We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Grand Canal

Ristorante Grand Canal
San Marco, 1325 | Calle Vallaresso, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39.0415200211
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #215 of 1,173 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $55 - $120
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: At the Grand Canal restaurant based at the Hotel Monaco in the heart of Venice, you may dine on a beautiful terrace just a few inches above the waters of the Grand Canal and feast your eyes as well as your palate. It is drenched with romance. And with breathtaking views over gondolas, the spotlit Santa Maria della Salute, and the island of San Giorgio, the Grand Canal wouldn���t have to offer exquisite d��cor, excellent service and fine food. But it does. The menu is based on the daily-changing fresh fish and vegetables that Venetian cuisine dotes on, as well as a menu of meat and pasta dishes that change seasonally, like salmon and swordfish tartare with lemon and basil or terrine of foie gras with pumpkin puree. If your plans include private entertaining, the Grand Canal restaurant is set in the Hotel Monaco which houses the amazing, historic, perfectly Venetian Sala del Ridotto, the heart of 18th century Venice, where the world���s first Casino was born. Host your wedding, banquet, launch or meeting here, of take advantage of the eight adjacent meeting rooms for smaller groups. The Grand Canal restaurant is a Venetian favourite.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Xmas Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the Xmas lunch because so few restaurants open on the 25th, and it worked out really well.
We went for the 85€ Christmas day lunch, which comprised of 5 quite substantial courses and coffee to finish. Pretty good value especially as the few places that open use it as an excuse to charge 2 or 3 times the going rate.
The service was first class, attentive but not pushy, with non of the falseness that some places direct at non Italians.
My only complaint is the markup they charge on the wine, not so much on a glass which is around 9€, but we had the Livio Felluga Terra Alto which is about 45€ retail and they charge 120€, nearly three times retail!
Still, it didn't spoil the overall meal, and would definitely come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    45
    35
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“restaurant hotel Monaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to this restaurant on the evening of 25th dec.We were given a table by the window in the second room of the restaurant whose decoration is not very nice. We dress up as it was xmas, but they accept people dressed casual, an american lady was wearing a xmas bonnet another one had a her pyjamas. I found this somehow shocking. Food and service are very good, we had a 3 course meal (starter+ main course +desert) plus wine and mineral water for 220€ for 2 which is not so expensive for a city like Venice. After dinner we went on the terrace overlooking the grand canal facing the Salute church. I would recommand this restaurant for lunch if you want to enjoy the nice view because at night we cannot see much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to this restaurant for Christmas Eve dinner, in a party of 6.
Despite asking for a window table, many months ago, these were all "booked", so we sat at a table a little back from the window which reduced the view but the atmosphere was generally good, albeit a little formal. The welcome was warm nevertheless and we were served a great selection of bread as we reviewed the menu which had an English translation. I ordered a nice bottle of local white wine and the starters ranged from salmon and swordfish tartare (excellent), mussel soup (good), 2 people had Foie Gras (excellent), and one had scallops (ok). For main course we ordered one tenderloin beef which was accompanied by a good sauce but was barely warm in temperature and somewhat undercooked in the middle for an order that was otherwise supposed to be 'medium'. One of our party had duck which she described as "fantastic", 2 people had Monkfish which they said was good but rather a large serving, while one had another fish dish which they thought was only "ok" and again the tepid temperature was mentioned. We decided to not have any deserts as we were all full by then.
Whilst the food was generally well-received it was disappointing that 2 of the main courses were barely warm in temperature and the price was ridiculous for what it was, hence the 3 star rating. We would not return for such an occasion, maybe lunchtime is more financially palatable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Memories are made of this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made a lunch booking as we were celebrating a significant birthday but it was gratifying that they were clearly expecting us and showed us to a prime waterfront seat. Coperto was 6.50 euros but the basket of bread was delicious. Soup only so-so. Very tasty and enriching but not convinced it deserved an 18 Euro price tag. By contrast the ravioli was almost sublime, just a little too salty to achieve perfection. A main course of potato, tagliatelle and sliced beef was beautifully presented but possiblty too much beef in relation to the carbohydrate. The salmon main course was nothing but perfect. The sweet was a delightful strawberry and cream confection. Could scarcely eat another thing when, with great ceremony, they brought out two complimentary slices of tiramisu complete with two candles and 'happy birthday' piped in chocolate on to the plate. What a joy. Overall the bill for two starters, two main courses, two puddings, half a bottle of wine, aperitifs and coffee was well over 200 euros. Who cares? A good chunk of that money was paying for the the ambience, the views of Salute and the memories.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wondeful food....and view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were staying next door at the Luna Hotel Baglioni.....didn't feel like going far our last night...stumbled into this wonderful Hotel and restaurant.

Great dishes, great presentation, great service.

We are sorry that we ate at our Luna Baglioni restaurant and did not find this place sooner.
A little pricey (less than Baglioni) but worth it compared to the other "off the street" restaurants of Venice. A wonderful surprise and great meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Grand Canal also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Grand Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.