We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Barbacani

Ai Barbacani
Calle Del Paradiso 5746, Sestiere Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
041 5210234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just came across this restaurant and what a pleasure it was. The staff were very friendly but the service was very slow - I think they lost our order! The restaurant was very cosy and seemed to be busy but there was only one waitress serving us. At first very attentive and helpful but it took a long time to get our food once ordered and I seemed to order everything I shouldn't have off of the menu. Overall it was a lovely evening overlooking the canals and very relaxing but the food took a long long time to be served. Luckily we weren't in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    119
    31
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet atmosphere and average to good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I liked the decoration and the ambiance. The risotto was tasty and I enjoyed the limoncello offered as a courtesy by the end of the dinner. The meat that I had, however, was not at all memorable. Excellent service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We came here because of the letter pinned outside from our local Perth WA newspaper, recommending the restaurant. We were early and had the one small table overlooking the two canals that meet, with two bridges. We enjoyed the passing gondolas and friendly waves from tourists. The timing of the service was gentle and we appreciated the welcoming prosecco. The food, on the whole was good. My prawns were largely tasteless, but our mains delicious, hot, generous with good vegetables, not overcooked. The pannacotta was too firm, but Nonna's torte was much enjoyed. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice and relaxing atmosphere. Central, still quiet location. Beautiful surroundings by canal. Good food and varied menu. Friendly staff. Try pasta Barbacani, we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well priced, food reasonable, great decor inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a reasonably good find amongst the many different restaurants of Venice, many of which charge a very high price for a very average meal.

In this case my fiancé and I happened to walk past and were drawn in by the sound of the saxophonist playing away- inside the decor is beautiful and very cosy with dark orange lighting, a fireplace and lots of memorabilia and artefacts on the walls.

Service was fantastic. The food was just 'good'. It wasn't exceptional but it was sufficient and well aligned to the price paid.

If you want fantastic cuisine then this might not be the place. If you want a decent meal but within a beautiful restaurant and at a good price, then this just might be the place for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Barbacani also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Barbacani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Barbacani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.