We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a beautiful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Venezia

Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Venezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruga Do Pozzi 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a beautiful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our 7th trip to Venice and our 2nd stay at this hotel. It is so friendly and relaxing! We were upgraded to an executive room free of charge, immediately we arrived. The room was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. The afternoon/ evening buffet which was free was just what was needed after a day's sightseeing! Coffee and biscuits, plus wine. We loved the Prosecco. The breakfast is the best we have had in Venice. Good location, off the beaten track from main tourist attractions but in a bustling locations with plenty of restaurants to try. We will certainly go again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    165
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
109
424
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This was my fourth trip to Venice and this was by far the best hotel i stayed at.

Everything was perfect. The breakfast is very good, and the afternoon drinks and snacks welcomed after a long day of exploring. Very quiet location close to the Rialto. They even supply umbrellas.

The staff even surprised us with a personal note and a tray of cookies in our room for my wife's birthday. I hadn't told them anything about it: they noticed the birthday cards she had opened for the occasion.

Note: at high tide during the aqua alta season, you'll need boots to cross a shallow low point to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Una celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. From the helpful and professional attitude of the staff to the comfort and splendour of our room we couldn't have been more delighted. The provision of complimentary tea, coffee and pastries during the afternoon which was supplemented by wine, prosecco, spirits and soft drinks from 5ish made the dining room an ideal, social environment and meeting place where we met and chatted to many other guests. We arrived by boat from the airport and reached the hotel in just a few minutes and whilst the Grand Canal was only moments away in the other direction the hotel is situated in a peaceful, very convenient oasis between the two. Thank you to everybody at the hotel for making our trip such an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a high standard but our room, 110, was excellent.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Wildacre,

thank you very much for your positive review concerning our Hotel. We are glad in reading that our clients appreciate our efforts in making their stay an enjoyable one.. The very idea , when we decided to arrange the buffet in the afternoon, was that of creating a social meeting point for the clients to get acquainted each other, to exchange Venetian tips and resting after a long day sipping a glass of wine or tasting one of our first quality herbal the.


Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you another time, please have my best regrads.

Paolo Vianello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have remarked, this hotel is quite off the beaten path, yet very convenient to reach (it doesn't take more than 15-20 minutes walking from the train station, and only 5 minutes from the Fondamenta Nove dock, if someone uses the Alilaguna waterbus from the airport).
The room we had was adequate for a 4-star hotel. What makes me recommend this hotel is the excellent, very abundant breakfast, as well as the free snacks and drinks (including wine!) offered every day from 2 to 10 pm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a short 2 night break in Venice. The hotel is really well located in a more residential area which we liked as you are away from all the hustle and bustle (we went in August when the city is REALLY busy!). The hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean so a great base. The breakfast was also lovely. No complaint, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Venice and can't praise the hotel and city enough. The hotel is conveniently located for the ca d'oro valporetto (4 minute walk) which leads you to a plethora of beauty and history. The hotel is nothing to look at externally, the rooms we had (502/503) were functional and a little cramped. Located on the ground floor with little external lighting to illuminate the room doesn't detract from the comfort of the room and the service we received.

The staff are lovely and efficient, with no request to much hassle. What really sets the staff and hotel apart though is the welcoming and continual buffet they lay on throughout the day,from 2:30 until 10:30 the staff provide for all guests a continuing stream of sandwiches, biscuits, coffee, nice wine, prosecco and bar snacks.

A lovely hotel, with great staff and a beautiful city. We will return to only to Venice but to the hotel una Venezia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We chose UNA Venezia for our late October stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. Our flight landed at Marco Polo in the morning and we took the Alligaluna Blue Line to Fondamente Nuove. We had seen that the "acqua alta" had caused St. Mark's Square to flood two days before our arrival, so we phoned the hotel the morning of our flight from the US to ask if we could roll our suitcases to the hotel from the dock without going through water, and were assured we could. It's not more than 10 minutes from the Blue Line stop to the hotel, but there are two unavoidable bridges with 8-10 steps each way up and down before reaching the hotel door. It may be possible to get to the hotel from the Ca Doro vaporetto stop with just one bridge to cross, but taking the Alligaluna is more convenient from the airport.

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay of just two nights, and made sound recommendations for restaurants that were not tourist traps. The breakfast room/bar was a real treat in this expensive city. We enjoyed hearty hot breakfasts each morning, with a nice variety of foods; coffee and cappuccino were made promptly by a friendly attendant. In the late afternoons we enjoyed finger food sandwiches as well as prosecco and white wine served without limit. Both were included in the room rate. Because we booked directly from the UNA website, we had internet access included in the room rate. Other reviewers have noted that the wifi is expensive, but by booking direct (at no greater cost) the internet charge can be avoided.

One afternoon we enjoyed a very friendly chat with Paolo, the General Manager of the hotel, who took time to speak with us about the city where he and his family live. It was good to hear from a proud Venetian about the advantages of life in this amazing city. He is busy as you would expect the GM to be, but if you can catch him when he has a few minutes you'll enjoy hearing what he has to say.

The room was very pretty, with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. It had a balcony overlooking the Ruga Do Pozzi, with a view to the small canal along the side of the building. We asked for a room on the second floor since the stairway leads directly from it to the lobby level. We knew from other reviews that rooms on the first floor can be reached only via the lift.

We liked the location just a short walk from the Strada Nova, but far enough away from St. Marks Square that we never felt part of the tourist throngs. When we took a gondola ride from the Rialto Bridge, the gondolier soon brought us into the Cannaregio and we enjoyed seeing "our" neighborhood from that new perspective.

We would stay here again on a future trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have direct stairway access to and from the lobby; rooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr Bill K,

it has been a pleasure for me as well having the chance to talk to you and your wife. I consider a big resource the opportunity to meet our clients and collect personally their sensation about the hotel.

Yours faithfully

Paolo Vianello
General Manager
UNA Hotel Venezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Venezia

Address: Ruga Do Pozzi 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Venezia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNA Hotel Venezia, precious pearl in the Lagoon, is a luxurious hotel located in the historical and lively Cannaregio district, close to the most important tourist sites. The prestigious building has been restored to the ancient grandeur in the classic Venetian style and features 37 gorgeous rooms and a rich American Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your UNA Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.