We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Fontanea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Fontanea to your Saves list
Ca' Fontanea
Cannaregio 786 | Campiello de le Beccarie, 30100 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Godd B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice and helpfull staff. This B&B is better than most hotels with 1 or 2 stars. Is a bit expensive, but every place in Venize is expensive. Good situation near to the station and a not very crowded zone. Breakfast is good with a lot of thing to choose

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in one of the apartment and it was in the top floor. We had our 15 month boy who had just started to walk and luckily we had 2 good sized balconies where he was playing. The apartment has plenty of space, good size living room and double bedroom. has central heating and Aircon. Also lots of windows so it was quite bright and pleasant during the daytime. The kitchen has kettle, hob and grill. we bought some frozen food from near by Coop store and cooked some dinner. Anna in the reception was exceptional and she came to pick us from near by watertaxi stop(Crea) on arrival . We had our flight late in the evening, so Anna let us use one of the spare apartment room for couple of hours(Thanks to her)...reg transport the nearest watertaxi stop is Crea(line 4.2), the Venice s. lucia railway station is 3 stops away and door to door to marco polo airport takes 45 minutes. Lido is 40 mins, Murano and Burano is 1 hour approx.
info: There are quite a lot of bridges around venice, so using stroller/buggy was a nightmare. We were pretty knackered at the end of 3 days carrying our boy over these bridges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ca' Fontanea is in a lovely quiet spot, near the start of the water taxis.

The room was excellent; very clean, spacious for Venice and comfortable (apart from a slightly hard bed). There is even a fridge in the room (but sadly no kettle. Like the rest of Europe they aren't tea drinkers!).

The ladies at reception were extremely helpful and we were emailed before our trip asking if we knew how to get there.

Breakfast was fantastic, especially compared with usual Venice fare. Last time I stayed in Venice it was just nasty rolls, jam and coffee/tea. Breakfast here is cereals, nicer rolls, fresh hardboiled eggs (still warm), ham, cheese, yoghurt, jam, honey, croissant, coffee or tea and juice. All eaten down in the breakfast/reception area to quiet classical music.

We stayed on the first floor above reception. Unfortunately because it is open plan we could hear what was happening in reception sometimes and people coming up the stairs noisily. Worse than that we appeared to have some very thoughtless noisy people staying on the floor above, which I think must be one of the studios. On our last night they crashed around until very late and then woke us up again twice, once at 4am when someone left. Take earplugs just in case!

Room Tip: We had room 104 which is a corner room with 4 windows so it is very light until you close the shutte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Honestly, the best little quiet place with the lovest staff. Please go there.....
You will thank me later.
we went there as a family, holidays, with my girlfriends and boyfriend came later on. We all just had a ball, its your own little place and so you come home at night with your key to a home.
Just loved it and will definately be back.
Hope the girls at the desk remember us from the land of Oz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were emailed ahead of our booking with a request for arrival time and to ensure we knew how to get to the hotel. We were also provided with really good information about waterbus tickets which proved to be very handy. The room was very clean comfortable and modern. Breakfast was fresh and had a good variety - eggs were still warm and not overcooked. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but close enough to get to anywhere in Venice by foot if we felt like walking or waterbus if we felt like sitting back and watching the views of the canals. No fault of the hotel but there are mosquitoes in Venice and they managed to get into our room despite very good screens on the window. We had to sleep with the window shut so the room became a little stuffy at night - not sure if there was air conditioning but we couldn't find it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in a room in the main building and two nights in an apartment. The highlight of the apartment was the little washing machine, which is great if you are traveling for a while. The location of the hotel is wonderful, in a quieter, more typical neighborhood of Venice, near many great, more reasonable restaurants. The price is great for the quality of the rooms (very clean and nicely decorated).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff. We had a studio room with a balcony. Very clean rooms with air conditioning. Location is not central but is nice for escaping the hustle and bustle of the city. Disappointing that studio rooms do not include breakfast and requirement to pay for rooms with cash.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Fontanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Fontanea

Address: Cannaregio 786 | Campiello de le Beccarie, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#114 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'Fontanea is located in a quite area of Cannaregio near Strada Nova, Rio Terà San Leonardo where there are local markets, shops and boutiques.Quite near a lot of point of interest as Rialto Bridge, Ca'Vendramin Calergi Palace ( where there is Casino), the ancient Jewish Ghetto, and Madonna dell'Orto Church.A short step there is the water bus stop that permise to reach the other island in few minutes. Ca'Fontanea has been recently renovated and rooms are comfortable, bright and spacious offer modern services and all have private services. Wireless connection are free and breakfast buffet too.A multilingual staff are available during the day to give information and assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' Fontanea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Fontanea Venice
Ca Fontanea Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Fontanea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.