We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great priced quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Sandro

Da Sandro
S. Polo, Campiello dei Meloni, 1473, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 0415234894
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Open from 11am till 11pmFriday closeFree Wi-Fi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great priced quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Unremarkable typical tourist place but mainly they do a great fillet steak, really great pizza, (ask for foccacia bread instead of bread rolls) and above all else its all done at a great price

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Da Sandro, Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Da Sandro restaurant in Venice is generally packed. The food is simple and I like the pizzas - rare for me. It is cramped, lacks polish but it has great charisma, fast service and great food. It's also great value. I love it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent (real) Italian food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited da Sandro in April 2011 with a family of 6 (children aged 14,12,8,6). The restaurant has inside and outside seating (we chose outside on some rustic benches). We ordered lasagna and pizza and wine - all of which was Fantastic. My wife's family is Italian, and up to this point, I had never heard my wife or my kids ever compare any lasagna favorably to "Nannys". In this case - my youngest son actually declared it to be better (on video no less for blackmail purposes). We loved this place and will be making a special pilgrimage to it again in 2012 - even though we are not staying anywhere near it at all this trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Recommended at hotel, but nothing special really. Nice 'local' experience though. Food ok. Make sure the staff clearly understand your order as our pizza arrived with no cheese. Best thing was the draught red beer, I can still taste it, looked for it in every other place I went, in Venice and in Milan, without success.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stopped by on our first night in Venice. We ordered insalata mista and pizza all around with pasta and butter for our son. The salads were very good and the pizza was great. The service was paced nicely too. We enjoyed the simple meal and the value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Sandro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Sandro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.