We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria alle Testiere

Osteria alle Testiere
Calle del Mondo Novo, 5801, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
041 522 7220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Alle Testiere on a recommendation and had in our party of four a group that ahve very high standards when it comes to seafood. One member, who is a shrimp consieuer, said the shrimp was the best every! The John Dory was absolutely outstanding. Service was excellent, and it was our favorite meal in all of Italy in March of 2013.

John Rabb

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    145
    56
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First rate. Absolutely superb. Reservations justifiably required.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

‘Alla Testiere’ can handle about 22 covers at 7.00 and then again at 9.30. A good number of people were turned away while we were eating in the early slot, so we were glad we'd made reservations a week or so previously. I had noted this place from a mention by the late Michael Winner run-down of the very best of the best places in Venice several years ago. Though it's a bit pricey compared to the average, it’s certainly not at typical Michael Winner megabucks prices. And it's very definitely worth it for absolutely fantastic seafood. I had what was the freshest of fresh scampi; followed by spaghetti with clams; followed by cuttlefish ‘from the lagoon’; followed by nougatine ice cream. I hadn't meant to go so over the top. My three fellow diners were also blown away. The restaurant is certainly compact and has a plain decor which belies the whole experience which was quite exceptional..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exactly what we had been searching for in Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The freshest local fish and seafood with a changing daily menu. Razor clams grilled to perfection. Simply delicious. Fresh crab beautifully presented and packed with punchy flavor. Bursara style prawns were amazing. Turbot fillets with Sicily lemon and capers was perfect. Service was warm, friendly and attentive. Didn't make you feel like a tourist. Wide selection of local wines was nice to see. Dessert was a ricotta cake with a lemon curd on the side. Heavenly! I'd come back just to eat here. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Our favorite Venetian seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From among the scores of Venetian seafood restaurants this one stands out. A bistro atmosphere -- don't expect an excess of space. Terrific seafood overall. Loved the grilled octopus and bass.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great fish and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed my husbands birthday dinner here. The food was excellent and exciting. (The kids did find some of if a bit strange.) The service and the setting in a quiet street made our dinner special and something to remember, just what we wanted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria alle Testiere also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria alle Testiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria alle Testiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.