We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pleasure of dining out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot de Venise

Bistrot de Venise
Calle dei Fabbri, 4685, 30124 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236651
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Bistrot de Venise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $72 - $130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bistrot de Venise first opened in 1993 and has since become a hangout and meeting place where the figurative arts, poetry and culture combine, simply, with Food and Wine....1999 saw the start of our research into Rare Wines and Historical Venetian Cuisine, strengthening our concept of applying culture to local and regional Gastronomy and Wine. ...our hard work still continues today... Gastronomy & Wine…extensive research on the history of venetian Cuisine and Wines, from its noble origins to the present time. The Historic & Renaissance Venetian Cuisine revised and suggested by our Chef Mario Missese and his young team. Our House, unique in town, offer a gastronomic trip back to the past glories of Venice following its history & tradition. ”Award winning” wine list, for the quality and variety of the selected rare wines from the Veneto Region and the North-East of Italy. Professional wine tasting (free) all year round. "..exciting Wine List" .. (see Michelin Guide 2012) specialized in the research of many Rare Wines, a truly unique selection purchased directly from small producers with the help of Istituto Sperimentale di Viticoltura di Conegliano. More than 60 options by the glass and a wide selection of the most prestigious italian vineyards. Prized Wine List by Italian Sommelier Association for best 15 in the Veneto Region at Vinitaly 2010.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The pleasure of dining out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As you enter you believe that you are in a wine bar with an excellent choice of good wines. ready to be tasted by the glass.
The dining room is in the back forcing you to pass by an open kitchen allowing you to see the cleanliness ot their quarters and chefs.
The md spoke several languages, service was prompt and the food of excellent quality.
Prices are on the high average but are supported by the excellent quality and presentation.
Place recommend to travellers looking for quality, good service and excellent wines

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    301
    93
    54
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“scalops to be killed for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

terrible food. scalops were burned and tasted like rubber. raviloi with cheese were terrible and duck was just a vomit on a plate. for this quality of cuisine you would be killed in russia

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Fragiacomo, Proprietario at Bistrot de Venise, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Buongiorno Insomnian
you seems to be very unlucky... you mentioned the 3 best dishes we are keeping in the menu since years!!! ...probably our thousands Guests do not understand so much about food... we were just waiting Insomnian to realize that we could be killed, but I honestly think that Your personal taste is much more close to "baked leg od reindeer with cabbage & onions"
We are always disappointed when one of our Guests do not enjoy his dinner but your opinion, believe me, is very embarassing and too strong.
Best regards
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A fortunate find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were just passing by looking for somewhere to eat and I checked the guide in my phone. It turned out that Michelin recommended this one so we decided to give it a try. Although we were about 20 minutes early (re-opens at 19.00) we were kindly requested to wait and given the chance to order a drink. The food was delicious and what deserves to be mentioned is that the restaurant recreates traditional Venetian recipes (there are special pages for it in the menu). My pasta with goose sauce, pinenuts and raisins (a XVIth century recipe if I remember correctly) was excellent and very unusual. The deserts were great; even the traditional tiramisu given a little twist with coffee jelly on top. There are also set menus (e.g. two courses and desert for about 50 euro). The wine list is extensive, but the sommelier is there to help. The interior in red and gold suites Venice perfectly. The city is rather expensive but it makes more sense to spend a little bit more for a really good restaurant than not that much less for a poor or average one. One minor quibble: the waiter when serving the plate accidently spilled the sauce of my wife’s dish on her shirt, blouse and purse. He of course apologised and helped with the cleaning (we did not show him every stain because we did not want to disturb a great meal), but we were not offered even an extra digestivo on the house. Such things however happen very rarely, so it would not seem fair to lower the rating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a dissapoinment! Rude and unprofessional service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The head waiter ruined our dining experience. I booked a table three weeks in advance and the head waiter still tried to seat us at a bad table in an empty main dining room. Luckily I saw my name on a reservation card at a good table and we simply sat down. It's unfortunate but this type of experience sets a tone for a meal. When we selected our dishes the waiter asked us in what order that we wanted our food. To our surprise he became frustrated when we asked him to provide a recommendation. At this level of restaurant and at this price point his behaviour was unacceptable. There was an odd lengthy delay before we received a complimentary dessert (ie cookies) plate. We had to ask for the bill several times. At the end of the meal the waiter asked if we enjoyed our meal and said 'we all make mistakes'. It was a sad attempt to get a tip. Later we were told by Venetians that this particular waiter heard our English/American accents and then decided we would be unable to appreciate the restaurant's food. In the end we left a small tip simply to thank the sommelier and the junior waiter. The menu is an interesting read, but the execution is hit or miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_Fragiacomo, Direttore at Bistrot de Venise, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Buongiorno Stephen
I try to justify our head waiter following your comment which seems extremely severe because of some missunderstandings:
- seems to me very logical thinking that he did not understand your name and gave you another table than the one supposed to be as per your previous reservation!!!
- also asking you the timing of your choices doesn't seem to be a big mistake.
- you decided that it became frustrated ... without providing other recommandations?? I cannot believe it after almost 30 years of experience.
- we apologize for the delay on the complimentary cookies and bill!!!
- by saying "we all make mistakes" he tried to excuse the House for the delay and the wrong details
- 60% of our Guests are all english/american speaking gentle hosts, do you imagine a menu that is not understandable by this amount of people???
At the very end, you tipped our Sommeleir and young waiter, you did not complain our interesting menu & food.......so, let me say that you have been absolutely wrongly severe with our House and our head waiter, but hope to welcome you back to Bistrot de Venise in a better mood.
Best wishes for the coming New Year
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seduction a la Carte; The true Spirit of Venezia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Celebrating our 50' and 60' anniversary we wanted somthing special. Considering our interests in Venetian culture & history we were recommended the Bistrot de Venise by the chef in one of Oslo's most renowned restaurants. We were definitely not disappointed, and found what we were looking for.
Entering the restaurant we were greeted by the Maitre and the staff guiding us in the most professional way through the meny.
According to the helpful guidance ,we chose partly from the recommodations, partly our own suggestions.We were surprised by the perfect preparation of the food and the favourable combination of different ingredients blending wonderfully together. The dessert, the Tarta Bianca, as sweet as a kiss from a Venetian courtesan, the Kayros wine colourful as the carnevale, and the Duck and Beef prepared like a reneissance painting.
Suddenly the lights went out in the restaurant, and to our surprise, the staff entered our table singing "Happy birthday" more or less a capella... A nice gesture, and also a confirmation of the true Venetian openhearted spirit and attentive attitude.
Renting the exclusive apartment "Rezidencia" on the 2.nd floor above the restaurant was a perfect combination for our 4 days stay.
We also had the pleasure of a coffee with the owner, Mr. Sergio Fragiacomo. His reflections upon Venetian cuisine and culture today, blended with old tradition, gave us the impression of "modern reneissance".The over all professional attitude framed this impression in an outstanding way.
According to Norwegian standards, the evening was not very expensive. Good value for money.
We wish the Bistrot a Happy New Year and hope to be back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de Venise also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bistrot de Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot de Venise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.