We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge

Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge
Sestiere San Marco 5094/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 041 098 8030
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #307 of 1,207 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $75
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: San Marco
1 review
“Brilliant Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had not visited Venice before and therefore booked the restaurant in advance. It is near the Rialto an area that is very busy and as the restuarant is off the main streets and canals it was nice and quiet!

The service was excellent, and they have a vegetarian menu, although you will have to ask for it. The meal was brilliant - a sardine antipasto, followed by pasta with scallops, then a beef dish in a special Venice sauce.

It's not cheap at 60 euros /person, but I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice meal in a quiet location, just off the main tourist areas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    148
    39
    38
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice and cozy restaurant in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A nice and cozy restaurant in perfect location near Realto bridge in one of Venice romantic spots.
The food was tasty, and the service very kind, thanks to Nino.
We ordered two kinds if fish, which were very good, the starters and the desert were tasty as well.
Try it, and you won't regret.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a great find. It's that little Italian restaurant that's tucked away, and for good reason. There was hardly anybody there. You can tell it was family run by the photos on the wall, and the attention they give their guests. They had quite a few menu items that were traditional Venetian. We both ordered the risotto in squid ink. I can honestly say that was absolutely the best risotto we 'd ever had. It was beautifully presented, and had a wonderful unique flavor. Any time I visit a restaurant, and order a rice dish like paella or risotto; I always ask how long it will take to make. If they say anything under twenty minutes; I don't order it. It will take a few minutes to make, but that's how you know it hasn't been sitting under a heat lamp.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent, Elegant, Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We found this restaurant by accident when searching for a place for a light late lunch.(It's actually just a few steps from the Rialto vaporetto stops.)

Since we were the only customers at that hour, we had the place to ourselves. I'd describe it as a high-end sports bar. Lots of chrome. Lots of photos of soccer and other sports celebs with the owner, Even one of Ronald Reagan back in the day. And a large Pinocchio figure.

The breads were freshly baked and obviously home-made...piping hot. My "almost cooked" tuna was elegantly presented, and my sweetie's pasta with seafood was of generous proportions. Both were wonderful and fresh. Desert and coffee topped off our meal.

I felt the prices were a bit higher than most places we'd eaten in Venice, but the elegance of presentation and service made up for it. This would be a great special occasion venue. See photos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went here because of the good Trip Advisor reviews. What we got was a deserted restaurant with indifferent food, hideous lighting, and a complete atmosphere bypass. Not recommended at any price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro M, Proprietario at Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear MisterCre,
your review leaves us perplexed.
As our custom, the criticisms are always very important if they are constructive because they help us to refine the passion for our work and grow professionally.
When the criticism is unproductive and few personal, it is impossible to understand what were the real expectations of the customer.

Alessandro Mazzetto
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Graspo de Ua Restaurant Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.