We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravella

La Caravella
Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2399 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 041 520 8901
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Caravella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,228 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: La Caravella restaurant in Venice can be discovered immediately behind the newly-restored La Fenice theatre, just a few paces from the Piazza San Marco. Stepping inside, you���ll feel as if you���ve entered an antique sailing ship, with dark wood paneling, capstans and ropes and leaded windows. In summer, you may not step inside at all as La Caravella moves into a flower-filled courtyard complete with original wells, or the lighter courtyard dining room with typical Venetian ambience. The menu is typically Venetian too, with dishes like classic saor, marinated sardines with onions, pine kernels and raisins, fish soup, or oven orast turbot with potatoes and olives. In addition, the chef uses fresh seasonal ingredients to create trendier fare. The excellent wine list features both historical wine producers and smaller boutique vintners. Planning a party? La Caravella welcomes wedding receptions, private dinners, banquets, corporate entertaining, even coffee breaks. The garden seats up to 65 and one of the dining rooms up to 75.
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 3 days in Venice and had a lunch and Christmas Eve Dinner at this wonderful restaurant. It is a bit expensive, but the service and the foothoughd is worth every cent you spend there. Be sure you will pay much more in more modest places all over Venice and Murano area for half of what you have at La Caravella.

Visited December 2012
1 Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal New Year's Eve experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We'd booked in advance for the incredibly expensive, eight-course dinner offered at La Caravella as a special for New Year's Eve. All I can say is the experience was superb and worth every penny as a once-in-a-blue-moon splurge.
Many restaurants offering a multi-course meal serve tiny spots of nouvelle cuisine: not La Caravella. Every course was not just fabulously cooke; it comprised a plentiful amount of food. The seafood trilogy starter, lobster thermidor and veal fillet stand out as particularly brilliant pieces of gastronomy. And although the advertised desription talks about 'a small quantity' of wine, in practice our glasses were constantly refilled throughout the evening. A fantastically memorable New Year's Eve dinner!

Visited December 2012
1 Thank FrankMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“best bellini i've ever had, amazing cappucino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we dropped by this place by chance on new year's eve before going out to dinner. it is about a 3 minute walk from san marco, across from the best art gallery in venice. it is the lobby bar/restaurant of a hotel. between my 2 friends and me, we had 2 glasses of red wine, 2 cappucinos and 2 glasses of 'bellini' which i put in quotes because, peaches not being in season, they made with whatever berries were on hand. amazing. i'd go back in a second!!!!

Visited January 2013
1 Thank lasarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have eaten here before, and we were not disappointed by the excellent meal we had on New Year's Eve. Great setting, great food.

Visited December 2012
1 Thank Zoidberg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We went here expecting great things.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here expecting great things after our New Year's Eve .. We arrived seeing many customers, so we were definitely thinking we're in for a treat. Unfortunately, we were bitterly disappointed. I'm not sure if it's because we weren't locals. The dish my husband was tasteless and my guinea fowl was cold and overcooked.The service on top of that was sufficient with head waiter seemingly visibly annoyed that we were unhappy, instead of apologizing for ruining my evening.We decided to leave before any further disappointment.

Visited January 2013
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caravella also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice

Been to La Caravella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing