We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brek is a treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brek

Brek
Cannaregio | 124 Lista di Spagna, Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
0412440158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Brek is a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

How do I love Brek? Let me count the ways.
Over a number of visits to Venice through the years, Brek has been a constant. We had our first Venetian meal there, back in 2000, purely by chance, and never tire of going back. This time we chose our hotel for its proximity to our favourite restaurant, and ate there every night of our stay.
It hasn't changed at all in 13 years! The food is freshly prepared to order and consistently good, there are different choices daily on the chalkboard menu, and the prices are incredibly reasonable, in a city of over-priced and often indifferent food. The decor is nothing to write home about, admittedly! But that is the only down-side to this gem of a restaurant. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    217
    80
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If u are looking for Italian food, dont try it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

i can't believe it why there are so many customers... i can say this is the second poorest meal in my Italian trip. even we expected it is a fast food restaurant before we bought any food.

too many customers caused them couldn't cook the food well. some food are cooked from microwave like lasagna so we did ordered.

we ordered a ravioli, it was dry and cold...liked i were chewing a chewed gum.

and the vegetables pie is okay. probably because it was precooked. not in a hurry way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location/value for an uncomplicated lunch. The food selection was excellent - hot pasta or salads, and convenient seating. Too bad they're not in every major city in Italy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Venice we found not the best for food so going to Brek's a pleasant surprse, it is basically a self service establishment serving good quality food including Pasta, salads, cooked meats, veg and deserts.Wine is also available at reasonable prices.It also has free wi fi and good coffee which is great for the many students who use is. A vibrant and enjoyable experience,used it three times in our week there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“inexpensive for venice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we got come delicious sandwiches here which were relatively low cost compared to everything else in Venice. also the fresh squeezed orange juice is amazing and the coffee is cheap. the wifi sucks though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brek also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Brek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.