We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A part of your Venetian experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gam Gam Kosher Restaurant

Gam Gam Kosher Restaurant
1122 Ghetto Vecchio | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
366 250 4505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 1,192 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Kosher, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Description: Great Food. Great Prices. Great Time. Redining kosher cuisine through presentation and taste with the finest ingredients. Located at the main entrance of the Jewish Ghetto by the Guglie Bridge, GAM GAM is a five minute walk from the train station, or take vaporetto number 42 or 52. Hotel delivery and delivery to any destination in Italy, double-wrapped to be heated in any oven.
Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A part of your Venetian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Jewish Ghetto in Venice is, definitely, a must-see part of the city, a bit off the beaten path, and away from the schlock shopsof Rialto, San Marco etc.
The Gam-Gam is "the" restaurant of the Ghetto, a nice, funny, cozy and very busy place, where you can have good Middle-Eastern kosher food, at a reasonable price. I liked very much the vegetarian appetizers, as well as the humus with meat, whilst the moussaka was a bit too oily. Make sure you make a reservation if you don't want to wait, otherwise they take your reservation there and you get back later; in half hour normally you can have your table.
Would recommend it to anybody wanting to try something different in Venice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    330
    78
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Gam-Gam is wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were walking around the Jewish quarter and came across Gam-Gam by chance. It was a sunny day and we sat outside next to the canal. A beautiful setting, and fantastic food. The speciality of the house was the appetiser - lots of little dishes - humous, smoked aubergine puree, baby tomatoes, tiny sweet carrots, and falafel. It was all just so good. Served with bread. Easily enough for two people. We'd already ordered couscous, otherwise this would have been enough for the two of us for lunch. The couscous with meat was also delicious. The service was friendly and quite fast - even though it was packed out inside; people were waiting for tables. Reasonable price - the appetiser dish was around Euro 10. They do serve Italian dishes, but it was nice to find something a little different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Finally!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Four days in Venice and we were on the hunt for a decent meal. Finally, Gam Gam is a place that redeems Venice cuisine. Dont waste your time trying to find the "perfect Itallian restaurant" in Venice (there isn't one). Go Kosher and eat at Gam Gam.
We were treated like welcomed guests ( a rarity in Venice) and the food was wonderful. Make a reservation - you may not get in without one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Homesick for Brooklyn?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place was hopping and charming. It's not a luxurious experience by any means--simple tables, simple space--but I was homesick for New York and this hit the spot. The food is actually quite terrific! It definitely holds up to anyone from Brooklyn who loves latkes and matzoh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There was one restaurant in Venice which we would recommend to any friend going there; which unfortunately we only discovered on our last night.
Found at the atmospheric entrance to the Jewish Quarter with outdoor tables overlooking the canal is the Gam-Gam Restaurant which offers the taste of genuine Jewish home cooking. We were immediately won over by their appetizers of Israeli anti-pasta with falafel; the vegetarian lasagna was the best we ever had and the potato latkhas brought back wonderfully delicious childhood memories - all very reasonably priced and prepared with love. When the waiter asked if it was all okay I told him bluntly there was a problem: “For the life of me I can’t understand why your restaurant isn’t mentioned in ‘Lonely Planet’.”
Gam-Gam Kosher Bar and Restaurant, Old Jewish Ghetto of Venice, Cannaregio 1122 - Venezia30121, tel.041.5231495

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gam Gam Kosher Restaurant also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gam Gam Kosher Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gam Gam Kosher Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.