We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Seafood and Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria alle Testiere

Osteria alle Testiere
Calle del Mondo Novo, 5801, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
041 522 7220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,317 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castello
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this tiny restaurant walking from our apartment. We hadn't looked online for recommendations nor had anyone given us any, so we simply lucked out! This gem of a kitchen provided us with razor clams, mussels, turbot and a mixed appetizer plate of seafood. Delicious!

Turns out that Venice is NOT known for its food, so we were completely blown away by the quality and freshness of the food. The service is delightful and warm. We are going back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Part of a Perfect Evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On the day that we had a 7 pm reservation at Alle Testiere, my husband and I also had tickets for the theater (yeah, Venice, a little baroque and opera, and a great dining experience – what more could you ask for?). Anyway, we decided to do a trial run of how far the restaurant was from the theater to make sure our evening plans were manageable. After picking up our theater tickets we walked to the restaurant. They seemed to be just finishing the lunch service and we entered and encountered a soft-spoken gentleman. We explained that we had reservations for that evening and that we also had theater tickets and wondered if we would have sufficient time to enjoy our meal. After checking to see if we did indeed have reservations, he assured us that we would be fine.

We arrived shortly before the doors were opened for dinner, only to find another couple already waiting. When we entered, the soft-spoken gentleman addressed us by name and continued to do that throughout the evening. The staff all works together and although there is one gentleman who basically takes the orders for the 24 seat restaurant, you are likely to encounter everyone who works the front part of the restaurant at one point in the evening.

The restaurant provides you with a menu but diners should be aware that the menu is based upon what was fresh and available that day in the market. We started with the seafood appetizer platter that was delicious and then we each had different delectable seafood main course entrees. We asked our server (with the funky magnetic red glasses ☺) to pair our choices with wine and he did a great job.

I have to agree with the comments of an earlier review. It does not matter if this restaurant receives good or bad reviews, the popularity of this tiny gem will keep it full every day, at every seating. That being said, the food is phenomenal and the staff is professional and courteous (even though they spend a good portion of their evening turning away diners in person and on the phone). Do yourself a favor and book a reservation as soon as you know you are going to Venice…you will not regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NativeNewYorker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Alle Testiere lives up to its reputation! The food is amazing, staff delightful and the ambiance unmatched. Reservations are a must but this restaurant should not be missed in Venice! We were traveling as a group of 10 and they were able to accommodate us (with a few months notice). Our children even thought this was the best meal in Venice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmalyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatNC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had heard that it was difficult to get a good meal in Venice, but Alle Testiere was proof that this is not so. The restaurant is small and it filled up soon after it opened, and my husband and I quickly found out why. The menu had a number of seafood options, and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was also exceptional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gracious Hosts, Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Whoever says the food in Venice doesn't hold up to that of other regions in Italy has never been to Alle Testiere. In fact, of all the cities we visited this trip - Venice, Bologna, Florence, Vernazza and Milan- I dare say we had our best meals in Venice, and Alle Testiere was the star. Yes, the reservation system may have its glitches (I stopped by the day before to confirm and they couldnt find it, but provided me with a table nonetheless). Living in NYC, I've had the chance to dine at some exceptional restaurants and restaurants started by alum of places like Daniel, Babbo, and Le Cirque. Alle Testiere's preparation of seafood is of the highest standards. The menu changes depending on what is fresh and available. We shared a squid appetizer which was grilled to perfection - its a very hot dish in NYC now and yet nothing I've had here compares. I had a ravioli dish with shrimp which likewise was excellent- sweet tender yet not underdone shrimp (very hard to achieve) and mouthwatering sauce. The wine list is also very good with a nice range of prices. The dining room is small and intimate and decorated in a simple, classy manner. An outpost of a popular Roman restaurant just opened in my NYC neighborhood, and I so wish AT would consider doing the same! Just writing about it has me now wanting to go back, such a shame its' so far away!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggsJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria alle Testiere also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria alle Testiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing