We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Certosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Venice Certosa Hotel to your Saves list
Venice Certosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Certosa Island, 30100 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is very good. The staff here are so nice and helpful. There is only one hotel in the island Certosa. Although it is not located near city centre, it takes only around 15 mins from the hotel to city centre. Also, the hotel provides private boats for picking you up after 8 oclock pm. it is clean and quiet. It is very comfortable to stay a few days here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guzelyurt, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Looked nice at first.
GOOD- There were two friendly ladies at the reception. Helpful & kind.
BAD- There was one man at the reception who tried to be sort of friendly but crossed the line twice while trying to make jokes. REPULSIVE. He also lied in order not to spend some time to do some work. We asked something about the room (being small etc. and he said that there was nothing he could do about it, however, the next morning when we asked one of the kind ladies she said that they were sorry about the inconvenience and that they could change our room immediately...and a few more negative things about this guy...likes making jokes about the ladies, which I didn't like at all and I hope I could make him aware that I wasn't happy with it. After that instance he didn't talk to me about anything (well, it was also the last night there).
BAD- Room looked clean at first but when we came back at night, we found out that the towels were not changed and the bathroom wasn't cleaned. :( HOWEVER, when one of the ladies was informed, she acted on it immediately. Thanks...
BAD- Later we also saw that there were spider webs around the corners of the room.
- GOOD - Rooms (they said) were designed by different artists, and they looked nice.
- BAD - The room that we stayed (#21) was very small. Definitely not for two people. The bathroom is a problem if you are over 70Kg and taller than 1,80m. Shower, room ceiling, wc...too small & low. (Other rooms seemed to be different though).
- GOOD - To compensate for the "TINY doubles room" they didn't charge us for breakfast (which was extra 9euros per person/per day). Thanks. That was kind.
- GOOD - you are on an island seeing Venice center from a distance.
- GOOD - after 21:00 they send a private boat to pick you up from St.Elena vaporetto stop, which adds to the quality and you feel like it's a treat.
- GOOD- breakfast in the garden...nice, fresh air & green (though not varied).

Room Tip: Please check review :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay from the 15th to the 20th july 2012 with our family of 2 adults and 4 teenagers. The staff was super helpfull. Rooms : comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was correct, not enormous choice, but more then enough. We enjoyed the nice terras for the breakfast and we tried the restaurant in the evening as well : small card but food was very good. Bar is very pleasant as well. It is very nice to be in a calm and friendly environment when you visit the so busy Venice area. We liked to take the boats to the hotel - it worked out very well. So : the Certosa hotel was for us really good value for money in expensive Venice. We enjoyed our Kayak trip with Loretta very much. Thanks Loretta.
We only missed a swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and really loved the hotel! We got a nice room with a huge bathtub too which probably helped. The entire staff was very friendly (which is important since some people around Venice did not seem as nice as in other places we visited in Italy) and always tried to make us comfortable. The bar was very well-priced and relaxing and the restaurant was also top-notch (though it can get expensive if you order multiple courses like we did). Breakfast is a bit expensive if you don't book it with your room (9 euro per person) but it's not essential; you will want to head to Venice for a pastry most days. As to the location, Certosa is easily reachable via a ship from Marco Polo airport. After that, boats come every 20 minutes from Venice, 3 times per hour total to the island. It's kind of like a gondola ride except less expensive! You can buy a transportation card for the duration of your stay. One last point, there are so many cute little rabbits running around the island at night! Be sure to stay up and look for them. You cannot find a hotel this relaxing, clean, friendly, and quiet for anywhere near this price around the main area of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is a short boat ride from the density of Venice and a quiet retreat in a park setting! Long ignored, the island of Certosa is undergoing a rejuvenation with yachting amenities, a boat builders workshop, and this sweet hotel with amazing staff and a very pleasant bar. Venicekayak.com uses this island as a base for exploring the city's canals by kayak. We spent several nights here and staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, rooms were comfortable, clean and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Perfect place to stay at if you visit Venice and want some quiet time after a hectic day. I can also recomend a kayaktrip in the canals and this is the place it starts from.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a great alternative to the usual tourist trap hotels in central Venice. Unlike many of the places in central Venice, there's lots of green outside space around the hotel and on the grounds of Certosa island. The hotel is modern but not clinical. The room was a good size with a big, comfy bed and the bathroom was spotless with a good shower.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. There's a nice, reasonable value restaurant and a bar area with comfy sofas inside and a patio area outside.

I'll stay there again on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Certosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Certosa Hotel

Address: Certosa Island, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Venice Certosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Venice Certosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Certosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.