We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at easy in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Casa Baseggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Casa Baseggio to your Saves list
B&B Casa Baseggio
Cannaregio 3556 - Corte Nova, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Barcelona, Venezuela
1 review
“at easy in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It's a nice and 'cozy' place in the heart of Venice but at the same time not too much in the crowded center of the city, that you can easily reach with a few minutes walking.
Service is good, complete breakfast western style with excellent italian coffee.
The owners are always kindly available to give advice for places to visit, restaurants and especially local 'osteria' where you find typical Venice's dishes. There is also the possibility to cook in the room if you don't want to go out.
Few minutes walking from the vaporetto and 20 from railway station, is easy to reach with the good map that Marco, the owner, provide before.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
86
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Room was bright, very confortable and clean, with nice bathroom and wonderfull view on the green coutyard!
Breakfast on the terrace was so pleasant and Marco, as a perfect guest, gave us very usefull advises for restaurants and itineraries around not touristic secret Venice.
The location is close to center but very quite! Perfect for Venice.
Thanks Marco and Alessandra
We will be back!

Room Tip: green courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Beautiful B&B with lovely rooms, plenty of space, and a great bathroom. Great location and the website directions are spot on. A couple of tips - if you want to dine at reccommended restuarants make sure you book. Every place was booked out while we were there, and unfort the places we ate at nearby were not good. Marco has a central aircon control, and will switch the aircon off in the rooms if he thinks you have used it too much, we found that it was switched off while after 8.30am both mornings, which was tough given that we tend to turn it off overnight to save on power and turn it on when we start moving about. Packing with no aircon meant we were very sweaty before our 30 hour flight home. Other than that - perfect! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianniVeneto, Proprietario at B&B Casa Baseggio, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
I'm sorry you had problems with the air conditioning. I swich off the air conditioning every morning, just from 8.30 to 10.00, during the breakfast time, for the energy power reasons. Nobody till now have complained it, also because the breakfast time is the fresher time of the day. Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We'd been told that getting around Venice by water can get very expensive so we wanted to find a place where you could easily walk to different sights and places to eat (we like to walk!) This is a place where you can do exactly that. Situated in the Cannaregio area it is quiet and very picturesque, and near great restaurants frequented by locals. Its a 10 minute walk to the Rialto bridge, and 20 to San Marco square, but believe me, when you see the crowds of people there (we went in July) you'll be glad to be staying somewhere tucked away from the noise!

We paid 90 euros for a double, which gives you a spacious room, air conditioning and a beautiful breakfast on a sunny terrace. The host Marco is super friendly and fluent in English, and he'll give you great tips on where to go and eat - his tips were priceless! We travelled around Italy for 3 weeks and ate some of our best food in Venice. 'Paradiso Perduto' on the nearby Fondamenta della Misercordia had stellar pasta.

Our only (small) grievance was that at the time there was some construction work being done next door, though the noise was minimal and only started after 9am. Another thing I suggest is to get a proper map of Venice! We found walking Venice's labyrinth alleys a great experience, but you're bound to end up lost once or twice!

When we went in July it was also the time of the Art Bienniale - ask Marco for nearby galleries to visit, Venice is an art city after all. If you like contemporary art (there's no classic stuff here) don't miss the Palazzo Grassi!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. The main plus point for us was that the area the B & B is in, Cannaregio, was so quiet and peaceful compared to the hecticness of Venice in general in July, whilst being very easily accessible to all the areas you'd want to visit! The hospitality (breakfast) was great and the room itself i.e. air-con and bathroom were great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Casa Baseggio is a lovely oasis in a quiet part of Venice. Marco's restaurant and other tips helped make my stay in Venice a very enjoyable one. I loved sitting out on the pretty terrace for breakfast. Marco is keen to ensure his guests have a good experience in Venice and thanks largely to him and his invaluable advice I loved my stay. I stayed in the ground foor suite with a separate bedroom and sitting area. The little kitchen is really handy and everything was spotless. Thanks Marco - a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at Casa Baseggio. The room on the ground floor is very spacious and clean, and reasonably priced for Venice. It was a great little oasis in the middle of Venice. It was especially nice to chat with the owners Marco and Alessandra at breakfast, as well as fellow travellers. They had great restaurant and tour recommendations. The garden was beautiful. Bassegio is a great place for travellers who want to get the local flavor rather than stay in a vanilla Hilton or Westin that could be anywhere in the world. What was especially nice was that we decided to come into Venice a day early and although Marco didn't have a room for us a day earlier, his brother did at his guest house. So, it really felt like extended family going the extra mile to accommodate us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Casa Baseggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Baseggio

Address: Cannaregio 3556 - Corte Nova, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center, Casabaseggio is situated in the wing of an ancient building which was part, already in 1300, of a Franciscan convent. From the terrace where in the summer breakfast is served is possible to enjoy the peace of the garden which was constituting an ancient cloister and is also possible to notice through the cypresses the very ancient Abbey Of The Mercy (Abbazia della Misericordia). The rooms with bathroom are elegantly furnished and provided with all the modern comforts (TV, air conditioning, fridge, hair-dryer, sound-proofing, free WI-FI). It’s possible to add one bed for babies and children up to 4 years old who are lodged free of charge. Breakfast is typically continental, with some Venetian speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Casa Baseggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Casa Baseggio Hotel Venice
Bed And Breakfast Casa Baseggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Casa Baseggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.