We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria da Franz

Hostaria da Franz
Castello,3499 | (Bragora - Arsenale District), 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 041 522 0861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $66 - $106
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved our experience. It was our first night in Venice. We loved how there was no menu. It was what was caught that day and the freshest ingredients. We trusted everything that was recommended. It was beautiful, special and delicious! Best dinner in Venice! We took our two teenage children and they loved it and were very accommodating to their culinary pallette.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    51
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First and best tasting experience in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The service was five stars. No menu, just a tasting of the best quality seafood. The staff listened to our peferences but allowed us to enjoy new experiences. Atmosphere was romantic but indoors. Bill was expensive but worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Finest Venetian Seafood at Da Franz!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I were referred to this wonderful restaurant by the kind concierge, Gabriel, at the Best Western not far from here. We stumbled into this hotel, as we got lost scoping out Oliva Nera, and Gabriel gave us directions there, but he also told us about Da Franz. How grateful we were to him! This place is a real find, and while it is in a secluded ally, it's worth tracking down, not far from the Santa Maria Della Pieta Church. Maurizio is a prince of a man, and so dedicated to his beautiful, newly renovated, restaurant, and to making sure you enjoy the very best Venetian Seafood. He describes the local food he offers in detail, remembers your order without writing anything down, and the food is mostly culled from local sources, and is simply amazing! I enjoyed a local Venetian fish, that was so delicate and delicious. My husband had oysters and a sea bass, which he throughly enjoyed. The wine list was varied and we picked a lovely, local Venetian red blend. Desert was a delicious, homemade ice cream, which we also savored. True, this restaurant is NOT CHEAP, but the really good places in Venice aren't, so leave the calculator behind, and ENJOY YOUR EXPERIENCE AT DA FRANZ!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

On recommendation from hotel concierge we had dinner here last night. I don't mind paying up for a good meal, but they didn't deliver to my standards for the price I paid. I think there are much better restaurants in Venice.

If you are in Venice for a while I would say try this place for lunch. Skip dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very nice experience with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A restaurant without menus but better without as explained so well and in perfect English .
This is a gem of a place.
Go by taxi boat and they will meet you close by.
Went to Cips and Gritti but this stole the show for us

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da Franz also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Hostaria da Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria da Franz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.