We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid. Not authentic Italian!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Barbacani

Ai Barbacani
Calle del Paradiso, Venice, Italy (Castello)
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 1,197 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $22 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Please avoid. Not authentic Italian!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

To reiterate the negative reviews, not sure how this place has warranted such pristine reviews.
Pros: complimentary Proseccco, bread, biscuits and limoncello
Cons: THE FOOD!
We ordered the steak and it basically was a microwaved frozen meal
The pasta with vegetables was also comparable to a microwaved meal! The sauce was 100% from a watered down can of store bought sauce and the veggies from either freezer or can.
Service was fine and the atmosphere was cozy and antique and fine.
Saxophone player and person with roses will interrupt your meal with bother for money.
Please do not go here if you want a delicious meal. We drank a bottle of wine to get through it! Very poor indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    128
    105
    26
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The filet de pepe is amazing! You are greeted with some warm bread and prosecco when you it down. The service is wonderful and there is no pressure to leave the table. It's basically yours for the night. Once you are finished dinner and you ask for the check, they bring you a choice of grappa or lemoncello!
When in Venice, I always make sure I eat here! SERIOUSLY!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a great evening - One of best meals we had in Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by staff of our Hotel, and was delightful find. It took 2-3 attempts to find the restaurant, based on the map/directions provided by the hotel front-desk...but that's no surprise. I mean, you never get lost in Venice do you?
Upon sitting, and while receiving the menus, staff brought us a small apertif glass of Prosecco. We knew we were in for a treat. My wife and I opted for the prix fix menu, and were not disappointed. The Veal dish I had was spectacular. The grilled salmon she had was very good. Service was attentive, and the friendly owner stopped by ensuring all was well. The tiramisu that came as dessert with the meal was incredible. We have never tasted one so well-balanced and rich! The waitress came around with ouzo and lemoncello as a finish to the meal. Neither the Prosecco or the lemoncello showed up on the bill, and we all agreed that it was a fantastic meal. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by friends, I don't think that we would have found it otherwise.
The food was delicious especially the seafood risotto. Complimentary champagne on arrival and great service. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant on a smaller canal in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

During a recent visit to Venice we discovered the Barbacani. It was a very nice little restaurant with a limited, but nice menu. The thing we loved the most about this place was the fantastic table that was located directly overlooking the canal and a beautiful little bridge. There was only one table like this and we got lucky to see it open one night walking by and decided that was the place to eat. We enjoyed the privacy and wonderful spot for this table that we reserved it again for two nights later. The staff was very nice and the good was good. We will seek this one out again if we return to Venice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Barbacani also viewed

 

Been to Ai Barbacani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Barbacani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.