We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we had in Italy - 5*!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria di Santa Marina

L'Osteria di Santa Marina
Campo Santa Marina 5911, Venice, Italy (Castello)
041-528-5239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,210 restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Castello
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Italy - 5*!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stumbled upon L'Oseria di Santa Marina quite by accident, on a quiet day in the rain. We walked in, without reservations. We were tired, hungry and looking for somewhere that served tasty food...the restaurant was welcoming.

Our thoughts: seamless service, tasty and innovative food. After eating our way through Italy for two weeks (included Tuscany and Rome), we look back and think this restaurant served us one of the best meals we had in Italy. We highly recommend and look forward to returning the next time we are in Venice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    359
    137
    41
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for 'just ok'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A few dishes really had a 'wow' factor like tuna tartare with raw egg yolk and truffles and later there was a palate cleanser of porcini mushroom ice cream. However, on the whole the meal wasn't very exciting or inspired. Maybe they've lost the joy of serving good food. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice, well kept and evening lighting is romantic. Service is excellent. It's a shame but this was an expensive meal that was easy to forget.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this place using trip advisor during a January walk. one of us had the set tasting menu and the other ala carte and they prepared a simple pasta dish for our daughter. The saltcod and octopus was wonderful, the chesnut ravioli with prawns also great. The highlight of the tasting menu was the venison in port sauce with violet onions which was soft, tender and full of flavor (the veal and steak tartare were fine, but not wonderful)...The dessert, a chocolate ganache and some icecream was also truly splendid. The atmosphere was calm and peaceful, we felt off the tourist path, even though it is a well known place. The price was not much different to the crappy places in San Marco, so by Venice standards was good value. Nice waitors, overall, a wonderful experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and our favourite meal in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyable meal. Service was fairly lack-lustre but the food was all great. We both enjoyed our meals and it was our favourite night in the city. If you're not into seafood obviously it's not for you. Relatively speaking good value compared to other places in the city.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK but expensive for a lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is probably nice for a dinner but on the expensive side for a lunch. We only tried the pasta dishes, which were OK without being fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Santa Marina also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to L'Osteria di Santa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria di Santa Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.