We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acquapazza

Acquapazza
Campo Sant'Angelo 3808, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
041-277-0688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Marco
derby
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely restaurant where you can sit outside and have some fabulous food. Good value for money. The tables are fairly close together but the restaurant was mainly patronised by locals when we were there so not a lot of eavesdropping going on! All of the menu is in Italian so I had to ask for lots of translation when ordering which I think bored my waiter. That was the only negative. If you decide to go, best advice would be to book a table as it was totally full when we went.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    119
    41
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Serious seafood served here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in Venice for la regatta Vogalonga and after the event was over, some team members have a tradition to meet there for food, friendship and celebration of one of the grand Venetian traditions… The restaurant caters for both the tourist and locals, tourists sit on the scenic outside Campo San Angelo while locals sit on the inside. Unfortunately, the menu is a bit more pricey on the inside, but service is excellent and so is the food. When I asked the waiter what he'd recommend, the place owner happened to be closed by and he asked me what was that I liked? to what I said" just fresh sea food! …after getting our order, the guy disappeared and in few minutes brought an amazing assortment of incredible Amalfi coast dishes. We got a mezzaluna stuffed pasta with ricotta and pecorino cheese that was to die for! The three plates of frutti di mare, fried fish and shells in a wonderful saute sauce were out of this world! To my delight, the evening went smooth with no rush, happily celebrating a great day, a nice ambiance and a great city….and for that, we ordered a local Amarone. We were truly happy with Acquapazza. Definitely, we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Quality cooking,contemporary decor and well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is rather difficult to characterise Acqua Pazza. It is neither a tourist trap nor a local charmer, since it is more refined. Apparently family run, the staff at first appears to be a bit gruff, but in fact they are friendly, professional and not obtrusive. Interesting contemporary decor and the clientele is a mixture of locals and the usual tourists. A good sign was the fact that on the evening that we were there several different groups of locals were enjoying a celebratory dinner or extended family evening together.The expansive menu offers a large variety of fish dishes and pastas and our starers of various tartars and carparcios of raw fish were both excellent and (for us at least) huge in proportion. Having had our surfeit of fish and pasta at previous meals, we both opted for one of the limited carne selections-sliced beef with rosemary and olive oil and rocket salad, and a grilled filet. Both were tasty, and in the case of the (properly cooked) grilled steak, huge and well beyond the scope of our stomachs. There is a good wine list focusing on the regional varieties and we had a very good Agianilico. Aqua Pazza is neither inexpensive nor extravagantly expensive by Venetian standards and is a good choice for a very good meal in pleasant surroundings without the feeling that you are surrounded by the tourist hoards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining in a Piazza in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to eat at Acquapazza and we're so impressed with the service, the quality of the food, the price and the atmosphere that we came back for dinner and were not one bit disappointed. Although the waiters seemed initially cool, as the meal progressed they became warmer and more attentive. At the start we were given a complimentary plate of antipasti which was excellent. At the end of the meal were offered a complimentary limencello by way of a chilled bottle and glasses.
The lobster seafood paster and lemon rissoto were excellent. For anyone wanting a perfect lunch or dinner in a great location in Venice it would be hard to beat Aquapazza

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unlike most restaurants in Venice this place has roman like service were you feel like the waiter is against you, the food is good and the pasta is great but if they could get better waiters than this could actually be a great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquapazza also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Acquapazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acquapazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.