We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal New Year's Eve experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caravella

La Caravella
Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2397 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
+39 041 520 8901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $61 - $91
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: La Caravella restaurant in Venice can be discovered immediately behind the newly-restored La Fenice theatre, just a few meters from Piazza San Marco. Stepping inside, you will feel as if you have entered an antique sailing ship, with dark wood paneling, capstans and ropes and leaded windows. In summer,La Caravella moves into a flower-filled courtyard complete with original wells, or the lighter courtyard dining room with typical Venetian ambience. The menu is typically Venetian too, with dishes like classic saor, marinated sardines with onions, pine kernels and raisins, fish soup, or oven roast turbot with potatoes and olives. In addition, the chef uses fresh seasonal ingredients to create trendier fare. The excellent wine list features both historical wine producers and smaller boutique vintners. Planning a party? La Caravella welcomes wedding receptions, private dinners, banquets, corporate entertaining, even coffee breaks. The garden seats up to 65 and one of the dining rooms up to 75.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Phenomenal New Year's Eve experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We'd booked in advance for the incredibly expensive, eight-course dinner offered at La Caravella as a special for New Year's Eve. All I can say is the experience was superb and worth every penny as a once-in-a-blue-moon splurge.
Many restaurants offering a multi-course meal serve tiny spots of nouvelle cuisine: not La Caravella. Every course was not just fabulously cooke; it comprised a plentiful amount of food. The seafood trilogy starter, lobster thermidor and veal fillet stand out as particularly brilliant pieces of gastronomy. And although the advertised desription talks about 'a small quantity' of wine, in practice our glasses were constantly refilled throughout the evening. A fantastically memorable New Year's Eve dinner!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    182
    51
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best bellini i've ever had, amazing cappucino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we dropped by this place by chance on new year's eve before going out to dinner. it is about a 3 minute walk from san marco, across from the best art gallery in venice. it is the lobby bar/restaurant of a hotel. between my 2 friends and me, we had 2 glasses of red wine, 2 cappucinos and 2 glasses of 'bellini' which i put in quotes because, peaches not being in season, they made with whatever berries were on hand. amazing. i'd go back in a second!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have eaten here before, and we were not disappointed by the excellent meal we had on New Year's Eve. Great setting, great food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We went here expecting great things.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here expecting great things after our New Year's Eve .. We arrived seeing many customers, so we were definitely thinking we're in for a treat. Unfortunately, we were bitterly disappointed. I'm not sure if it's because we weren't locals. The dish my husband was tasteless and my guinea fowl was cold and overcooked.The service on top of that was sufficient with head waiter seemingly visibly annoyed that we were unhappy, instead of apologizing for ruining my evening.We decided to leave before any further disappointment.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We returned to La Caravella on our recent stay in Venezia. The food is just excellent ... the menu includes reliable and familiar favorites and also features interesting seasonal specials. We recommend the taglierini con grancevola and the filetti di branzino ai pignoli tostati. Suggested wines are always enjoyed. But is the charming service that makes the La Caravella experience special. They are attentive, engaged and interested. This service, when paired with the food and wine, creates a memorable dining experience. We also recommend drinks at the bar before or after dinner. The clientele is varied...hotel guests enjoying their afternoon tea, locals stopping in for a quick espresso and of course those of us on holiday enjoying a spritz. You can sit at the bar and just watch the world come in for a visit! Happy New Year to all at La Caravella!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caravella also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Caravella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caravella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.