We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service makes you blush.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot de Venise

Bistrot de Venise
Calle dei Fabbri, 4685, 30124 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $72 - $130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bistrot de Venise first opened in 1993 and has since become a hangout and meeting place where the figurative arts, poetry and culture combine, simply, with Food and Wine....1999 saw the start of our research into Rare Wines and Historical Venetian Cuisine, strengthening our concept of applying culture to local and regional Gastronomy and Wine. ...our hard work still continues today... Gastronomy & Wine…extensive research on the history of venetian Cuisine and Wines, from its noble origins to the present time. The Historic & Renaissance Venetian Cuisine revised and suggested by our Chef Mario Missese and his young team. Our House, unique in town, offer a gastronomic trip back to the past glories of Venice following its history & tradition. ”Award winning” wine list, for the quality and variety of the selected rare wines from the Veneto Region and the North-East of Italy. Professional wine tasting (free) all year round. "..exciting Wine List" .. (see Michelin Guide 2012) specialized in the research of many Rare Wines, a truly unique selection purchased directly from small producers with the help of Istituto Sperimentale di Viticoltura di Conegliano. More than 60 options by the glass and a wide selection of the most prestigious italian vineyards. Prized Wine List by Italian Sommelier Association for best 15 in the Veneto Region at Vinitaly 2010.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The service makes you blush.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this place by chance through a package deal with one of the local theaters.
It turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. The food quality was amazing. the staff was exceptionally cohesive.
They worked together like a choreographed act. Unforgettable. I even went as far as taking a picture of my food...who knows, might post it on Facebook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    276
    86
    50
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Attentive service and fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were immensely pleased by our dinner at Bistrot de Venise. We chose items from the sampling menu, ably assisted by our captain/waiter, Walter (who speaks 6 languages). We were pleasantly surprised that the food was less expensive than we had feared. The staff was very attentive, from the wine steward to the bus boys. The delicate flavors emerged fully from these traditional Venetian dishes. We recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Our best eating experience in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had dinner there on May 2, first night in Venice, first night in Italy, and it set the standard for ristorantes to come. As soon as we were seated (and they knew us immediately when we arrived because we had a reservation?), Vivaldi's Four Season's (Autumn) began playing. It was if it was timed! My husband is not an adventurous eater (though Italian) but he was delighted with the food and the wine choices. Walter, our server, was witty and professional and extremely knowledgable and helpful in selecting entrees and wines. Tom had a ravioli dish that they specialized for him, and I had the "Carbonara" with Scampi (26 Euros). Plenty of breads (of course) and salad. We chose the tiramisu as it (arguably) originated in Venice and it was better than any I had eaten before but I'm not real keen on tiramisu anyway. We were also served dessert wines and canapes. Wonderful experience and we have talked about this experience often. RECOMMENDED! (Menu is available online)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Splendid, formal meal in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a more formal restaurant than many in Venice with lovely food and knowledgeable staff.
The food was delicious (the black ink cuttlefish first course was massive) and the atmosphere and service were impeccable.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“With the tide rise we had an amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We like to eat at exceptional places and Bistrot de Venice certainly met that criteria. The food was great, and the service was impeccable. It was a perfect way to end the first day at a wonderful city.
If you go there say hi to Sergio

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de Venise also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bistrot de Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot de Venise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.