probably the best place in Verona. I would say around 120 Euros would cover a couple but it is well well worth it. Like most places in Verona it is an old building with links to a Roman past ( you even get a little tour of the canteen/wine cellar beneath the restaurant. The food here really is quality and the service perfect. If you fancy a treat go here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Typical Verona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fantastic food! Beautiful restaurant........such a fabulous atmosphere!
Waiters are very attentive, but great fun too- they were great with my 7 year old daughter! The food is very typical of Verona......fresh local meat, fish and veg. Menu a little high-brow for kids, but they were only too happy to prepare a simple pasta dish for my daughter.
Sweet trolleys (there are 3!) are full of home-made desserts typical of the region!
Local wine was delicious! You have to go!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A wonderfully theatrical evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant has been in existence for 260 years (I think that's what they said) so they must be doing something right. A couple of dining rooms in a historic building just off the Piazza delle Erbe, with a painted ceiling and coat hooks/hat shelves along the walls, lovely table linens and glasses. Super-professional, friendly waiters who brought us a glass of prosecco as soon as we sat down and then a great plate of assorted breads. We had seen the amazing dessert trolleys at the entrance so went straight for main courses: turbot with pistachios and grilled radicchio for me and sea bream baked in a salt crust for my husband. This meant a wait of 20-25 minutes so they brought us a small plate of pasta to keep us going! Not that we would have minded at all waiting, since both fish were absolutely delicious. Almost impossible to choose a dessert but we just about managed to force down a pandoro (local traditional Xmas cake) and a passion cake with crystallised fruits. This is very high-quality cooking - and the visit to the cellar and the Roman sewer were the icing on the cake.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food, ambience, humour and archeology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were three couples that visited the restaurant on a recommendation from a friend. We were overwhelmed by the quality and sophistication of the food, the good jokes of the staff, and the whole environment of the restaurant.
What made the evening exceptional was the visit that the owner proposed to us to the underground cellar, where 22 years ago they discovered traces of roman and medieval temples and constructions.
The restaurant also sponsors a literary prize, awarded every year to a known (at least in Italy) figure. However, North Americans also find their way there (Bill Gates, Henry Winkler, Hemingway)
We recommend warmly this place to anyone that likes a gourmet meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante 12 Apostoli also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante 12 Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante 12 Apostoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.