We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Alla Rivetta

Trattoria Alla Rivetta
Castello 4625, Ponte San Provolo, Venice, Italy (Castello)
041 528 7302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 1,131 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Lake District UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great little Italian tucked away by a canal bridge. It was closed Monday and Tuesday but we managed to book a table on the Wednesday. well worth the wait. A large queue formed out of the door just after 7pm, so book or arrive early or later . the food was simply prepared but tasty and fresh.. pasta with onion and anchovy sauce...veal liver Viennese...mussels...pasta with crab meat ....veal escalope etc.. its not a high end dinning experience, but its all served with a flourish by friendly, outgoing, slightly senior ? waiters. what a pleasant change.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    253
    90
    44
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good food and very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Both my husband and I very much enjoyed this restaurant. It is not a fancy place but rather very homey with shared tables. One of the reasons I gave this restaurant an excellent rating was it doesn't try to be something that it isn't. Our waiter was very attentive and had a sense of humor. My grilled cuttlefish was outstanding along with the sautéed spinach. My husband's spaghetti with ragu sauce was just what he wanted. We shared the panna cotta that was well done but simple.
I was kind of fun to share the table with a British couple and two ladies (sisters?) from NY. We traded stories of what we had enjoyed and not enjoyed about Venice. By the time we left, the line was well out of the small restaurant. We found the quality of the food well exceeded the cost compared to other place we ate in Italy let alone in Venice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must-visit restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Customer-oriented service. Great food and great service at a reasonable price. They understand what a customer wants and respond without delay. Looked after us and served us a glass of wine 'on-the-house' while we waited for a much-sought-after table. It's busy and worth the wait. The busiest restaurant in Saint Marco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Enjoyed the food and service here, as compared to any other place we ate in at Venice.
Highly recommend the Tiramisu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recommended by our hotel and just across the bridge so very convenient after arriving in the late evening. We could hear the kitchen staff singing from across the canal!

Great simple pasta dishes, abundant antipasti, friendly service and complimentary limoncello to end our delicious meal. Very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Alla Rivetta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Alla Rivetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Alla Rivetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.