We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average but not exactly very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria - Enoteca Ai Artisti

Osteria - Enoteca Ai Artisti
Fondamenta della Toletta Dorsoduro, 1169/A, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
+39 041 523 8944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $49 - $123
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro
Description: Only Telehone booking is recommended. For delays or problems, please inform us by telephone NO EMAIL After 10 minutes late, if you don't call,we consider the reservation canceled and the table will be reassigned.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Better than average but not exactly very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Gary and I made our reservation months ago via email based on the tripadvisors' review.
I submitted personal preference of table and we got what we asked for.
Our waiter was new (I guess) so he is kind of stressed out.
The manager (he never put his name down on emails) remember our reservation and he is rather eager and polite once he have all the drinks and wine order in place for each table.
The place is quite busy and next to a bakery :) Like many local restaurants in Venice, it is not easy (but not hard) to locate. We took the water bus and walk like 10 min to get there.
Food is pretty decent but not exactly very good. I guess if they can spend more time to explain the menu would help us to pick the right choice.
Not too expensive but I would rather visit Osteria Antico Giardinetto.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    146
    37
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food we have eaten in Italy, great atmosphere & location, friendly and efficient staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We ate here 2 nights as the food was so fresh and excellent. Everything on the menu is fresh from the market, and the tastes are superb. We enjoyed it so much the first night we had to go back. The outside table beside the canal, and the people passing by added to the atmosphere. You definey need to book here, but it is well worth it - best food we have had in Italy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice piazza, good service, good food, nothing spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our meal, it was good, nothing to write home about. The service was good, location excellent. We really preferred that part of Venice. Not much else to say - like all the places we ate in Italy - very average food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely tiny gem in Venice next to a small canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this restaurant based on favorable TA reviews. We emailed for an 8 PM reservation at least one month in advance but were told they only had 9 PM available, which we took. This place is located not far from the Accademia vaporetto stop and so is easily reached via public transit in Venice. We were seated inside of the tiny restaurant, which had about half-a-dozen tables inside and several outside next to a small canal. The walls were all lined with bottles of wine which was quaint. We were seated beside an elderly couple at that next table and next torches were three children less than 8 playing cards. We later found out they belonged to the staff and owner and they were very well behaved during our time there. This added to the ambiance and made it seem like we were eating at someone's home, which is very Italian.

We ordered a mixed seafood appetizer with local shrimp, cod mousse, and cooked cuttlefish roe. It was very tasty and a little different. Our pasta courses included one with a tomato ricotta sauce and one with clams, both of which were great. The mains included fresh local sea bass, one with a lime sauce and the other with potatoes, and grilled squid stuffed with shrimp. These were all very good and enjoyed by all. Our waiter was very helpful in choosing a bottle of wine which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The ambiance of the restaurant was very quaint and made the meal that much more enjoyable. For four we spent about 200 Euros including wine, but without dessert. We felt this was good value and would highly recommend this restaurant to any visitors to Venice. Be aware that it is not very fancy but the atmosphere is charming, authentic and the staff took a lot of pride in the quality and preparation of their food. We will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Venice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Superb restaurant, great food, friendly staff and wonderful setting. It is very small and reservations are a must, we stumbled across it one afternoon, but had to make a reservation for the following evening as that night it was fully booked. Generally we found a lot of restaurants in Venice were aimed at tourists and the quality was poor, however this seemed to attract a more local clientele

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria - Enoteca Ai Artisti also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria - Enoteca Ai Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria - Enoteca Ai Artisti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.