We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food with strict rules and finicky staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birraria La Corte

Birraria La Corte
Campo San Polo 2168, 2168 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 275 0570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent food with strict rules and finicky staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped to have a drink and possibly lunch at around 11:30 but had to confirm that we would eat prior to being allowed to sit, that too at a table at the back. We were then told that the kitchen opened only at noon so we could order a drink until then.Though a couple other people came in close to noon and had their orders taken, we had to nurse our beers till just after noon before our order was taken. After this we saw staff having to check with the manager prior to every seating of customers. He personally approved each customer location. One UK family with kids and 3 adults ordered a pizza , drinks and a starter. After the order was taken by a waiter, the manager came out a couple min later saying" Sorry, cannot do a pizza and one starter for 5 people" and motioned for them to leave, which they embarrassingly did. My wife's ravioli was extremely delicious whereas my seafood cooked in Genovese style was not as tasty. All in all, while the food is good, the strict rules of the place and having to watch people being turned away as a result of these, made for a less than enjoyable location for an relaxed afternoon in Venice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    249
    87
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found this charming restaurant in a quiet piazza in Venice. After seeing the food being served we were sure this was where we wanted to eat. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the patio. We ordered the pizza with fresh tomatoes,mozzarella,olives and basil. It was the best pizza we had on our entire trip in Italy. Amazing!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We came here based on a recommendation from our hotel that is a place where the locals eat. The bruschetta is good as others stated but could use a little flavor of some kind added. My husband got the lasagne bolognese which was very meaty as opposed to cheesy. It was interesting people watching in the square. On the other aide of the square there is a gelatto cart that is worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good pizzas & salads in Campo San Polo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A nice place for lunch outside on the Campo San Polo in Venice--good pizzas, salads & beers, and what else you need?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big and too busy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Coming to the restaurant it was very busy but we got shown to a table pretty quick. As an appetizer we chose the beef carpaccio. And the main was a pizza with wild boar salami.
We did not get served any bread even though the other tables got served with baskets. A waitress served us the wrong items. Twice.
Carpaccio had no flavour. Pizza was acceptable. But we got this served at the same time so it ended up as two mains and not an appetizer followed by a main course. No one asked if the food was good either. Just taking orders basically.
Too busy and impersonal for my taste. Dissappointed when reading the other reviews of good foods.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birraria La Corte also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Birraria La Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birraria La Corte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.