We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step by Step: How to reach this hotel from Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Venezia

Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Venezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruga Do Pozzi 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Step by Step: How to reach this hotel from Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

FROM VENICE SAN MARCO AIRPORT: Walk out the front entrance of the airport terminal and turn left. You will see a long walkway with a white arching awning above most of the walkway. Follow this walkway for a long distance. There will be some signage posted along the way re: the docks. The dock is on the left and is obvious once you arrive at the end of the walkway. Walk to the last hut along the piers where you will find a sign "Alilaguna" on the bottom of the hut, facing you as you walk toward it. Buy a ticket at the hut (one way or R/T) for the Alilaguna BLUE LINE to Fondamente Nove (was 15 Euro one way per person at the time of this writing). Once you board the water bus, your first stop will be Murano. Continue to the second stop, F.te Nove (Fondamente Nove). As you walk off the small dock platform, if you look to the left, you will see steps going over a bridge. Do not go this direction as this is the wrong direction. Instead, turn right and walk about 15 paces. You will turn left onto the first walkway. At the time of this writing there is no label on the street - no street sign, however, there is a house address in faded black numerals of 4886 above the doorway. As you walk down this "calle" you will see Tortuga Pizza rather immediately on the right with some tables out in front. As you walk further ahead, you will find a large white church on the left with ornate old cement looking scuptures on the roofline and tall white columns. There is a sign just to the left of the front door that reads "Chiesa di S. Maria Assunta (Gesuiti). Walk about the same distance further down this calle and you will see steps directly in front of you that will cross a canal. Do NOT cross the canal, rather you will see a small black old fashioned public water fountain/faucet on the right of the walkway. Turn right at this corner, and walk straight ahead following along the canal for about 120 paces. You will take the first bridge on the left. As you cross over the bridge, you will be on Calle Zanardi. As you walk down Calle Zanardi, there will be a slight zig-zag in the street (left then right). Follow the street to a bridge. On the left before the bridge, there will be a sign that reads Ponte S. Andrea / Calle Zanardi. Go over the bridge. Continue down the street to the very end. It looks like you will run into the canal. The hotel is on the right although it does not have much signage that it is a hotel. There is a UNA HOTEL sign above the door and an address of 4173 to the left of the doorway. You have made it...

We had room 204. It was spottlessly clean, 15 foot ceilings, A/C works perfect, spacious, has a double length balcony (one of only a few in the hotel). This room overlooks the "calle" you walked down to the hotel and you can see the canal. Rooms 202 and 203 overlook the canal. Room 203 is a suite that overlooks the canal with a balcony, however we were not able to look into them to see the size. The hotel is very well cleaned and appointed and the entire hotel is cooled nicely.

The breakfasts consist of scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausages along with cereals, yogart, and other cheeses, small pastries, fruit, and juices. Various coffees are served. There are very modest - minimal snacks served from 2:30 to 10PM with wine served with small sandwiches from 6-8PM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    165
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
109
425
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have to confess to being a little surprised by the gushing reviews about this property. Maybe that's because I don't know what constitutes a property of a high standard in Venice. Look, I can't help but think that for this price - averaging around 400 Euro per night - I could have stayed in a Suite in a 5 star property in Santorini overlooking the caldera. In high season.

Anyway, then again, I guess I stayed in a city that seems a more sophisticated version of Disneyland, albeit a very beautiful version.

The directions given by the hotel are clear, and once you get to the Ca D'oro Vaparetto stop it's not that difficult to find. As others have said, the hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, but not far from the unrelenting crowds and tack of the Strada Nuova (if that's your thing). There are some good restaurants/bacari around the hotel (check the UK Telegraph's app/website) which are not as obviously touristy (but nevertheless full of tourists, of course).

The front of desk staff are generally lovely and astonishingly multilingual and always willing to help with directions, restaurant bookings and recommendations.

My room, however, which was an 'executive' was not at all as it appeared on the UNA Hotel website. It was akin to a Novotel/Travelodge 'standard' room with a few 'Venetian' touches, albeit not very convincing ones. It overlooked a dire little square, had no balcony or beamed roof and the only thing stopping me requesting another room was the presence of a tired couch, which seems to be the only distinction between a 'superior' and 'executive'. Yes, seriously.

Breakfast was a bun-fight unless you ate early and consisted of the standard range of cereals, yoghurt and fruit (tinned peaches and prunes - yum yum). For the hot selection: aged scrambled eggs, burnt bacon (sometimes) and some tinned sliced 'continental' sausages. Good selection of juices and sometimes they had prosecco, sometimes not. Smoked salmon was there on one day and then not on the others. I presume it was rationed.

In what was seemingly a policy of environmental 'sustainability', they rationed the in-room amenities to the very minimum and did not replace or give them to you unless you asked. Likewise, the laundering of the towels and bedsheets. Which is all very well, but it just smacks of stinginess.

Because I booked directly through the property, I did not have to pay for WiFi, which was of woeful quality, particularly as I needed it for work and to book onward travel.

The gratis afternoon buffet/aperitivo was appreciated although I only took advantage of it once - as you would hardly want to take it in Venice, even if it's free, in the somewhat miserable breakfast room (sorry - "UNA Cafe") when there are so many other options.

Also, for those to whom these things matter, the laundry rates were absolutely through the roof (see photo).

I'm sorry to say that this was the worst property in which I stayed in Italy and by far the most expensive. It also did not come close to the quality of the UNA Napoli property.

Room Tip: Perhaps asked to see the room first and do not hesitate to ask for another if you are not happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr SoDizzy,

We deeply appreciate your opinions . It's important to receive either positive or negative feedback in order to improve our standard. This allow us get more and more customer oriented.


We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

All our rooms are furnished in the typical Venetian style with silk and brocade tapestry both for the walls and furniture and enhanced by Murano glass chandeliers and lamps to render a Venetia atmosphere.

In addition to basic amenities, there is a list of 15 extra – products such as bath salt, exfoliating glove, dental care set, shaving set, manicure set, sewing kit, bathrobe etc. that can satisfy the main clients needs and can be requested at any time (available for all room typology from the single to the suite). Some rooms face Ruga Do Pozzi, a typical sunny medium sized square that forms the urbanization of Venice. From what stated , you did not ask for changing your room . We would have been more than glad to show you our availability and provide the best available solution for you.

We are sorry you found a shortage in the food during breakfast time . It is possible that there had been a delay in replacing the missing products due to the fact that being fully booked everyday during your stay all the clients had breakfast at the same time, however we can assure you that the hot products are cooked daily. We hope you had the opportunity to ask for what was missing.


We hope to welcoming you as our honourable guest once again and hope to have the opportunity to meet the expectations we were not able to fulfil the first time.

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived in Venice by train from Rome, very confusing to get to get anyplace on your first visit. Luckily I had written directions from the hotel wesite, had to take a shuttle boat to the dock where the hotel is located, had to walk and drag our bags over 2 small bridges, don't bring large bags. The hotel is small, but very nice, rooms and bath are well kept, staff very friendly. The plus was that they served a nice breakfast, had afternoon snacks with wine and dinner time food and wine always available, a very nice touch. The UNA is a very nice hotel, just do your homework on Venice, beautiful but a lot of walking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

easy to find, tucked away but not too far from Rialto bridge. For a single occupancy was surprisingly comfortable spacious room, almost double sized bed, big bathroom, good facilities, and appreciated small touches (slippers/bath robe/toiletries). Nice breakfast and especially welcome afternoon tea & biscuits, as well as wine and snacks in the evening. Very accessible location (even with the public transport strikes!), easy walk to almost everything, and close to a quiet beautiful canal. Helpful friendly staff. Very close walk to the Alilaguna stop for transfers to the airport and to Murano island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Anu-CT,

thank you very much for sharing with us your positive impressions regarding your stay at Una Venezia. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the services we offer our clients.

Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you during your next holiday please have our

Best regards

Ludovica Tomasi
UNA Hotel Venezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located in a very nice quiet part of Venice. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is lovely. Breakfast is good and the complimentary afternoon/evening snacks are a very nice touch. The staff are friendly and very helpful, especially Neda who helped us make arrangements when our flight was cancelled. I would stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Really friendly staff, afternoon mini-buffet with juices & wine included, away from S. Marco but that's what we wanted, a pleasant shopping avenue between it and the Grand Canal. (1 bridge for cases if you vaparetto to Ca'd'ora station).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel that once we found it ! We really were made very welcome. The room we had was a classic which if we had been staying any length of time would have been too small, however the room facilities (bathroom, bed etc) were very good and very comfortable.

The hotel offers snacks in the afternoon which is great when you are tired and breakfast is very good. The staff are a delight and will help in any way.

Highly recommend this hotel it's a very short walk from here into town through beautiful Venice

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Venezia

Address: Ruga Do Pozzi 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNA Hotel Venezia, precious pearl in the Lagoon, is a luxurious hotel located in the historical and lively Cannaregio district, close to the most important tourist sites. The prestigious building has been restored to the ancient grandeur in the classic Venetian style and features 37 gorgeous rooms and a rich American Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your UNA Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.