We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca La Bricola

Save Saved
You added Locanda Ca La Bricola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Ca La Bricola
First Entrance San Marco 489, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 421 Venice B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We also stayed in room 101. The room is fab; typically Italian with gorgeous luxury fabric walls and a large comfortable bed. It was very spacious, warm and spotlessly clean. Towels were changed daily. We speak NO Italian, but could easily get ourselves understood by the very friendly and helpful owner and family. They even went out and bought us plastic boots to cover our shoes when the tide rose over St Marks Square. The breakfast was good; meats, cereals, lovely coffee, muesli and yoghurt to choose from each morning, also juices or water. The location is perfect - minutes from St Marks Square and the boat stops. Restaurants surrounding the hotel were unsurprisingly expensive, but it doesn't take much effort to walk to somewhere cheaper, the island is very small. We thought the value for money in this hotel was great and if we ever went back, we'd book here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have good double glazing and shutters, so you can easily block out noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Clean spacious room and bathroom. Great Air Conditioning. Good Breakfast. Owners speak almost no English so they seem abrupt so come prepared with your pre-translated questions. Agree place is hard to find. It's at the back of La Bricola restaurant down a narrow alley. No signage for hotel. Also when you arrive, the door is locked so don't panic. Ring bell and owners will unlock. No elevator either. Also no desk service once breakfast is done so you can feel quite on your own.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The location is in the middle of the touristy area hence restaurants nearby are mostly overpriced and not particularly good quality. The room itself was quite small (also overpriced) and the service was often abrupt and cold. The Hotel was very very difficult to find as the address it seems to display is not at all where it actually is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location was fantastic, as said in all previous reviews. The reception people were rather cold but efficient as far as service is concerned. Poor breakfast variety but good quality of products. Many steep stairs leeding up to the rooms. Room was tastefully decorated but too small. Matress was very hard. It is more of a pension rather than a hotel. Overall, a good option, but too expensive for what it is, we paid 150 euros for a double room per night, when it should have been 100 euros at the most, mostly because of its location, otherwise it should have been even cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived at Venice from Florence quite late at night.We took a vaporetto from the station and reached Realto stop at around 11.30 in the night.This hotel can be reached either from Realto or from San Marco square and its about 5 min walk. However, since there were no directions in the roads and the hotel has no sign board we had to roam around the deserted lanes for more than half an hour and when ultimately we could spot the hotel,the door was shut and no one was there to answer our repeated phone calls.We dialed the landline number as well as the cell but no one picked up the phone.However, one of the boarder could hear our doorbell and was kind enough to let us enter the hotel.The Reception was empty and we had a horrible night.The next morning we were shown our room which was quite nice. The toillette was clean.They served a nice breakfast.The staff barely speaks English however, they tried to help us.The location of the hotel is good as it is just minutes away from San Marco square and about 5 minutes from Realto bridge.However, if you are arriving late at night, you may find it difficult to locate the hotel as there is no sign board.You can look for Trattoria La Bricola, which is the restaurant in the ground floor as it is impossible to find the entrance to the hotel.Also, it has very steep stairs.If you are carrying big suitcases, you are likely to have a tough time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Locanda La Bricola is a bit hard to find, even with a Google map print-out, but once you locate it you realise you are in the heart of St. Marco's square. Our room (101) overlooked a small alley, so the only thing we could hear was the noise waiters made in the mornings, when opening up the nearby restaurants.

The room was great, sizable and warm, with baroque elements in the interior. No complaints whatsoever. Spotless clean, with towels being changed daily.

Downsides: Breakfast, although tasty, very basic. Cheese, ham, bread, butter and some marmalade. And the same every morning. We stayed for 4 nights so needless to say how fed up we were with the "selection" by day 4. TV had only Italian channels. Furthermore, nobody seems to speak any English in the hotel, so if your Italian is rusty, good luck. Also, i didn't like the fact that there were no maps of the city in the hotel, which is a standard practice really, so we had to buy one. Internet was a puzzle, they said there is no wi-fi, and indeed there wasn't any for 3 days, but then all of a sudden it appeared out of nowhere.

Add 2,5 EUR per day/per person to the room price for a tourist charge.

Final word of advice: beware of the La Bricola restaurant (trattoria) downstairs - OVERPRICED piece of .... In fact, avoid trattoria's and restaurants altogether. Opt for ostaria's instead, that's where locals go for chiccetas and wine. In my opinion, Cannaregio is the sestiere (borough) with the best food for lowest prices. Bad taste in my mouth from 3 days of horrific food was washed away by visiting Alla Vedova restaurant on Strada Nuova, strongly recommend it.

Loved Venice, liked the hotel, loved Murano & Burano, but not the kind of place i would go back again to, felt like a fool everyone tried to squeeze money from. I liked Sicily far better for it's homey atmosphere, Venice seems a bit like a film studio with no character. Famous past is unattainable i guess.

Oh – and if you don’t mind walking, avoid the water buses, they are a rip-off for 6,5 EUR per single ticket. Walking is really fun, and the city is not that big really. Plus getting lost is part of the Venice experience. And try the black pasta made out of cuttlefish boiled in its ink - delicious!

Room Tip: 101 was quiet and large enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here during July 2011 whilst here for a family wedding, the hotel could be hard to find but we were given directions so wasn't too bad. The hotel is in a perfect location and great if you want to have a little explore. So many restaurants and gift shops, the water buses are also near if you want to explore further. The rooms in the b&b were very nice and breakfast was good also, there are quite a lot of stairs up to the room so might not be suitable for older guests otherwise we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ca La Bricola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca La Bricola

Address: First Entrance San Marco 489, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Ca La Bricola is located in a peaceful and convenient position in the centre of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and the famous "Ponte di Rialto" bridge. Fully renovated, the inn offers refined and comfortable surroundings with high quality facilities, perfectly combined with great attention to detail and professional and attentive staff. Ideal for discovering the wonderful city of Venice, it has double rooms distributed over two floors and a fabulous suite. Guests are offered special conditions with local restaurants serving typical Venetian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Ca La Bricola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca La Bricola Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca La Bricola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.