We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOOOO HOT!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Basilea Dipendenza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Basilea Dipendenza to your Saves list
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza
Rio Marin 804 B, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“SOOOOOO HOT!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room was very narrow and small and there was no air conditioning which meant it was sooo hot in the room which was really uncomfortable! We asked in reception if there was a fan we could use and when we returned from our day there was one in our room which made our stay a lot more pleasant! It was annoying that breakfast wasnt included considering it was quite expensive! On our trip we stayed in cheaper hostels where there was breakfast and air conditioning!
The hotel was very easy to find from the station there was even a sign on the ground just outside the station pointing you in the right direction!
The hotel was in a good location to get to the grand canal and other attractions in venice, there were also lots of good cheapish resturants near by!
We enjoyed our stay alot more once we had the fan. However you would think that in a hot country like Italy that air conditioning would be an essential for any hotel room!!!
The staff were helpful in getting us a fan!
The cleaners seemed to only ever come to clean past 4pm which was a bit annoying when you had just got back from a long hot day wondering around!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting this review, that allows us to clarify the issues you raised.
First of all, as you certainly noticed, the reservation you made was for an economy room at Hotel Basilea Dependance, a solution designed for travellers on a tight budget that want to visit Venice.
This kind of room, and if you had read the reservation website carefully you saw it's written, is not equipped with air conditioning: if it had the air conditioning system, the cost would be higher.
Just the kindness of our staff allowed you to use a fan: this facility is not included anyways.
Continuing, the breakfast is not included in the booking too, and it's indicated as above; and if you define us as expensive, please would have the patience to examine the cost of a similar accomodation here in Venice: it's very difficult to find a equal one, i assure you.
Anyhow, we hope to have the possibility to host you another time at our hotel, maybe trying one of our double room, provided with air conditioning and private bathroom and included of breakfast, however with an excellent value for money, not a lot more costly than the one you chose.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We read all of the reviews, and some weren't pretty. However we have been pleasantly surprised. Though we didn't come to Venice to watch TV or surf the internet. The room was comfortable enough and well presented. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was just fine. Best of all was the location. Good value for money in my view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the readers of TripAdvisor and with us.
We are pleased that you appreciated those which are the qualities of Basilea Dipendenza: the cleanness, comfort, the central location, these are strenghts of a hotel that, through its simplicity, offers agreeable stays to an excellent price.
Thank you again for the nice judgement (we see not influenced by other reviews), we looking forward your next return.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As usual I will give a totally honest report and this has more bad points than good unfortunately.
The good:
Excellent location, five mins walk to the water bus, taxi, and train station and about 8 mins to the bus station that services the airport. The reception staff were very helpful, very friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were cleaned to a very good standard daily and the hotel itself was clean.
The bad:
Breakfast is 8 - 9.30, offering one cereal, pastries, bread, cheese, plain yogurt and hard boiled eggs, there is a sign saying they will make scrambled eggs on request but when asked she said no!!.... IF you go down after 9 very little is left and they will not put any more out, there were a few of us that asked and were told "no more" so we only had bread and yogurt and it was only five past nine.
Our room, well what can I say, it was dire, see attached photos. Very tired and in very bad need of decoration, very old and grubby, though it was clean. If it were based on this room I would give it 1 star, the hair drier didn't work, the bathroom light didn't work, there was polystyrene filling the hole in the window, we had two threadbare hand towels only, the light was coming away from the ceiling and as for the damp on the walls!!!!!! Luckily our shower leaked ALL over the floor so we asked to change rooms. Oddly they don't delegate rooms at the actual hotel it goes through a booking system by phone so we had to wait for an answer, after they inspected our shower.
Luckily we did get to change rooms to another floor and it was like another hotel, unbelievable we had gone up to 3 stars, carpet in the corridor, pictures on the walls instead of grubby marks we even had bath towels.
All I can think of is that there must be different room rates depending on who you book with and what you pay, it really is so different on the two floors.

The whole hotel is dated and tired looking and badly needs money spending on decoration, I would give it a one star for our first room, a two for our second room and breakfast and three for it's location.
Would I recommend it, yes for location but I would hate anyone to have our first room!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor's readers and with us.
Thanks still for your compliments on the staff, the thorough cleaning of the facility, and to have underlined, you as many others, the hotel's very good location, notable for comfort and quiet.
Now, the flaws: we promise to improve on those aspects you report us, and we are really sorry you have been here in the only day when were finished the eggs, even after an exceptional request of them.
But, as you noticed too, we sell different types of rooms with different prices: if you buy one of the cheapest rooms, you can't demand the quality of the most expensive (as you have seen as since you have moved from one to the other).
We want to end inviting you, after reading what you have written, rather to stay at the Hotel Basilea (the building in front of the dependancy), which seems more suited to your expectations.
Wishing you to visit Venice again (we see you loved it), we send you Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel location is amazing, 3 min away of the train station, the stuff is very friendly specially a french person at the counter.
However, the hotel amenities are old , the room was not very delightful or relaxing... no internet...
The breakfast quantity was not enough for the whole guest despite that the girl working i z kitchen was very helpful.
I guess the hotel as a 2 stars hotel is fair despite that the price is exagerated
Not too sure if i come back again but as i said it is fair for a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We felt great bitterness while reading of your stay and because of your so severe vote about our facility.
Since you have stayed here some time ago, we inform you that the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza was subjected to an adjustement, for the satisfaction of its customers (and to put remedy also those flaws which you referred to).
Actually, we offer the possibility of using the wi-fi, which is working in the Hotel Basilea hall (and where are available for the guests two fixed internet emplacements).
Finally, a suggestion: if you want taking the breakfast at the last moment, it could imply, as happened to you, a deficit of fresh products (like bread or brioches), and theit offer couldn't be complete.
However, we'll be glad to host you again at our hotel, sure to improve the bad vote you assigned us.
Greetings.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel, if you could even call it that, didn't even have wifi. For what we were paying, we had no internet access, literally one outlet in the entire room, and no breakfast. Don't know about other Venetian hotels/hostels, but this one was not very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We read with disappointment your review, and we would like to answer it.
We remind you that you have booked an "economy twin room shared bathroom not breakfast included", payment of 52,20 euro per night. We specify that you have stayed on Saturday and in April, so on high season. On the website moreover was indicated with accuracy that the breakfast wasn't included in that offer, and in the description was indicated as a simple and economic stay solution
About the wi-fi, it isn't truly in the room: but in the hotel hall there are two fixed emplacements with internet access (for a fee).
After have seen your expectations, next time we suggest you to opt for a different solution, and particularly to pay more attention on what you buy, not looking only at the price.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location. There is nothing that is too far from this hotel. The rooms aren't bad and the beds are clean. The shower didn't contain water very well and the bathroom floor was soaked for the majority of the stay. Water pressure was great though. Price was about right, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza. We truly appreciate your comment concerning the amazing location where the Hotel is situated. We may offer you our apologies for the uneasy: we assure you that the problem with the bathroom is resolved now. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the hotel 3nights in December and unfortunately had a very unpleasant experience. In the description they forgot to mention that some of the rooms don’t have a heating in the bathrooms and concrete flooring in the room. It is incredibly cold and bathroom has a very bad smell due to dampness. We kindly asked to change the room and management refused to do so although they had spare rooms. Additional payment of 40EUR has been requested. In addition to that heating was switched off at 1am and they would put it on in the morning only. IN DECEMBER!!!!! Endless requests to keep it on all night were ignored. There was also a shortage of blankets as all of the guests were freezing and asked for an extra one. As a result we all came back with a terrible cold. I travel a lot and this is first time I’ve seen such a careless management. I would advise everyone NOT TO BOOK THIS HOTEL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Customer,
We read your review with disappointment. If what you say it's true, what happened was an unfortunate episode which we keep in mind: it is customary of the hotel to switch off the heating at a certain hour of the night, and this method has never presented any discomfort (because the heating will switch on again just a few hours later, so the rooms don't get too cold).
The humidity: it's everywhere in Venice (because it's a city surrounded by the water), and it afflicting all the palaces and houses (not only the bathroom of your room).
It's an exceptional case that concerning the number of blankets, always more than enough to the request.
We are sorry that for the experience you told, you have given a feedback so negative on the facility, but we don't feel absolutely reflected by this your kind of comment, and we are completely convinced that we can demonstrate the contrary.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Basilea Dipendenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea Dipendenza

Address: Rio Marin 804 B, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Basilea Dipendenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.