We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brek

Brek
Cannaregio | 124 Lista di Spagna, Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
0412440158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #323 of 1,207 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Cafeteria style, but fresh made while you wait. Good pastas, sausage, amazing salad, good portions, reasonably priced. Inexpensive wine, 9 euro/750 ml. I read about this place in Tripadvisor, went, and was amazed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    236
    82
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The centre of reasonable, tasty food on Venice island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have been to this restaurant on many of my visits (since 2003 - but most recent visit September 2008) and I've always enjoyed my food here. Your food is chosen from the hot counters, and cooked freshly to order for every customer. Where else can you choose 2 pastas on a plate for under 5€? The salad range is great - big choice for all tastes, the house wine is good quality - you can choose between 1/4 or 1/2 litre carafes of white or red wine with your meal. Good dessert choice also. All you need to enjoy your meal in comfort.

Not just food on a budget, but nicer than you might get on a menu turistico elsewhere in the city, with better and bigger portions. Don't get ripped off with menu turistici - come here instead!

Ristorante Brek opens for breakfast at around 7am and doesn't close until about 11pm every day.

Venicefan, UK

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Finding inexpensive doesn't have to mean poor quality, and Brek shows how to achieve this even in Venezia ! Food was tasty and hot, the beer was cold and I came away feeling very satisfied. The costs are kept down by being self service, but two different pastas and a large beer for €10 is great value pretty much anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very good products in very good prices. Cappuccino at 1.30 euros and you can sit at a table. It's self service. I go every year in Venice for the last 12 years and I always take breakfast there and, sometimes,lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so glorious food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want something quick and cheap then this is the place. Visited on first night in Venice but did not return to it as we found somewhere much better. Food OK but not mind blowing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brek also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Brek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.